Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 2, 2012 | 5:08 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 4, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

//EDIT: 5th March 2012
A massive thank you to everyone for getting us on to the front page! Its so awesome to see so many people playing the game and enjoying it. To those of you with suggestions, we are keeping them all in mind for a potential sequal. Thanks again - Jay + Tom xx
/////

The land of Davana is sinking and the king is dead. You are his heir and it falls to you to lead your people to higher ground. But beware - power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely! Will you be able to resist the temptations of tyranny as you lead your army across besieged lands and your lust for power continues to grow? Follow the engaging story as you slowly realise that you may not have been fighting on the side of good after all...

Castle Conqueror is an epic-battle real-time-strategy in which the aim is to conquer all the castles on the map. Much like Dawn of War, the emphasis here is on fighting and capturing specific control points - in this case a variety of castles - in order to control the whole map.

- Choose from 4 kingdoms and command huge armies in epic 4 way battles
- Battle through 15 levels across 3 unique themes
- Unlock and upgrade 6 unique spells (including stealing enemy units, fireballs, blood lust, freeze and more)
- Compete for a 3 star rating and save your best times
- Unlock trophies

Controls
Tutorial in game.
Click and drag to create a selection box around the desired units. Click again to issue orders to your units.
Capture castles by positioning units nearby to them.
'Space' to deselect units or spells.
Click on a spell to activate it, click again to cast it. Alternatively use the number hot-keys.
'Escape' or 'P' to pause

Reviews


ZalterZalter

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 5, 2012

I find the text scrolling/skip sounds to be very harsh and annoying, like an excerpt from an alarm clock. Other than that I essentially agree with DaciousMusic.



TaliperTaliper

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 5, 2012

What About Decisions To Change The Ending? Maybe I Dont Want To Be The "MEGAMASSMURDERDARKLORD"



DaciousMusicDaciousMusic

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 5, 2012

Well put together, but lacking in substance.

I like the style of this game; all the characters and menu items slide around in an aesthetically pleasing manner, but the overall gameplay aspect is severely underwhelming. There's very little strategy to be had in 'gathering all your clonelike dudes and clicking on their tower'. Stars aren't awarded for any real skill, but instead they're given as a reward for your ability to gather all your clonelike dudes and click on their tower, but quickly.

The fact that you must speed through the game in order to get the best stuff strikes me as a little bit odd. It seems like that kind of gameplay mechanic would be better suited to a smartphone game, something that's meant to be played for a brief five minutes while waiting for a doctor or something. (Apologies to anybody living in a country with poor health care. I'm looking at you, Americans.)

Making your way through the levels as quickly as possible isn't as easy as it sounds, considering you aren't ever given the ability to upgrade your soldiers in any way. This means you don't feel any real connection to your army, there's no real sense of visible progress, and none of that "YEAH! TAKE THAT, GAME!" feeling of gratification when you come back to a starting level with an army full of lvl. 50 Barbarian Warlocks wielding lightsabers.

Instead of different types of soldiers to unlock (a less unique, but far more substantial mechanic) you're given up to six magic abilities that can be freely cast into the frey. While this would certainly add to a game with an already interesting combat mechanic, the banality of ordering simple-minded troops around and the tedium of dealing with six individual cooldowns turns the game into whack-a-mole with medieval weaponry.

The first choice you're given (thankfully not inputting your name, because that never really makes me feel a personal connection to whichever unfortunate protagonist I've given the moniker "Cuntrag") is a selection of unit types. You're presented with your choice of four distinct armies with four distinct motivations wearing four distinct colours and wielding four distinct types of weaponry but it unfortunately leads to four utterly indistinguishable styles of gameplay.

Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad game. The aesthetics are all very nice, cartoony and fun while still managing to convey the brutality of medieval warfare in a way that makes parents think "This could never be harmless." I didn't listen to the music, but by now I've learned to play games with my Chrome sound set to 'mute', but I'm sure it's all very fitting.

The game as a whole is a very well put together piece of work. It's just a lot shallower than I imagined. It feels as though it could've done with a fair bit more playtesting. Not just to see if everything worked properly, but to see it as an entirely new game. If you went into this game, what would you expect to see from the end result?

Hope this helps your progression in game creation in the future. If not, I hope it fuels that ever-budding fire that tells you to throw a brick through your negative critics' windows.


People find this review helpful!

Zander253Zander253

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2012

easy yo play but could use a sequel and some medals



FerchezeFercheze

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 4, 2012

Simple to use and play. Nothing to interesting that made it unique in any way. Overall it's good. To me at least. There is room for improvement. I look forward to maybe a sequel that has somethings added to it.


People find this review helpful!