Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2012 | 6:10 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place February 22, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

About a year ago a friend and I began to work on the pilot episode of a series about a fox and a barn owl, fighting for balance in a world where humans are long gone. Inexperienced as we were, we went for a project in which I would do art, frame by frame animations, script and storyboard, and where she would work on sound effects and soundtrack. Time ended up being against us with school and all, and I ended up having to compromise with the soundtracks and finding sound effects myself. I am however grateful for not having to carry this project all the way alone, because without the motivation from the people around me, I, a 15 (now 16) year old girl, would never have been able to work for a whole year on the same project.
A great thanks goes out to the talented voice actors who assisted me with this project, as well as the 48 people who auditioned. I am sorry to have made everyone wait for so long.

Anyways, I hope you'll be able to enjoy these 6 minutes of pilot, even with all the faults it may have. It may not seem like much to the trained eye, but I broke down a lot of barriers working on this.

Sorry for the large filesize. You can also watch the flash here:

http://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=M-vKDBXRDBU (without spacing)

Reviews


KriphesKriphes

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 22, 2012

I really enjoyed the flash, but I think it would be better if the animals didn't talk. Teh voice worked really well with the narration in the opening, but it felt a little out of place when the animals started to speak. Just my opinion, great job.



RadCarrotRadCarrot

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 24, 2012

Very good for a start. I like your storytelling abilities and it's got a lot of promise. The art is interesting, while it could do with a little work, I do find it quite charming and unusual. The animals in a apocalyptic world is an interesting concept; it's not been done that many times before, and it's interesting to see what is going to happen.

Perhaps work on the animation of the animals a little more; it's the little movements that make them believable as characters. For instance, when Zale ran past Elva, wouldn't Elva simply turn her head around, being an owl, rather than turn full circle? You can actually find a lot of help online these days; animated gifs work well for you to work off so you can see how a fox runs or an owl moves in certain situations. If you manage to get this down, your characters will have a lot more believability.

Good job though, and for all your time constraints and other factors, you've done well here. Looking forward to seeing more from you.



ixidor92ixidor92

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 24, 2012

Definitely has room for improvement, but a very solid beginning.



windowlicker666windowlicker666

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 20, 2012

it's great for whtat it is, and since it's the pilot I can't complain too much. would just try and make it a little bit longer so that you can shove some more story-line into each episode



Charliesan763Charliesan763

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 4, 2012

Nice tale, reminds me the old school anime style, now I wanna know how this continues:)