Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 17, 2012 | 10:22 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice February 22, 2012
  • Daily Feature February 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Provide better sound quality in your recordings by treating your space with common household items, and stop sounding shitty :)

Reviews


JazzaJazza

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

I can't express how much i love this, not only do you address an issue many novice artists don't understand or even know about, but you do it simply, beautifully, and entertainingly. Youre a great teacher weather it be showing how to establish sound quality in a recording, or speaka-da-chinee. Love ya!


People find this review helpful!
RicePirate responds:

Thanks, man. Can't wait for you to teach me about barbaquing shrimp at Pico day. That and how to have cute lil dimples ... instead of fat rolling buddha cheeks.


TheMAMTheMAM

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

Oh my God. You are a freaking genius. :O
Thanks, man! Now I can voice act on my own. :)


RicePirate responds:

DO IT!!


BSTHEDOGBSTHEDOG

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

It was a great help for people like me who pretty much want to make a nice hobby out of animation and also for those who are looking to do it for a living. Overall, nice job.


People find this review helpful!

RuckloRucklo

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 17, 2012

There are so many people who don't understand what's going on when they get a shitty sound. Fact is that there are numerous things that can be the weak link when recording, but the room itself indeed many times is an overlooked issue. And it IS pretty easy to make it sound less shitty. The next step from "less shitty" to "good" will cost a whole lot, but "less shitty" will take you a very long way. If it sounds good, it is good, like a really good sound designer once told me.

A good idea however is that if you can record stuff in the environment that the voice should be played back in, do it ("on location" so to speak...)! That'll give the best end-result. Or if you have time but not the possibility to do this, worldize the sound (using a good flat speaker... Genelec speakers will probably do a good job). And/or use convolution reverb if you want a little more flexibility.

Thumbs up for this animation, it's going in the audio-wiki! ^_^


People find this review helpful!
RicePirate responds:

Absolutely ... however, if you go with location, you better hope that you have access to that location, if (god forbid) you're asked to tweak a line :P

I'm currently making the upgrade from "less shitty" to "good" ... been a much more in-depth journey than I anticipated.


IzunaXIzunaX

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 17, 2012

Quite good, but the jokes done during the sound comparison were hardly funny, being honest. Even if it's obvious it was done in a not so serious way, I think it could have helped that it said equal lines at some point in the comparison, not that it was needed anyway.