Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 17, 2012 | 10:22 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice February 22, 2012
  • Daily Feature February 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Provide better sound quality in your recordings by treating your space with common household items, and stop sounding shitty :)

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

This was very nice of you to do! It particularly annoyed me with how I submitted a voice demo, but it got rated down so low. I mean, people who had heard it presented with video didn't seem to care. It took me awhile to really figure out the difference between the two sounds. I hope to learn from you and create higher quality voicework. I have tried to get some work as a voice actor, but nothing seems to work.

I'm thinking I might also be leaning into the microphone too much. Either way, you are doing us a great service with this submission. I like how the background is checkered paper giving off the impression that you're doing this in an old manner. You may have went back and forth with the sound comparisons a bit too much, though. I still recommend this to anyone having trouble with microphones.



GurzociurloGurzociurlo

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

That was very useful, even if treating walls can be hard some times... But I'll try isolating my room the best I can... You seem to have experience in this field, would you recommend to edit the sound for example adding effects such as reverberation or chorus? Because it doesn't sound that well in mono, you could eventually make another video explaining that, but hey I'm not here to tell you what to do haha. The video itself was entertaining aswell, that was good, you made a great job overall.


RicePirate responds:

Providing a clean sound allows the editor to ADD reverb later if they wish. If your original file has it ... it's very difficult to edit out.


cahocachicahocachi

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

Oh god, I owe you SO much! I've always wanted to get into VA, but I can't afford a good microphone right now. I'm gonna try this and make a sample VA file comparing bare walls and treated space and, if you don't mind, could check it out when it's finished.
Now, if you actually responded this would make my f**king day.


RicePirate responds:

Reply to your F**king DAY!!!! WOOT!


TomaMotoTomaMoto

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

Hey Dude,

Could you come to California and treat my walls... if ya know what I mean?

Love,

Tomar


People find this review helpful!
RicePirate responds:

Oh, I know how to treat your walls... those dirty, dirty ... naughty walls. I know just how they like to be treated, alright.


RedHarvestRedHarvest

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2012

GOD DAMN...i wish our game was further along because you are my hero - - keep it up homie - - ps - lets rage tomorrow in MN!


RicePirate responds:

on skype bitch