Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2012 | 6:06 PM EST
  • Daily 5th Place January 31, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

All Access 5 Points Open the Options->Accessibility menu
Choices, Choices 5 Points Open the options menu
Feelin' Blue 5 Points Earn 5 blue stars
Hit the Books 5 Points Open the tips menu
Monkey Wrench 5 Points Open the Options->Miscellaneous menu
You can't control me! 5 Points Open the Options->Controls menu
Battered and Blue 10 Points Earn 10 blue stars
Feelin' Perfect 10 Points Earn 5 gold stars
Go for the Gold 25 Points Earn 10 gold stars
True Blue 25 Points Earn 15 blue stars
Paint yourself Blue 50 Points Earn 21 blue stars
Perfectionist 50 Points Earn 15 gold stars
Completionist 100 Points Earn 21 gold stars
Slakker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Snark the Shark Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Tell em', Moses! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Brothers Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Fathers Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sisters Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sweet Threads Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

(Demo version) Tactical depth, engaging story, colorful characters, and lots of customization!

Each character levels up individually and learn skills over time, and you can "boost" them in battle to access their high-level skills. Additionally, you can buy equipment to outfit your party.
Follow Azra and her motley crew of plague survivors as they fight their way out of the "The Pit!"

Check out the OPTIONS menu, especially if you hate reading. OPTIONS->MISC->turn tuts/dialog OFF.
Controls are 100% customizable, you can play the whole game from the keyboard if you want.

We want to be completely up-front with you that this is a DEMO. It's pretty long as far as demos go - there's no timer, you've got about 1-4 hours of gameplay here, and you can play each of the battles on advanced and extreme difficulties for even more content.

This version of the game contains the first two of seven acts. The FULL game has 6 character classes, 7 acts, 34 maps, tons of great music, lots of new items, uncompressed graphics, ~100 challenges, an endless mode, and lots of other goodness. The coupon code "NGROUND" is good for $2 off, making the game just $5 until February 14th.

Full version playtime varies depending on your hard-coreness. So far I've seen people breeze through casual in 5 hours, but completionists who go after every advanced/extreme mission are clocking in around 20-30 hours.

You can export your save file from the demo and import into the full version so you don't lose any progress.

Here's some reviews of the full version to help you decide:

Destructoid (8.5/10):
http://www.destructoid.com/review-defender-s-quest-valley-of-the-forgotten-220503.phtml

Rock, Paper, Shotgun:
http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2012/01/24/hours-of-towers-defenders-quest/

The full version runs on Mac/Windows/Linux, and comes with NO DRM, because DRM is for tools! You will get FREE updates to future versions of the game and believe me, we have even more cool features planned than what's already in the full version :) We also pride ourselves on good customer support so please visit:

http://www.defendersquest.com/support.html

if you have ANY trouble and we will make it right!

We hope you like this demo, and hope we've given you everything you need to decide whether the full version is worth your time.

More info:
http://www.defendersquest.com

Questions:
http://www.defendersquest.com/faq.html

Problems:
http://www.defendersquest.com/support.html

Reviews


CalifornicationCalifornication

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Main character can't learn spells?

It's a great game, but when I tried to upgrade the woman's spells, there's not even a button to let me upgrade her skills, no matter where I look :s



theifofdreamstheifofdreams

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Amazing

Simply amazing. I.. might just buy the full version. Usually I refuse the idea of buying a flash game, but this one is good enough to earn it.
My biggest complaint was the paper-cutout style art. The lack of fluid expressions really cut back on the experience in the cut-scenes.
Everything else is great: Good plot, interesting characters, non-intrusive yet good background music, fairly smooth combat, simple leveling, and cool basic gear.



The-G-man7The-G-man7

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2012

DEMO version.

The game is actually a 10, as others have said, buy it. You won't be dissapointed. The DEMO, however, only gets a 9 because I'm fairly sure it's impossible to get the medal for killing perfect Ozimal, (As well as all blue and all gold star medals).

As I said, I bought the game, and I'm rollin' a lvl 13 hero, lvl 14 berserkers with +24 swords, a Knight, blah blah, and I can down the armored skels + slugs, but Closest I got to offing perfect Ozimal was 100k hp... (Dark yellow) and that's after using about a hundred max lightning bolts... No idea how you're supposed to accomplish downing him at full on the demo...



GarethBeaumainsGarethBeaumains

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Awesome job!

I love the combination of RPG with defense game. I found myself sucked into the story, and wanting to know how it's going to end. The different level of challenges with the same map was a good way to learn and level. The skill trees and personalization of recruited followers was a good touch. The equipment was a bit dull, however. I wish there was some more 'loot' you could find. Even so, a great job. I look forward to playing the full version.


People find this review helpful!
LarsiusPrime responds:

Super thanks! We hope you like it :)


jason20gayjason20gay

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

Love the game! There is only one thing I would change... for those of us that use headphones: the sound effect for Ether is VERY obnoxious, especially hearing it when the game is on 4x speed, change is to something realistic? Thanks very much!