Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2012 | 6:06 PM EST
  • Daily 5th Place January 31, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

All Access 5 Points Open the Options->Accessibility menu
Choices, Choices 5 Points Open the options menu
Feelin' Blue 5 Points Earn 5 blue stars
Hit the Books 5 Points Open the tips menu
Monkey Wrench 5 Points Open the Options->Miscellaneous menu
You can't control me! 5 Points Open the Options->Controls menu
Battered and Blue 10 Points Earn 10 blue stars
Feelin' Perfect 10 Points Earn 5 gold stars
Go for the Gold 25 Points Earn 10 gold stars
True Blue 25 Points Earn 15 blue stars
Paint yourself Blue 50 Points Earn 21 blue stars
Perfectionist 50 Points Earn 15 gold stars
Completionist 100 Points Earn 21 gold stars
Slakker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Snark the Shark Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Tell em', Moses! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Brothers Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Fathers Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sisters Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sweet Threads Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

(Demo version) Tactical depth, engaging story, colorful characters, and lots of customization!

Each character levels up individually and learn skills over time, and you can "boost" them in battle to access their high-level skills. Additionally, you can buy equipment to outfit your party.
Follow Azra and her motley crew of plague survivors as they fight their way out of the "The Pit!"

Check out the OPTIONS menu, especially if you hate reading. OPTIONS->MISC->turn tuts/dialog OFF.
Controls are 100% customizable, you can play the whole game from the keyboard if you want.

We want to be completely up-front with you that this is a DEMO. It's pretty long as far as demos go - there's no timer, you've got about 1-4 hours of gameplay here, and you can play each of the battles on advanced and extreme difficulties for even more content.

This version of the game contains the first two of seven acts. The FULL game has 6 character classes, 7 acts, 34 maps, tons of great music, lots of new items, uncompressed graphics, ~100 challenges, an endless mode, and lots of other goodness. The coupon code "NGROUND" is good for $2 off, making the game just $5 until February 14th.

Full version playtime varies depending on your hard-coreness. So far I've seen people breeze through casual in 5 hours, but completionists who go after every advanced/extreme mission are clocking in around 20-30 hours.

You can export your save file from the demo and import into the full version so you don't lose any progress.

Here's some reviews of the full version to help you decide:

Destructoid (8.5/10):
http://www.destructoid.co m/review-defender-s-quest -valley-of-the-forgotten-
220503.phtml

Rock, Paper, Shotgun:
http://www.rockpapershotg un.com/2012/01/24/hours-o f-towers-defenders-quest/

The full version runs on Mac/Windows/Linux, and comes with NO DRM, because DRM is for tools! You will get FREE updates to future versions of the game and believe me, we have even more cool features planned than what's already in the full version :) We also pride ourselves on good customer support so please visit:

http://www.defendersquest .com/support.html

if you have ANY trouble and we will make it right!

We hope you like this demo, and hope we've given you everything you need to decide whether the full version is worth your time.

More info:
http://www.defendersquest .com

Questions:
http://www.defendersquest .com/faq.html

Problems:
http://www.defendersquest .com/support.html

Reviews


FishScratchFeverFishScratchFever

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Definitely a fun time!

It's quite a solid tower defense, mechanically. And I'm 100% in favor of supporting indie game developers. I bought it, the play was good enough and judging by the size of the map I'll easily get my time's worth.

That said, I have to wonder if all aspects of the game are up to the challenge of attracting buyers. AT $5 with the Newgrounds coupon, I had no problem steping up. When the price goes up to $10 later, I'm not sure I'd feel the same. The art in the full version is crisper than in the demo to be sure, but I've played a good number of free games that brought better to the table, many of which on this very site. There is also a huge selection of similarly priced games that far outshine this one in appearance as well. The same applies to the lack of voice acting.
Speaking of voice and audio, I do enjoy all the music I've heard so far, you made some good selections. However there are a few sound effects (From the healers, notably) that are rather hard on the ears, in my opinion. I know there's an option to soften/mute sound effects, but I do enjoy having the other sounds.
I can't say I know how much time, money, and effort would be required to improve these aspects, as I've never developed a game myself. But on the player's end I know there are many products which do deliver it.

Don't take this to mean it's not worth buying, though! Play the demo! If you enjoy it, I encourage you to support the developers and drop a couple bucks on the full version. There's quite a lot more here to enjoy if you got a taste for it from the demo.


People find this review helpful!
LarsiusPrime responds:

We've been absolutely floored by the sales, so we will definitely be looking to polish up some audio/visuals on the next version. It'll be a little while before the "gold" version goes up - we're not the fastest programmers :P

We will absolutely take all this great feedback into account, we want to make the bonus version (which all purchasers get a free upgrade too) as awesome as possible.


mattsomattso

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

A gem waiting to be discovered.

I have to admit. I blew three hours on the trial version. And guess what? I'll be buying the full version too, if it means helping the author creating another high quality game like this. There are a strong handful of generic, less interesting parts of the game like how items work, the repetitive sound tracks and mediocre graphics. I also didn't really enjoy how having an army of characters is often better than having a small amount of characters you tried really hard to power up just to be special. HOWEVER, The story is good, the combat is fast and fun. The multiple difficulties, by far, are what made this demo change from an okay half hour of typical tower defense into a whole hearted three hours of fun and progression. Not only that, but the flat out mechanics, map layouts, and character functions are just so interesting to tinker with and find what works best for your style of play.

I HIGHLY recommend to anyone else who plays this game to support the author and buy the full version. Its like 5 bucks with the Newgrounds coupon. Thats like buying a game on steam, but with way more content and fulfillment. Well done.


People find this review helpful!

Sev97Sev97

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 19, 2013

im into it, so great. please finish so I find what happens! please?!



nico191995nico191995

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 5, 2012

Blew me away.

This game is really good. I find it very addicting. Not only does it give a good impression, it also gives a new layout on the TD/RPG genre.

The game is pretty much well-made. I like the pixelated style of play. Vivid colors and the music are also a plus. The story is interesting, and the world map is really good. The units you get are interesting themselves, and also gives some kind of strategy on where to put for the best effective damage output. The art style used is also fantastic.

Good job on making this game, and I'll keep my save game just in case :D


People find this review helpful!

kosiar100kosiar100

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

hard

it can only be completed on casual, on normal power is properly balanced only on first levels or im just retarded