Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


boerseun777boerseun777

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2012

Awesome game Miktar! You captured the old-school platformer feel superbly. Short and sweet, which I have often felt platformers should be. I just would have liked a bit more control when on the slope jumps. Other than that, a very cool and well-rounded experience.


People find this review helpful!

Snake-16Snake-16

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Great music!

I really liked the game. Super simple, straight to the point. The music was fantastic! Probably my favorite thing about the game.


People find this review helpful!

puccaspuccas

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 7, 2013

Cute, but those little black stalkers creeped me out D:



FastJimmyFastJimmy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

WOW

Punishing difficulty sneaks up on you after the easy beginning. Didn't realize Chicken Mode couldn't be turned off once it had been activated.

This game made me late for work with its addictive "gotta get past this one spot" gameplay. Kudos!

Question: Did you use Stencylworks to make this game?


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

Yup. Like I mentioned in the Author Comments above, I used StencylWorks since this is my first game, and I'm not a programmer in any way. Most of the two weeks spent making the game, was used learning how Stencyl works.


DDK123DDK123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

I thought that this was a very fun game. Although it was a little difficult at some times, I thought it was worth it to play this game. I finished the whole game in about 10 minutes. For the ski jump thing in the wastelands, I figured this out by jumping all over the place because I was starting to get a little irritated and that is when I jumped on the slopes and was instantly lunged forward at high speeds. Also, I loved the peaceful and lovely music. Hint for the last secret medal: Deal with the difficulty.
All in all, this was a great platformer and was a fun experience.


People find this review helpful!