Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


MasterOfHyruleMasterOfHyrule

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 1, 2012

My fingers hurt... this game was challenging.. I guess I won't get a medal as I wasn't logged in when playing...



xPaleRiderxxPaleRiderx

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

This Game...

Is a great trip of nostalgia back to the Coleco Vision era where the games were simple and inspired use of imagination, great chip tunes, and keyboard smashingly difficult platforming that awards a great feeling of accomplishment when you finally conquer a ridiculous area.
I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for more of your future endeavors, keep up the great work!


People find this review helpful!

Faulker2iceFaulker2ice

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Was there some Mario inspiration here?

I got pretty far and decided to say how much I like being frustrated by you. I love the tunnels and blocks thrown in there. The hedgehogs got on my nerves though. I almost gave a lower score just because I was frustrated about forgetting to log in and having to go to the beginning. Overall I like it


People find this review helpful!

crazymeriocrazymerio

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

That was hard as fucking hell.

But I finally beat it with out using easy mode...godamn...



AvesAkiariAvesAkiari

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Difficulty

I can tell the guy below me probably grew up with third or fourth gen systems. The difficulty is part of the old platformers that I like. you cant just sit in the corner spawn killing to get all the weapons, and sit at your pc and spend hours fighting the same mob, you actualy had to have an amount of skill that came through practice.
I dont think the difficulty was unreasonable at all, given the length of the game. And I say a job well done on your first game, Miktar.