Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


wicked-childwicked-child

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

I really did like this game until it came to the point where I got stuck. The "ruins" part. I dunno, maybe it's just me, but I tried over and over to get past it and I couldn't so I gave up.


Miktar responds:

Sorry to hear. Did the Easy Mode not help at all?


Beer-DrinkerBeer-Drinker

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 29, 2012

Very fun.

I liked it. It was sweet and simple. Had a fun-feel to it. I voted you a fiver. Neat game. ^.^



Void-If-ReadVoid-If-Read

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Exceeds expectations from a first game.

First off, this was quite an entertaining game. Let's break this down:
Graphics:
Pixel graphics often work very well for platformer games, and this is no exception. However, because this is the case, there is not much else to say on this subject. One thing I have to mention is the fact that the enemies in the last stage of the game blend in too much with the background, often making it hard to estimate how big the hitbox is for touching them.
Music:
The 8-bit style really blends well together with the graphics, giving the game a nice, retro feel. It was also quite well done, props to Peter Gresser for proving once again that you can create moving music with such simplistic tones. Well done.
Mechanics:
Now then. You said in the description that you wanted this game to be slightly challenging. That was accomplished, and then some. The learning curve for the game is a bit steep. While the early levels were extremely easy, at later points I had to repeat the same cliffs over and over again, milking every single move to continue. As it was previously mentioned, when going down the slopes often times it was hard to jump off without falling to your doom. However, at the same time, I found that jumping off in the nick of time was the easiest method to move on to the next area. Of course, this meant a lot more deaths. Even so, this game did well in bringing out the part of me who loves a challenge, and for those who don't... well, press "K".
Story:
This game had such a minimalistic plot that almost became borderline confusing. Honestly, I was caught off guard at the cutscene where you find the crash site. I suppose that the story wasn't a priority, however it can't hurt.

Overall:
Graphics - 7/10
Music - 9/10
Mechanics - 7/10
Story - 4/10


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

Thanks for the detailed review! You raised a lot of good points. As for the story, I wasn't thinking beyond "Your Princess Is In Another Castle", so I'm happy with what I ended up with.


AnewusernameAnewusername

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Muu: Just Another Day

For a first game it isn't too bad. The controls are straightforward enough and feel clean, and the music and graphics are pretty nice too. The level design, however, is where the problem is. It wouldn't have been so bad if the slopes were not coated in butter, or if the little cow guy could actually hang onto the other side or something. I finally quit at the first steep ledge after about twelve deaths. Yes, I'm aware of the "chicken" mode feature, but quite frankly that's a big "fuck you" to the gamer. Those ledges seem more like luck than skill, and if I wanted to play a luck game I'd play monopoly.

All in all, some people might like this, others don't. I enjoyed the part that I did play up to that point though, and you do have talent - that shows. I'd say if you just changed the way the steep drops worked so it's not so much of an instant-death and it actually gave you a chance to stand on it, this might be quite fun. Hope you take this into consideration, and I look forward to whatever else you might produce in the future.


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

Thanks for the review!

You quit after only 12 deaths? Never go near a Mega Man game, it might kill you.


Mogget128723Mogget128723

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

I get what this was trying to do.

It was going for the precision-based platforming style of Dust Force or Super Meat Boy, but there are a number of problems. The most obvious among the is the game's touch-and-go treatment of steep slopes. The latter part of the game requires a lot of jumping from the very bottom of slopes above spikes, but when the game simply decides not to detect your jump again and again and again, it just gets irritating. In Dust Force, when you fail, it's because you screwed up: it's something you did, and you can correct it, which is why it's so good. It's hard, but you can learn to overcome that. When the difficulty is entirely based around slow horizontal movement, sticky jumping, and glitchy detection on slopes, it isn't challenging: it's just irritating.

The music and art style are spectacular: I just wish it was more focused on skill rather than luck of the draw.


Miktar responds:

Thanks for the review!

I wouldn't say I was going for Dust Force (haven't played it) or Super Meat Boy (stuck on the last level), but rather trying to channel some of the spirit of the original Super Mario Bros with the twist of the slopes.

My inexperience with Stencyl resulted in the slopes being far more testy than they should be, but I think they're still very manageable. My best so far is 8 deaths for a complete run.

For my next game though, I'll avoid slopes altogether.