Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


atrius86atrius86

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

errr

some of the damned jumps have to be timed to the last pixel on non grip slopes going either direction with a minimal jump height and one of those ultra fast character fall speeds... you sir are a masochist. good little game.



XanatrixXanatrix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Quite invigorating, if a little frustrating.

I would have to say that overall, this game is quite awesome. I liked the music, the story was portrayed well through what little cutscene you had (good job on keeping them to a minimum, by the way), and while the timing for jumps was sometimes insanely precise, it didn't make me feel like it was made artificially hard.

That being said, I ran through the game on Easy mode second, seeing where the problem areas were mitigated. The only reason this gets 9/10 is because you cannot turn off the Easy mode in game.



LokiferusLokiferus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Argh.

Dear designer... on your shoulders rests the guilt for the death of a thousend Bull- (or is it a cow?) creatures. Can you feel the wight?


Miktar responds:

Every death is precious to me.


WolfofDragonsWolfofDragons

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

hmm

Well I like the game because it reminds me of the Sega Genesis and the Nintendo. However, I also hate it because it reminds me of the friggen hard games from that era. So I give you a 8 for nostalgia and take 2 off for me not being able to time my jumps correctly lol.



NikoliachNikoliach

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Frustration!

Game was going well until after the discovery. The music after is bad IMO. Love these kinds of graphics, hate dying 40x in a row. I'd say change the music for the 2nd(?) half, and I'd consider finishing it.