Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


HolyDevil121HolyDevil121

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

not at all challenging?

this is the hardest game i have ever played in my like, and i played the original mortal kombat. I mean this as a compliment.



FlameRider365FlameRider365

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Awsom game

Also, I believe that entire part between exiting the cave and finding the crashed ship was a tribute to the original Super Mario Bros. Am I rite?



undead431undead431

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Ignore the haters

This game is fantastic! For games like this I created this account. It certainly is one of the most original flash games I've played in a while, short yet challenging (to all those "but it's so tough!" suck it up). I loved the story! A resident of a planet falls in love from first sight in an alien! It's been a while since I've seen anyone use this template, and you did it well, the lack of words made it ever so more heart-wrenching and you have proven that by using black and white the game doesn't have to be "edgy" (note that I don't mind them and certainly like some of them, but it's refreshing). The music? It was FANTASTIC! It went with the game and the scenes perfectly, I don't know why, but it felt so right to listen to this, it somehow managed to blend in to the scenario. The gameplay was tough, I have to say, but certainly enjoyable! I feel that the fact that when you died you respawned so quickly should also be mentioned, too many games try to make deaths flashy or prolong them, almost laughing at the player for their failure, sometimes it's just so frustrating that it makes me want to stop playing a game, so whenever you will be making another game, make sure to not make one of these flashy, prolonged deaths and stick to simple fade in/out like you did here!
The only complain I would have is that it's too short, but then again, most people nowadays have too short attention span for longer games, so it's really dubious. It's a fantastic game overall, kudos to you, my good sire/madam.
P.s. I loved that super mario bros. reference, it's one of the more original references I've seen, not so painfully obvious but neither too subtle.



awoken417awoken417

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

ugh

ive never seen a little thing die so much in my life



atrius86atrius86

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

errr

some of the damned jumps have to be timed to the last pixel on non grip slopes going either direction with a minimal jump height and one of those ultra fast character fall speeds... you sir are a masochist. good little game.