Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


NekradamusNekradamus

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

meh

The platforming requires too much precision, especially when the player is required to navigate/land on inclined surfaces.
Not bad. Not very good either.


People find this review helpful!

ElricMasenkoElricMasenko

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Dreams do come true...

My god, the flashbacks... Alex kidd, Wonderboy, Sonic, Super Mario, All of it, the old style platformer games. Its just everything i want. If this was purchasable, with more chapters, i would buy the crap outta this game. Its just... words cant describe how much this game has bought me back to my days as a child. You, my friend, have earnt my deepest respect and admiration! 100/10



helfennhelfenn

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

well

the game is indeed beautiful i loved the graphics and the peaceful music, i loved the world and the sky the stars how silent the creatures are, specially the little guy, like a hermit in a peacefull yet dangerous place at the same time.
the music is relaxing i love the 8 bit

the only bad thing is how sadisticly dificult this game is!!



xxnitramxxxxnitramxx

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

damn

THIS IS WAY TOO FRUSTRANT!


Miktar responds:

BETTER THAN TOO ESAY!


chibibuckychibibucky

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

this game..

was the most frustrating 16 mins of my life! its like masturbating with hands made of broken glass and chili-powder. its not the hardest game ive ever played but its close. my masochistic side demands you make more of these!!! :D

also this game is indy as all get out! crazy hard , bad graphics that feel good, weird characters that dont talk. why cant mainstream games ever feel this nice?