Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


Funkyman300001Funkyman300001

Rated 1 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Frustrating

First off if you are going to design any game what so ever there has to be fun involved. It started that way, and then for some reason you decided that it needed to stop being fun and more over that it needed to be difficult and frustrating. No where in a good game would anyone, besides a shooter, need to be so precise on their jumping that if they didn't they wold have to go back and try again and again and again. I understand that you gave us a jump that would be similar to have one leg missing, but seriously take the consideration of the gamer next time. Play your game and if you can't play it without dying 10-15 times in a spot because of trial and error bs then you need to rethink your game strategy. I could have been a dick and said simple uneducated words like: this game is dick I could shit better games than this but no I am giving you constructive feedback.


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

I've managed to finish my game with 8 deaths. On a bad day, I die about 20 times in total. While the slopes can be a little flaky, they're not so unfair that you can't master them to a satisfying degree.

I understand the "trial by fire" platformer isn't for everyone, I'm sorry you couldn't enjoy it. That's why I added an Easy Mode.


NekradamusNekradamus

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

meh

The platforming requires too much precision, especially when the player is required to navigate/land on inclined surfaces.
Not bad. Not very good either.


People find this review helpful!

ElricMasenkoElricMasenko

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

Dreams do come true...

My god, the flashbacks... Alex kidd, Wonderboy, Sonic, Super Mario, All of it, the old style platformer games. Its just everything i want. If this was purchasable, with more chapters, i would buy the crap outta this game. Its just... words cant describe how much this game has bought me back to my days as a child. You, my friend, have earnt my deepest respect and admiration! 100/10



helfennhelfenn

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

well

the game is indeed beautiful i loved the graphics and the peaceful music, i loved the world and the sky the stars how silent the creatures are, specially the little guy, like a hermit in a peacefull yet dangerous place at the same time.
the music is relaxing i love the 8 bit

the only bad thing is how sadisticly dificult this game is!!



xxnitramxxxxnitramxx

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 1, 2012

damn

THIS IS WAY TOO FRUSTRANT!


Miktar responds:

BETTER THAN TOO ESAY!