Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


megamagicmonkeymegamagicmonkey

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

And done

I had to turn on chicken mode right at the last checkpoint before you reach the crashed ship (nice Gradius reference by the way) because for some reason I couldn't jump up that ski slope, I could only slide down. Some other issues here and there like getting stuck on chicken blocks, but nothing so bad as that frustrated feeling where you realize the game might actually be broken and can't be beaten without putting on the baby-shoes.

All-in-all, great game. You took a bunch of old stuff, re-envisioned it and made it your own. Very good job.


People find this review helpful!

Harry777Harry777

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

GREAT game!

LOVED IT! loved the music, the jumping, the characters! I liked the way you had to use the slopes to give your self a launch forward, too. 10/10! 5/5!


People find this review helpful!

zilver692zilver692

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

its a great game

you did an amazing job for your first game. the music is great, so thumbs up to peter. though, you could have been a slight bit more forgiving with the slopes. when you hit some of them, you can't jump off, you just slide right down. aside from that, its pretty hard to not wanna finish.


Miktar responds:

Thank you!

My idea for the ski-jump was a bit ambitious, considering my inexperience with Stencyl and how it handles physics. Sometimes Muu will 'bounce' down a slope, so when you jump it thinks you're not on the ground and so you slide into oblivion. In my next game I aim to avoid this kind of sillyness.


philthespillphilthespill

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

excellent

if this is your first game,i cant wait to see what's to come!


People find this review helpful!

FastJimmyFastJimmy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

WOW

Punishing difficulty sneaks up on you after the easy beginning. Didn't realize Chicken Mode couldn't be turned off once it had been activated.

This game made me late for work with its addictive "gotta get past this one spot" gameplay. Kudos!

Question: Did you use Stencylworks to make this game?


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

Yup. Like I mentioned in the Author Comments above, I used StencylWorks since this is my first game, and I'm not a programmer in any way. Most of the two weeks spent making the game, was used learning how Stencyl works.