Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


Draco18sDraco18s

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Pretty good

I got up to the part just after the spaceship--where it seems everyone is having trouble--and quit. I'd have continued, but Newgrounds was helpful by refreshing the page when I logged in and I lost all my progress.

There was a downhill slope (going left while traveling left) with spikes at the bottom that was particularly egregious with its hitbox; there was a plant just my side of it, that it seemed as if it was also a spike (but clearly curled) as as soon as the character reached it/she/it, he died.

The part I got stuck on particularly frustrated me, as earlier in the game it was particularly notable that we could only make 2 block wide jumps, and this one is FOUR. The ramp obviously gives a little bit of a speed boost, but as the controls were unresponsive while sliding (probably an "in air/falling" flag getting set), the closest I came to making the jump was hitting the landing spot in that pixel perfect spot where I hang in mid-air briefly before falling down (like I hit the corner and the game isn't sure which way I'm supposed to be able to go before gravity asserts itself again).

So yeah.



VoltshockVoltshock

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

I GET IT! ITS CALLED MUU BECAUSE ITS A COW!

The bgm, flawless; The gameplay, a little glitchy at times but so much fun once you figure out how to do it and then just have to practice the timing, and the references, mwahahah epic. I loved how you included a SMB 3 Floating boat crashed down and had to use it as a platform close to the beggining, and after that all of the blocks looked like the brick blocks. Also, for some reason the last levels reminded me a little about the earlier megamans, but that may just be me...
Also, for your first game, congratulations, you have created something simple, challenging and awesome, you truly deserve the frontpage, and most of us will wait anxiously for a sequel.

(trying to make it sound like an official review from now on)
Plus:
+BGM, would download it if I could
+Graphics, simplistic and added to the mood
+Level design, loved the slopes, they really added a challenge, and the "staircase" with the robots (?) was pretty sweet
+Story, found the irony amusing... I mean, a cow falling in love with an alien, that's rich!

Minus:
-Dark enemies on dark backgrounds (seriously, they caught me off guard more than once, even when knowing their location)
-Jump timing, a couple of those were pixel jumps
-Checkpoints, sometimes, too close together and sometimes too far apart IMO
-Hitboxes, sometimes would be like 10 pixels away from the robot and it still caught me.

Also, excuse me for the long review, but this game inspired me to do so, heh...


Miktar responds:

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I'll have to look into the hitboxes of the Abductors (the black silhouettes), since they shouldn't be killing people from that far away.

I made them that hard to spot on purpose, really, to illicit a few cheap scares and make them very dangerous (since they're ridiculously easy to avoid once you know where they'll be).


PariahLordPariahLord

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Okay.

I enjoyed the aesthetic, and what little of the game I saw.

However, even with this "update", it's NIGH ON IMPOSSIBLE. I spent HALF AN HOUR trying to jump on the slant column in the middle of a spike pit surrounded by spikes.

Besides the HORRIFIC difficulty, I quite enjoyed the game.

Until it becomes nothing but slopes and spikes, which is when I quit. Fix this PLEASE.


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

I'm sorry, but what you want fixed isn't actually broken. You could switch on Easy Mode if the ski-jumping isn't for you.


crazymeriocrazymerio

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

That was hard as fucking hell.

But I finally beat it with out using easy mode...godamn...



KarmaBladeKarmaBlade

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Two things..

...Keep this from being a great game. Your character's hitbox and the enemy hitboxes are inconsistent, and slopes (Specifically in the pipe-y area, which is where I honestly just quit. ) Were very sporadic with their hitboxes and honestly I was dissapointed.

Work on this. It is a nice game but suffers from that critical flaw.


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

You are absolutely correct. For my next game, I'm going to avoid any wacky stuff like slopes entirely, until I get much more comfortable with how Stencyl works.