Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


As-swqAs-swq

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

right...

I got to the point just before the space ship. you know, the screen with the pit, followed by a leftward slope, followed by another pit? yeah, the game NEVER registered my jumping on the slope, no mater how pixel perfect I was, so the only way past was activating "Chicken Mode". and now I can't turn it off. this annoys me. it's like the game is punnishing me for it being glitchy and not responding. That galring, undeniable problem aside, it's not that bad a game, though it would have been better if the controls actually worked.


People find this review helpful!

FinchbyfinchFinchbyfinch

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Fantastic

I really love this.
Music is GORGEOUS.
gameplay is challenging, but not in a frustrating way.

you defly have potential, i think if you added some sort of light combat element to this style of gameplay, with these graphics, like maybe a blaster or a sword or something (or like.. i guess he's a cow, have him shoot milk xD) it would make the game almost cave story-esque

I really like the lack of dialogue. Words weigh things down too much, especially if theyre not written well.

it makes me want to go make something in stencylworks.



Mogget128723Mogget128723

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

I get what this was trying to do.

It was going for the precision-based platforming style of Dust Force or Super Meat Boy, but there are a number of problems. The most obvious among the is the game's touch-and-go treatment of steep slopes. The latter part of the game requires a lot of jumping from the very bottom of slopes above spikes, but when the game simply decides not to detect your jump again and again and again, it just gets irritating. In Dust Force, when you fail, it's because you screwed up: it's something you did, and you can correct it, which is why it's so good. It's hard, but you can learn to overcome that. When the difficulty is entirely based around slow horizontal movement, sticky jumping, and glitchy detection on slopes, it isn't challenging: it's just irritating.

The music and art style are spectacular: I just wish it was more focused on skill rather than luck of the draw.


Miktar responds:

Thanks for the review!

I wouldn't say I was going for Dust Force (haven't played it) or Super Meat Boy (stuck on the last level), but rather trying to channel some of the spirit of the original Super Mario Bros with the twist of the slopes.

My inexperience with Stencyl resulted in the slopes being far more testy than they should be, but I think they're still very manageable. My best so far is 8 deaths for a complete run.

For my next game though, I'll avoid slopes altogether.


Ylien100Ylien100

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

why...

WHY SO HARD AND SO AWESOME?!

Ps:didn't got "10" just because don't have medals...



UntzmanUntzman

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 30, 2012

Limbuu

This reminds me of the PSN/XBL game Limbo. Or at least it would, if I ever played it. The art style is very similar.

This is a lovely little hopping romp. I would have liked a way to kill those nefarious spiked creatures, but alas. There were some parts that were mind-numbingly difficult, actually. Jumping up inclines from an incline makes my hands sad. Lastly, I loved the music. It's very solid, and I'd love a sequel.