Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


drakke125drakke125

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

OMGGGG i finally beat it!!!

IO had to play 20+ times to go to the next flag ARGH its so excruciating why did you have to make the game like this gahhhhh DX

ANyways the ending was worth it i just wished u animated the ending along with the credits in background. I wished the jumping would have been easier cuz its rly rly tricky to get the right spot on the angle of the platforms to slide and jump. alot of this has to do with perfect timing.



RoMeJoRoMeJo

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

This is your first game ?

Wow dude. I truely cannot believe it. I loved this. I hate that you have gotten a few low reviews due to nothing more than players who lack platforming ability. I understand legitimate concerns but complaining about the one difficult thing in the game ("slope jumping") seems a bit ridiculous. Anywho, the minimalistic design is great. The simplistic layout of the levels was great. Great choice of music. Tip of the hat to Peter Gresser. It all fit together very very well. For me it played like a dream. No bugs, glitches, graphical errors etc. The nostalgia is strong with this one. This game is another reminder that oldschool NES style platformers still rock. I wish more developers would realize the marketability of these sort of games towards the slightly aged gamer. Regardless of what happens with this first game, I hope you continue to create games in the future. You really have talent in regards to building a full gaming experience with minimal tools at your disposal. I'm still amazed that this is your first attempt. I've always wanted to be able to create games but every time I start messing around with C++ I am reminded that I have no aptitude for this sort of thing. I might give it another shot after this. To be completely honest, I find this inspiring. Great Job man.


Miktar responds:

Thank you!

If you want to make games, I really do recommend StencylWorks - I wouldn't have been able to make this game without it. It's much easier to learn than it looks, it has a helpful community on its forums and lots of example games that you can pick apart to see how they work.


Vampyro214Vampyro214

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Pain and suffering!

This game was far to difficult for the glitchy controls. I have made it just past the ship at the time of posting this and between making it to the first checkpoint and right now, I have probably died 200 times cause it won't let me jump at the end of a slant.


Miktar responds:

My best so far is beating the game with only 8 deaths, without using Easy Mode.


xPaleRiderxxPaleRiderx

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

This Game...

Is a great trip of nostalgia back to the Coleco Vision era where the games were simple and inspired use of imagination, great chip tunes, and keyboard smashingly difficult platforming that awards a great feeling of accomplishment when you finally conquer a ridiculous area.
I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for more of your future endeavors, keep up the great work!


People find this review helpful!

Renegade-HamsterRenegade-Hamster

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Issues with difficulty/graphics, but a good effort

The music is lovely, but there's issues with the difficulty and the graphics.

If you're going to do silhouette graphics, you've got to make it really interesting to look at. Give us more shapes of things to enjoy while we're looking at the game. Otherwise it gets pretty bland, and when you're playing a game like this where you'll be replaying parts over and over until you get it right, there should at least be some really yummy graphics to look at. Examples of where this is done right in your game is with the grass on the cliffs, and the spikey enemies. Those are some interesting shapes!
I'd also suggest something other than white on black. It looks nice for a while, but it hurts the eyes.

Admittedly, I didn't try easy mode, so the following is all based on my experience playing the default mode. This was frustratingly hard in several places, and the problem always had to do with judging how to jump on and off inclined platforms.
The worst was one part after the spaceship crash area, where you had to jump across 3 or 4 flat platforms, land on a platform with a sharp incline downwards then gradual incline downwords, somehow propel yourself with enough momentum to the next flat platform, then back up and jump up to the next area where the checkpoint was. This was ridiculously hard. I tried this over and over, dying at least 50 times before I finally did it. I don't know how I didn't give up and just ragequit.
To keep the difficulty at a level where it's both fun and challenging, I'd suggest easier jumps but less checkpoints. Right now you've got lots of checkpoints to compensate for the impossible jumps, but these combine to create a really repetitive playing experience.

Having said all this, please take this as constructive criticism! I'm not just some jerk who likes badmouthing people's hard work while hiding behind the anonymity of the internet. I'm a jerk who wants to be helpful.

This is a great effort, especially for a first game by someone not familiar at all with programming. Once again, top notch music choices.


People find this review helpful!
Miktar responds:

Thank you for the review! I agree that the buggy physics can be a pain, my inexperience with Stencyl really didn't help. I know where the problem is (Muu sometimes 'bounces' down a hard slope, so it doesn't detect the jump if you're currently mid-bounce since you're technically not on the ground), but I'd disagree with the 'easier jumps less checkpoints' thing. Easier jumps are in Easy Mode, and make the 8 minute game take 3 minutes to finish. Since I knew I wasn't going to make anything of any significant length, I opted for smaller 'critical' sections, like the 'you didn't eat your wheaties' jumps right after finding Heart and his crashed ship.

On average I do 20 deaths, my best was 8 so far, so even though the slopes can be tricky, you can actually master them to a satisfying degree.

For my next game though, I'm going to avoid slopes entirely until I get much better at Stencyl.

The fact that you made it through, without ragequitting, I think is a very positive review. ^..^