Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


chilisaucechilisauce

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

FFFFFFFFFFFF

Consecutive annoying jumps and invisible enemies, the game. FFFFFFFFFFF, rage 10d.



generalseptumgeneralseptum

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

awesome

the strategy involved in timing jumps was difficult.. but not overly difficult!! ... the noises the black guys with white eyes made me laugh even when they killed me.... the fact that u have infinite lives really made this addicting and the checkpoints are perfectly placed!!!.... put this on the DS and ill buy it!!!



AvesAkiariAvesAkiari

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Difficulty

I can tell the guy below me probably grew up with third or fourth gen systems. The difficulty is part of the old platformers that I like. you cant just sit in the corner spawn killing to get all the weapons, and sit at your pc and spend hours fighting the same mob, you actualy had to have an amount of skill that came through practice.
I dont think the difficulty was unreasonable at all, given the length of the game. And I say a job well done on your first game, Miktar.



billyd4evabillyd4eva

Rated 1 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

Can't believe anyone would give this a 10/10...

utterly boring. the graphics are boring (guess thats the style...). the gameplay is boring. the difficulty is insane. purely jumping on stuff just doesn't cut it for me i'm afraid...



cdsolidsnakecdsolidsnake

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2012

By far, one of the best

This is by far one of the best flash games I've played. As difficult as any old school games. The ending is lovely and the story (as the game itself) it's simplistic and just a basic idea. That's what makes it so damn beautiful: You don't have to wait for any kind of plot change, you just have to play it.

I don't have any kind of complain, except for difficulty, but there's a "Chicken Mode" so I won't say anything else (I played the hard one, jeez, after you go for that "thing" is dam hard!).

Anyway, my character died several times. But it was worth it.