Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 27, 2012 | 12:16 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place January 28, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place February 1, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

i'm the white dragon now.

thanks for all the liking of the concept of this flash.

the woman involved is no longer who she once was.

Reviews


T-rebelT-rebel

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Great on so many levels

Just the idea of using luminance contrast to convey gender was a great start. Then you added the nuance of their contrasts setting them apart, in different worlds. It made me think of how these two might be like yin and yang to one another.

I'll admit the plot itself was a bit simplistic, but it was more than enough to convey the ultimate message on its own. All I would say is that it's so blatant that you don't really need to spell it out at the end; just leave it to the viewer to understand what you were going for, and I would bet that most would.

I'm wondering why you picked dragon/snake/wurm creatures instead of people as your characters. Not that I disliked it -- it's just the only artistic decision you made that I can't really connect with the rest.

Anyway, I hope Courtney enjoyed it as much as everyone on NG did. And if not, you should totally divorce her 'cause this was great!

5's & 10's all around.


People find this review helpful!
horsenwelles responds:

if i had chosen people, it would have psychologically been less interesting. human romance has been studied and analyzed since the beginning of the human existence. if i had chosen people, you'd be less inclined to believe that the situation could happen.

as for dragons, they are simple minded, they are animalistic, they are very hard to read, but the simplicity of an animal's goal, and the legnths that creature will go to for them, is much more interesting to me at least, than a story about 2 people on the opposite sides of a wall.

as for.... why the actual choice of dragons as animals though? well any animal could really show the struggle, but the idea was something creating a barrier around them to emerge through, and really.... only people and dragons can, and with dragons, your really showing purity, where as humans are far less.

thank you for the wonderful review though!


KodexAnimationsKodexAnimations

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Good

Brilliant little flash and when it finished, there was an ad for 'Dragons of Atlantis' as a bonus. 5/5 10/10


People find this review helpful!
horsenwelles responds:

thank you kodex ;)))


davis2110davis2110

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

wow

that was the sweetest thing I have ever seen....
using the idea of contrast and turning that into a love story even how the dragon gave up her life in fire to be with the one she loved, its so symbolic in so many ways your amazing! This is beauty and passion in a perfect blend.


horsenwelles responds:

besides the gender confusion, thank you for a wonderful review!


ChrausnerChrausner

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Hmmm...

Well, it really shows it. :P Its message confused me temporarily, but I eventually got it.

Art/Animation: 9/10

It was smooth, clean, basically a good flash. However, it would be smart to actually smoothen the movement of the dragons as they shoved left/right. The forms were perfect, no denying. The fire wasn't PERFCET, but it'll be hard to make it move clean and smooth. Even though the dragons moved smooth enough, I still could see some shattering zones. (This might be an issue with my laptop) :(

Music: 8/10

Well, the music wasn't as clean and smooth as possible. If you can, make it echo a bit, for some extra effect. The rythem was plausable (I see you used an Audio submission from the Audio Portal, so this can't really be your fault). The issue I have is its non-sound effects. Maybe it would better if there were sound effects (the dragon mourning, the crashing sound of hitting the wall).

Plot: 9/10
This surely spreads a message. Even though I didn't really found it "awesome" or "epic", I think it's a smart flash. I can't argue against this flash at all. Rating on this sort of drama, it's really good! The only reason why you don't get a 10 for Plot is because I didn't really liked it, just liked it a bit. Sorry. :P The bit where I saw the Black-White Form was outstanding. (I don't know what that's called)

Overall, a 9/10 and a well deserved 4/5. You'll need some sound effects, better audio quality, and smooth movements on the flash. The rest is good!

~The Liberaten
~The Review Request Club
--spelling and grammar not revised.


horsenwelles responds:

um.... lots of issues with your review style that i have, but i dont mind the marks.

i simply try to avoid cliche and write a nice story for my baby.


bigferderbigferder

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

art+flash= love

wow i really don't like to write reviews, but when i saw this i just thought about my girlfriend who i love very much and i would do anything to be with her and she would do the same.. i really love this flash..


People find this review helpful!
horsenwelles responds:

thank you so much =)))