Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 11, 2012 | 10:59 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 18, 2012
  • Daily Feature January 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Double Dragon
    Double Dragon The Lee brothers are still kicking ass after all these years.

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Auto-Assault 5 Points 07 - Get Machine Gun
Bad Call 5 Points 02 - Choose any incorrect option with Annie the Mermaid
Ballooney 5 Points 05 - Pick up an extra balloon
Call A Plumber 5 Points 02 - Escape the Mario pipe
Child Chomper 5 Points 01 - Eat kid
Choices 5 Points 00B - Use level select
Familiar Shape 5 Points 04 - Get the map
Fiery Fury 5 Points 07 - Get Flame Gun
Fighting Chance 5 Points 03 - Let Urban Champ guy punch you
Fish Food 5 Points 02 - Get eaten by a robo-fish
Idiot 5 Points 04 - Stab a Bob-Omb
Lazertagged 5 Points 06 - Get hit by a laser
Lemming Lunacy 5 Points 07 - Get Lemmings Gun
Merbobos 5 Points 02 - Choose wisely with Annie the Mermaid
Never Give Up 5 Points 00E - Use a continue
No Mercy 5 Points 03 - Execute the Fatality move
Run Abobo, Run! 5 Points 01 - Execute a dash move (shoulder block or jump kick)
Soap On A Dope 5 Points 07 - Kill showering guy
Spread The Love 5 Points 07 - Get Spread Gun
Where To? 5 Points 04 - Get the compass
Acid Bath 10 Points 08 - Watch Little Mac win in 3rd round by decision
Beardy Basher 10 Points 01 - Defeat Beardy Barrel
Bigger Boat 10 Points 02 - Defeat Jaws
Blocktorock 10 Points 04 - Block an Octorock's projectile rock with your shield
Bloody Bobo 10 Points 00F - Watch abobo get sawed to death on continue screen
Bombs Away 10 Points 07 - Use Rage move on level 7
Bonkers 10 Points 05 - Bonk Amazon on the head before he spits slime blobs at you
Death Blossom 10 Points 05 - Use Rage move on Level 5
Flurry Frag 10 Points 04 - Kill all the flurries in the lion key room
Have A Seat 10 Points 05 - Use a chair on the Amazon
Icy Escape 10 Points 07 - Break out of ice after being frozen
Ironic 10 Points 01 - Hit beardy barrel with a barrel
Mega Blast 10 Points 06 - Use Rage move on level 6
Patience 10 Points 00A - Watch full intro rising up to main menu
Police Patrol 10 Points 03 - Wait long enough for a cop car to drive by
Poor Aboboy 10 Points 00D - Watch the whole intro where Aboboy is kidnapped
Pro Wrestler 10 Points 05 - Do each of your slam moves at least once in the match
Projectile Power 10 Points 04 - Regain your throwing sword or throwing beef after losing it
Punchy Power 10 Points 08 - Use Rage move on level 8
Pushy 10 Points 04 - Push a not-so-secret block
Reap This 10 Points 05 - Bonk Reaper on head before he summons mini-reapers
Reaper Runner 10 Points 05 - Avoid mini-reapers without getting hit by them
Risky 10 Points 05 - Jump off the top rope
Robopopped 10 Points 07 - Kill Robocop
Rocky Rage 10 Points 01 - Use Rage move on level 1
Slowpoke 10 Points 04 - Get turned into a snail
Spiffy Supporter 10 Points 00C - Click our donate button & consider showing your support
Super Slash 10 Points 04 - Use Rage move on Level 4
The Code 10 Points 07 - Use the Contra Code properly
Typhoon Time 10 Points 02 - Use Rage move on level 2
Walk On Water 10 Points 04 - Get the ladder
Waste Not 10 Points 01 - Throw kid body
A Winner Is Me 25 Points 05 - Defeat the Amazon with your Rage move
Abobo Appetizers 25 Points 02 - Eat at least 50 enemies
Anger Issues 25 Points 04 - Clear 20 rooms of all enemies
Bloody Chum 25 Points 02 - Defeat Big Daddy Boss
Chair Massacre 25 Points 05 - Use all four chairs on the Amazon
Die Dragon Die 25 Points 04 - Kill Aquamentus
Fooled You 25 Points 01 - Knock boss off conveyer belt
Forklift Foul 25 Points 01 - Defeat boss
Kong Punt 25 Points 01 - Punt Donkey Kong Jr.
Krang Bang 25 Points 07 - Destroy Krangby
Mac Attack 25 Points 08 - Knock down Little Mac twice in round 1
Manhandled 25 Points 04 - Kill Manhandla
Mega Mashed 25 Points 06 - Defeat Megabobo
Mmm Beefy 25 Points 04 - Get the beef
No Fatty Pop 25 Points 04 - Survive after being inflated by Dig Dug
Skynet Stopper 25 Points 06 - Defeat Robobobo
Turtle Power 25 Points 07 - Defeat Krang
Balloon Master 50 Points 05 - Survive the Balloon Fight level without dying once
Barf-O-Rama 50 Points 07 - Kill giant Kirby
Champ 50 Points 08 - Defeat Little Mac in round 1
Elderly Execution 50 Points 04 - Beat Boss (without beef)
Extra Abobo 50 Points 06 - Pick up an extra life
It's So Bad 50 Points 08 - Put on the Power Glove and defeat Little Mac
Meatspin 50 Points 04 - Beat Boss (with beef)
Mega Master 50 Points 06 - Survive Megabobo level without dying once
Super Soldier 50 Points 07 - Survive first Contrabobo level without dying once
War Hero 50 Points 07 - Survive second Contrabobo level without dying once
Balloon Jedi 100 Points 05 - Survive the Balloon Fight level without being hit
Contrabobo God 100 Points 07 - Survive both Contrabobo levels without dying once
I'm The Greatest 100 Points 08 - Defeat Little Mac without being knocked down at all
Bloodsport Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Jason Lives Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
No Filming Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Surf's Up Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Duck Hunted Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Friendly Foes Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Headbanger Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Luckdragon Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sneaky Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Thanks Doc Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Another Castle Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bobo Battle Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Double Trouble Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Fire Bad! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Kill The Messenger Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Best Ending Evar Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Private Party Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Thriller Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

**IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT GAME CONTROLS**
There is a known Internet Explorer browser bug which makes some keys stick when pressed. We promise the problem is not in our game itself, but it's something you can fix if you search for "Internet Explorer Flash Sticky Keys" OR simply use another browser like Firefox. Again, this is not a problem with the code in our game, so if you're experiencing this problem, try one of the aforementioned solutions. Thanks!

--CONTROLS--

GAME SAVE = Automatic! Use level select from main menu for saved levels
ARROW KEYS = MOVE
"A" KEY = ACTION 1
"S" KEY = ACTION 2
"A + S" KEYS = EXECUTE RAGE MOVE (when "Rage-O-Meter" is full)
"P" = Pause
"M" = Return to main menu at any time!
=============
HINTS:
If you're stuck on the zelda room with dig dug, the block in the middle is sparkling for a reason!
==============
Abobo's Big Adventure is a project that we have been working on for YEARS as a true labor of lovewith one goal in mind: To create the ultimate tribute to the NES! This gargantuan 8-bit parody game is made for the fans by the fans, and now you finally have the chance to control the angriest character in the known universe - Abobo!

The story is simple - Abobo's son (Aboboy) has been kidnapped and now it's up to you to help Abobo fight his way through some of the greatest NES games of all time in order to rescue him. This isn't your average 8-bit parody game either... not only is each level a completely different game in which Abobo takes on the characteristics of the main protagonist, but enemies from a wide variety of *other* games appear on each level too! Imagine you could put every NES game ever made into a blender and that's basically what you're dealing with here in the form of a huge Flash game.

We've added in a ton of custom artwork, cutscenes, new rage moves on each level, huge boss battles, secrets, and a whopping 100 medals for you to unlock! In addition to that, we've created what we consider to be the most satisfying ending of any game you'll ever see. Sure, on classic NES games they often rewarded you with a simple "Congratulations! Game Over." after you spent hours working your way towards the end. That's not the case here - we've worked up one big ending that you'll remember for the rest of your life! Plus, when you beat the game, you'll unlock even more goodies to play with!

You'll also be happy to learn that we've created a convenient Level Select screen which automatically unlocks levels as you beat them. You don't have to beat the game in one sitting... you can always come back and use the Level Select to pick up right where you left off. You can also use it to replay any level if you need to try to unlock additional medals that you missed out on during your first play-through.

Last but not least, if you enjoy this massive game project of ours, please consider making a donation to our indie cause. We've put a lot of blood, sweat, and tears into this game (mainly because Abobo kept punching us throughout its development), so your donations would be greatly appreciated and will go towards our creating future games and/or paying our hospital bills from Abobo's constant beatings. PLUS - as a token of our appreciation, anybody who makes a donation will also receive a free copy of our 100% original new mini-game, Aboboy's Small Adventure!

In closing, we'd like to thank all of our friends, families, and Newgrounds for their unwavering support over the years as we've continued to work on this huge project. It really meant the world and helped us make Abobo's Big Adventure something truly special. It's hard to imagine that this project started out all the way back in 2002... Abobo sure has come a long way with his angry fists. Thanks for playing our game and making this 8-bit dream come true.

-Team Bobo
www.abobosbigadventure.co m

Reviews


Darknight98Darknight98

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 16, 2012

Good

I really enjoyed it, but, I think that it would be more awesome if the gameplay was more creative...



pankclawpankclaw

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 11, 2012

Impressive

It's a very unique game but don't you think the nes crossover has been done enough times why not make a snes version?



kingraptor147kingraptor147

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 13, 2012

It brings back the retro days.


People find this review helpful!

Zir0Zir0

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 11, 2012

Cool Game!

Hey.

I LOVE your preloader. Yep, that's how we had to do this back in the day, blowing the cartridges. You left off jerking the cartridge around a bit while inside the NES.

General
The graphics look very good. the only letdown was the use of riped media. However, you DID include LOTS of amazing original art as well so kudos. Include an option to mute music and keep sounds. I know that wasn't a standard NES thing, but some accessibility was still desired, even back then.

Double Dragon
One thing that's annoying is when you're attackig, the enemy just breaks out and hits you. Abobo should be able to toss enemies. Donkey Kong's bombs should be able to hit enemies also. When you kill a spy and pause the game, his death sound keeps looping.

Underwater
This is interesting. It combines Yoshi style of play with SMB1, plus the characters from various other games, as expected. The Typhoon attack is also pretty cool. You should include a move, such that, if you keep an enemey in your mouth long enugh, Abobo will swalloy it, and you get some health and/or a medal for it.

Urban Champ
Nice to see Alex in the shop taking a break.

Zelda
Nice remake here, too. You forgot to implement that music glitch that occurs when you leave an underground passage, to return the the normal dungeon, and the music resets. I do like the ability to attack while standing in a doorway. When you are in the room where you fight the ghosts and the moving spikes, the two at the top don't move vertically. One of the the Metros got stuck. It was in the room, just north of the room with the master key. You should have made the controls, such that you can change your direction while you are attacking. Thus, you can hit two enemies from differect directions at once (an ADVANCED move for the REAL Zelda players ;-)) Flurries can only move like that on ice. (: Why did you make the pushable blocks sparkle? Don't do that; you're giving the noobs too much help! Do enemies drop fairies when you kill them?. The Old Man boss was kinda annoying, but not too tough once you figure out the pattern. I don't like the tease at the end of finishing this, where it shows an inventory. Would have been nice to have some of those to play around with.

Balloon
This is like an advanced underwater level, as far as controls are concerned.

Wreslting
I never liked the Pro Wrestling. The computer spams you too much. I think I beat this level off luck, because I had no clue what I was doing.

NegaMan
Haha! Abobo looks retarded in a Megeman suit! His head is way too big, lol. The drop rate for health pellets is too low, and large health pellets don't refill enough. The first time I see extra lives is near the lazer guns (if there are others in earlier parts of the game, I missed them), and you tease us not once, but twice. The animation of Robobobo morphing into Mechabobo is awesome. When you use your rage attack on Robobobo, it doesn't even interrupt him. He just keeps going like it was nothing...

Contra
I would have preferred the original laser to the Lemmings. At the same times, it figures you'd keep the original F. That was the lamest weapon in Contra, lol! I do like how you added auto-fire to the guns. The waterfall boss... you pulled the ol' bait 'n switch. Should've known. (:

Punch-Out
It was kinda fun, despite Mac and his psychic AI. Both rages are sweet. To me, Big Mac was easier than Little Mac.

Conclusion
I did finish the game. Soundwave was in it!? WHERE!? There are some games I would have preferred to play though: Metroid in place of MegaMan. Actually no; Mega is too much of a classic to skip, so ADD Metroid, lol. CastleVania 3 or Rygar in place of Urban Champ. Life Force / Gradius in place of the Balloon stage. Zelda II (fighting the Shadow Link - that was a WAY fun battle) - in place of Punch Out. But, but, but, you guys left out an RPG. I can't believe you didn't put FF1 in here. Dude. (: Overall, it's a nice collage of MANY games. You guys put LOTS of time into this. (Now where's that sound test, lol)

_______________
- Ziro out.


People find this review helpful!

tankmansamsamtankmansamsam

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 15, 2012

You made this game a bit too hard.

The Old Man for example. He has three forms and almost impossible to dodge attacks. It would help greatly to remove the snail spell and remove the third form.