Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2012 | 9:32 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick January 11, 2012
  • Daily 3rd Place January 5, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place January 11, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The entirety of this was made over the course of the last seven days. I'm actually really surprised at how efficient I was here, since I managed to get around 25 seconds done each day.

Even though the actual animation is not pristine or anything and the frame-by-frame is sort of choppy and shaky, I'm proud of how this turned out, mainly due to the atmosphere of it and the story. I think this time it actually has some meaning behind it. Also, this time I actually have some REAL INSTRUMENTS in the music. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? OMG. Except I mixed them in with synthesized versions of themselves so it's occasionally hard to tell. Oh well.

Edit: Wow, I'm genuinely amazed by the quality of these reviews! There's been a lot of thought put into each and every one of them. Thanks so much, everyone!

Reviews


MarioMan37MarioMan37

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 4, 2012

Pretty amazing.

Really loved the story and concept. Animation could have used a little work, but overall excellent.


People find this review helpful!
Pahgawk responds:

Thanks :) This was one of the few times when I got an idea that was actually complete from the start, so I knew exactly what I wanted it to have happen. I'm still pretty terrible at frame-by-frame animation though, and I guess I tried more just to achieve atmosphere than to get all the motion smooth. Oh well.


GabrielBarschGabrielBarsch

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2012

nice !

a thing to think and reflect, thats kinda facinating ! and expressive



ShantomShantom

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 3, 2012

Amazing!! :O

Good stuff as usual :P
Amazing story, great/nice animation!
Waiting for your next flash =D



EnticeEntice

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 3, 2012

What can I say?

I can't think of anything to criticize. I loved the music and animation, the frame-by-frame is choppy but I like the style and it looked intentional. In addition, it was an emotional work with a wonderful plot; everything seemed to come together perfectly. I hope to see more animations from you in the future, this is amazing that this was done in 7 days.


People find this review helpful!
Pahgawk responds:

Thank you! Well, if the fact that I decided to use a really low frame rate counts as intentional, I guess so, but I think the choppiness was because I was in a rush for no reason (I actually don't know why I only gave myself a week) and I didn't polish it enough. But I guess if it works, then it's all good :)


TransparentPresenceTransparentPresence

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 3, 2012

Poetic...

For a 7 day job this has to be fantastic, it didn't find anything wrong with the animation etc, perhaps it was because I was so sucked into the content....the music went beautifully with the animation by the way, so good job with that :)

What I found so interesting is that you presented a well known concept (which to me was society enforcing conformity upon its people, dictating what is what giving out its own "awards" for what it deems acceptable behavior, which make people forget that the people who make the rules are just as human as anyone else in the society so they lose touch with reality and forget what it is to be alive...although that's what I think is the story behind it, I may be wrong tho xD) in what I think is a rather original and unique way - basically I loved it, especially the way you ended the animation - it was hopeful but still remained bittersweet.

On a last note, what really stuck out to me about your animation was that the way you presented it was careful and observant of the characters actions despite the fact they had masks on...I don't know what it is that made me think of that but I found that quality of your animation made me connect to the story and enjoy it a lot...and most of all gave the sense that your animation had a relevance to anyone everywhere and also was a powerful message of the importance of oneself in a world that screams for conformity...

Nothing else to say really, please make more, I look forward to future works from you :)


People find this review helpful!
Pahgawk responds:

Well, the whole story is sort of a metaphor and an allegory, so pretty much any interpretation of it is correct. That is indeed what the intended message was though :)

I'm glad I was able to make a connection with the characters. Empathy is what the story depends on in order for it to work.

Thanks for watching!