Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2012 | 9:32 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick January 11, 2012
  • Daily 3rd Place January 5, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place January 11, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The entirety of this was made over the course of the last seven days. I'm actually really surprised at how efficient I was here, since I managed to get around 25 seconds done each day.

Even though the actual animation is not pristine or anything and the frame-by-frame is sort of choppy and shaky, I'm proud of how this turned out, mainly due to the atmosphere of it and the story. I think this time it actually has some meaning behind it. Also, this time I actually have some REAL INSTRUMENTS in the music. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? OMG. Except I mixed them in with synthesized versions of themselves so it's occasionally hard to tell. Oh well.

Edit: Wow, I'm genuinely amazed by the quality of these reviews! There's been a lot of thought put into each and every one of them. Thanks so much, everyone!

Reviews


AchillesRunnerAchillesRunner

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

interesting

I'd be sad if I didn't know math too.



Cristly210Cristly210

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

\0/ !!!!!! great

I love it,
Its one of my most favorite ones that I love a 100% on it.
I love it a 100% Its great I love how it gose.
Great Job!!!!!



benenadabenenada

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

nice!

nice rhythm, good concept
keep doing this kind of flash
maybe you can even turn this into a series ... their attempt to escape out of the masked-world or something :)



ZMedicZMedic

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

Here is a title

Like you said yourself, the atmosphere of this was amazing. I especially felt it at the part where the mother cries without her mask, and then when the kid sees her tear streaked face without anything between them two he runs in fear.

The short running shot reminded me a lot of a similar one second segment of 28 weeks day later.

The later scene in the classroom when the multitude of masks were taken off one by one was not only emotionally powerful but revealing as well. The guy had the sad blue mask, the mark of failure) as the first mask he ever put on, showing that most people needed a few tries before being able to fully conform into that world.

The only reason I'm giving you a 9/10 was the generic happy scene at the end. Like the commenter below me, it felt too generic and ruined the heavy feeling that I felt would have been masochistically nice to walk away from this film with.

All in all, great job!



NexusXNexusX

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

.. and then they boned.

Jokes aside, well done.. anyone who watches this can't help but think about the face they show.

The about a girl thing is a bit over done on Newgrounds but whatever.. what else are you going to do, have a pterodactly bust in and eat the kid?


People find this review helpful!
Pahgawk responds:

That would have made for a much more interesting movie, I think. Dinosaurs are just so awesome. :D

But, jokes aside, I put in the girl at the end not to show any romantic interest, but just to show that there are still friends and people who can understand you even when everything else is sad. I felt like I didn't want to end this on a COMPLETELY depressing note.