Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2012 | 9:32 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick January 11, 2012
  • Daily 3rd Place January 5, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place January 11, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The entirety of this was made over the course of the last seven days. I'm actually really surprised at how efficient I was here, since I managed to get around 25 seconds done each day.

Even though the actual animation is not pristine or anything and the frame-by-frame is sort of choppy and shaky, I'm proud of how this turned out, mainly due to the atmosphere of it and the story. I think this time it actually has some meaning behind it. Also, this time I actually have some REAL INSTRUMENTS in the music. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? OMG. Except I mixed them in with synthesized versions of themselves so it's occasionally hard to tell. Oh well.

Edit: Wow, I'm genuinely amazed by the quality of these reviews! There's been a lot of thought put into each and every one of them. Thanks so much, everyone!

Reviews


mpdelightmpdelight

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 25, 2012

AMAZING!

Thank you for creating and sharing such a lovely piece of work, look forward to seeing more.



masterknuxmasterknux

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

amazing

just. amazing



doctormorgusdoctormorgus

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

VERY POWERFUL

i mean it's a great concept!
plot: "a world where you have to hide your {real} emotions under masks and sometimes even fake it and act like biotic\artifical robots or androids?..just to make people happy or unhappy..a society that forces you to do this day in and day out, wow and those who think differently and choose to be free are persecuted? (seems like martial law to me.)

but it was really good. the frame rate was stable, the emotions they tried to convey showed on their masks well..the music synced perfectly, i couldn't find anything wrong with it.

. this deserves to be in the top 100 great job. .it's funny it feels like this is how the world acts now an days..now all we need is some masks..(preferbly V FOR VENDETTA ones. :D), i feel inspired now to write a story about a society that's governed by a single law. thank you.:) oh and would love to see more of these awesome animations!


People find this review helpful!
Pahgawk responds:

well, if "stable" means animated at 18 fps in twos, then I guess so....
Anyway, thanks :)


rotingcorpse93rotingcorpse93

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

Insightful

I enjoyed this. However, I am not going to really talk about how I interpreted it. Instead I am going to reply to an earlier comment and, in effect, the way I see this flash will show through my response.
Dear TheMoreYouLearn, I believe I understand what you are meaning. The boy does not really solve his problems, nor does he directly confront them. However, I think you may have misinterpreted the girl's role in the story. She didn't necessarily "magically" appear. She was attracted to the boy because he seemed to be in a similar situation as herself, and she probably respected that he had discarded his mask. What I took from this was that, although he did not fix the society that caused his problems, nor did he effectively confront the issue, he found comfort and strength in finding someone else who saw the world as he did. Or perhaps the message was that love was sufficient for him to no longer care about his other problems -although, in my opinion, that would raise the issue as to whether or not that is a good thing-.
But, I digress, the flash was great. Thank you for the insight, or at least a subject worth conversation. I took off a point for the mediocre animation (:


People find this review helpful!

rannyfashrannyfash

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

love the possibly deep stuff

previous comments describe in detail what i was going to put, so would it truly have been conformist to write about my unconformist ideals and that i have just now unintentionally succeeded in an original comment