Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 31, 2011 | 2:37 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 1, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place January 4, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I have finally finished it! The Guardian is done!

The music is called "Shadows" composed by Lindsey Stirling, be sure to click on the link at the end to check out her other stuff! She's really talented!

Special thanks to RicePirate for giving me advice throughout the process of me making it. I'm sorry if I spammed you with so many dumb questions!

Well anyway, I hope you enjoy! Happy New Year!

EDIT: Thank you so much for daily first and front page! I'm very grateful :]

Reviews


talkingtrouserstalkingtrousers

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 5, 2012

I didn't expect it to be this good.

Honestly, I felt as though it was going to be a somewhat cliched and story driven escapade. As wrong as I was, this is a good thing; I'll give a huge shout out to Lindsey, fantastic music. It reminded me of an irish folklore piece and the added midi synth was brilliantly upbeat. So much regard to her, Nwl your animation style is interesting; I like anything but Anime and eddsworld which at first I thought due to the icon, imitated it, thus making me reluctant to check it out, but your fluid animation style and characters transcended my initial opinion, I would love a sequel, much to the same effect.

I think your antagonist, the almost Professor layton-esque phantom has enough appeal to vary in his form; he could be a shapeshifter or ghost who commands monocled spectres, just please veer away from cliches.

Also, as I'm prompted to be critical- your -1 is the discrepancy within your plot; at first the phanton hands the lad the metaphorical pandora's box; to run away with, on a floating isolated island. Then he kills the prior guardian (kudos on it's digital image, like raw energy/electricity) and wants the cube back. Just encourages rhetoric really.

I'm looking forward to The Guardian, part II or whatever, my only directive? Make sure lindseys doing the music.

Brilliance. 9/10 5/5


NeroGeist responds:

I appreciate the review. Yes, there were some plot holes and confusing parts in this, hopefully I can explain them if/when I do make a series. BUT, just like you asked, I'm not doing it unless Lindsey is doing the music. I don't know if she want's to or not. But anytime you watch one of her videos or look at her facebook page, be sure to leave a comment like "You should totally work with NeroGeist on a series!" or something like that. All the help the better! But anyway, back to the review, I'm glad you like my animation style and such, it was an experiment the whole movie with different camera angles and movements and such, all to help me learn more in animation. Well anyway, thank you for the review! I love to hear feedback! :]


sunnygurl3sunnygurl3

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2012

kinda reminds me

of green lantern but a different beginning... i really liked it though. i liked the style and that you put words on the screen and not actual voice acting. makes more of an effect ya know?



kyonokyono

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2012

Full marks

for the music alone. Animation was amazing and the story was good. Added to favourites :)



Corvet152Corvet152

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2012

Great!

This was a great video! Maybe there could be a sequel?



MaestroAlvisMaestroAlvis

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 5, 2012

Kinda run of the mill

The whole idea of being whisked away to your destiny kinda annoys me since that isn't at all how things actually work. The big plot hole that annoys me is why did the man give the boy the thing and then ask for it back?
Animation was pretty cool though.