Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2011 | 7:04 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 4, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Clouds Disappear 5 Points Collapse a cloud by standing on it.
Ice is Slippery 5 Points Stand on ice and slide around.
Lava is Hot 5 Points Stand on lava for too long and get hurt.
Shrooms are Bouncy 5 Points Bounce off a mushroom and into the air.
Watch Your Step 5 Points Collapse a wooden platform by walking over it.
Animal Cruelty 10 Points Drop an enemy into some spikes, and watch it suffer.
Desert Dash 10 Points Beat Level 7 in under 50 seconds.
Foe Bouncer 10 Points Perform a massive aerial combo by bouncing off enemies.
Foe Juggler 10 Points Keep an enemy up in the air by attacking it.
Forest Jog 10 Points Beat level 3 in under 40 seconds.
Frost Bite 10 Points Hit an enemy with a dangling icicle.
Glacier Run 10 Points Beat Level 13 in under 60 seconds.
Master Mage 10 Points Cast a level 3 spell.
Master Warrior 10 Points Lose your ability to cast spells, you don't need them.
Newbie Mage 10 Points Cast a spell for the first time.
Newbie Warrior 10 Points Discover the standard 3-hit melee combo.
Self Destruction 10 Points Defeat any boss with their own projectiles.
Spikes are Painful 10 Points Fall into a pit of spikes and regret it.
The Credits 10 Points Check out the credits page and maybe visit some links.
Volcano Sprint 10 Points Beat Level 19 in under 70 seconds.
Balanced Skillset 25 Points Buy the weakest version of every spell.
Boss Immunity 25 Points Defeat any boss without getting hit.
Endangered Species 25 Points Defeat 1000 foes in total.
Level Grinder 25 Points Reach an experience level of 30.
Power Up 25 Points Max out your HP and MP.
Boss Hunter 50 Points Complete the Boss Rush on hard or epic difficulty.
Foe Exterminator 50 Points Complete the Foe Rush on hard or epic difficulty.
Gold Hoarder 50 Points Collect every coin in every level.
Great Adventurer 50 Points Open every treasure chest in every level.
The End 100 Points Complete level 20, rescue the princess and finish the game.

Author Comments

Explore the world of Adventure Story while battling swarms of enemies and massive bosses, collecting new equipment, and learning magic spells. Hope you enjoy this one, it took longer than it should have...

Instructions:

Arrow Keys - Move
Up Arrow - Interact with objects
A - Jump
S - Attack
D - Magic menu
Q, W, E - Magic hotkeys
Esc, P - Pause game

Keys can be changed in the pause menu and options.

Reviews


f12guyf12guy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 19, 2012

There is just something missing.

Matt I have been a fan of your work since the first EBF.

But I Feel that the all personality of the previous games were never put in the
For one the witty one liners of Matt or the ability to click Nats's you know
Those things gave the EBF series charm. And without those the game felt empty.
All so the game had very little story, this is an RPG, sure a platformer RPG but that doesn't mean it can't have the story of its predecessors.

But all those aside Great addition to the series


People find this review helpful!

groovi1groovi1

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2012

once again awesome

yet i found a glitch on lvl 15 absolute zero some how one of the evil ice blocks didnt jump nor reacted at my precence and i jjumped at him stared and was right on im and nothign happende like it was just part of the back ground. yet nothing really big just wanted u 2 kwno great game



SondoverZSondoverZ

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2012

Nice Job! And...

Matt, my man! The EBF game series is amazing, and I'm so glad you made them. Making a platformer based on the game's early events is genius. There is one thing though; I cant help felling the same track is played for the whole of a world. But thats not enough to ruin it. Great work, I plan to do a Let's Play of this soon. I would be grateful if you gave me official permission to record the game. Make sure you watch it, 'cause I feel you enjoyed the Lp of Epic Battle Fantasy 3, and I hope to know you'll be watching it! Thanks for your great work!


People find this review helpful!

MagneticGizmoMagneticGizmo

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2012

Very well done

I had a lot of fun playing this game. The graphics are smooth and flow nicely. I grew to love the characters and the enemies. The backgrounds and platforms are also very beautiful. I never get tired of the music, either. The game increased in difficulty very slowly, but in the last two areas, I had trouble staying alive. I was playing this casually, and I was very happy that I could find all of the treasure chests. I loved how the different items and how they change your attributes. The option whether to use magic or not was a very interesting choice in game development, and I chose not to use it once I got that item.

I can tell that quite a lot of time and work went into this project and I look forward to future projects by this developer.


People find this review helpful!

Equinox-TwilightEquinox-Twilight

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2012

Platformers

You understand the curtain fire (bullet hell) mechanic really well, I'll give you that, but you're missing a lot that actually drives the platformer genre. This game is very well built, the atmosphere is nice, but the mechanics are way off. Enemy timings and behaviors are awful for both regular enemies and bosses. While it may seem like the enemies have a touch of randomness to them, this is not the case. The problem is that you telegraph what the enemies are going to do very poorly or not at all. This is pivotal to appropriate reaction time on the part of the player, otherwise they spend more time cautiously approaching enemies than actually playing the game - unless, of course, you've memorized every enemy's pattern in the game (This is what game developers do if they test they're own game and what testers do if you don't rotate your testing groups).

The platforming is overplayed. I honestly started to ask myself when I'd reach contiguous ground. I became more irate still when I found that the running trend was going to be a monster that took more than one hit on a platform large enough only for it and nothing else. Magic didn't terribly help this either, since it made sense to shoot the enemy with a fireball and have them walk off of the platform. The problem with that is that you run out of magic quickly and then in turn have no support skills.

My honest recommendation to you is to play the classics again, man. Mario, Sonic, and Mega Man. Since your gameplay style most closely resembles Mega Man Zero, I recommend playing Mega Man Zero 3 on the Gameboy Advance. Focus hard on what really makes these games work and work well.


People find this review helpful!
matt-likes-swords responds:

I don't completely disagree.