Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2011 | 5:47 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 28, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place December 28, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Firefox 5 Points Flame away...
Ohnemous 10 Points Open the runes.
Studious 10 Points Find 5 jounal pages.
Disillusioned 25 Points Find 50 mushrooms.
Happy Thoughts 25 Points Learn to fly!
Dazed and Confused 50 Points Find all the mushrooms.
The End 50 Points Complete the game.

Author Comments

It feels good to be finally submitting this. I hope you all have fun! Merry Xmas. :3

***

The game should save automatically, but opening the map will do a manual write to the HD. This might cause a moment of lag on some computers. So, DON'T PANIC! lol

If you want to make sure your game saves, open the map before you quit. It should be fine even if you don't, but a tester had an issue so I threw a flush statement in as a failsafe. :3

Reviews


TommorzTommorz

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Artistic, intelligent and enchanting above all.

To those who have not played this game, I encourage you to do so before reading beyond this overwritten paragraph. The ultimate purpose of this review is not so much directed towards persuading potential players, because the game itself makes a fine speech in that regard. Rather, I'll be constructively critiquing the artist himself, and I won't withhold any of the details that may otherwise obstruct the full experience of discovering this game's secrets by yourself.

Now, to the artist and those of you who have the unnatural patience for wordwalls...I recognized the title immediately and became a leap happier in that moment. Of what little I remember of William and Sly, I do know I enjoyed it. While this game did not meet my initial expectations based on those weak memories, it greatly surpassed them in unexpected ways.

Having said that, throughout the game, I was pleased to find details that preceded intuition, a quality in games I strongly admire but seldom find. Some examples: noticing platforms set high aloft Sly's jumping peak, I thought, "I'm sure there's some sort of ability to get up there." That set a potential goal for me, so I was constantly on the lookout for something that hinted towards that ability. When I discovered the first of your adorable interpretation of pixies, I suspected them for their habit of hopping about Sly, even in mid-air.

I wondered what reward awaited from unearthing the Ohnem runes, and upon completing that, I thought, "Oh, yeah! I think these were in the first game." Needless to say, I found their return a terrific convenience, especially when discovering an Ahmni a minutes' trek across the map. Coincidentally, around my first dozen mushrooms, I wondered, "It would be nice if there might be some sort of item or ability that shows me where things are." I expected this device to reveal secrets via icons on the map, but I was rewarded rather with something that didn't ruin the theme of exploration that serves so obviously as the foundation for this game. I became all the more delighted that for those maybe seeking a greater challenge, this option was just that--optional! Perhaps that could have made for another achievement? That is, discovering all the items without the Ahmni Sight.
I recall vaguely my experience with William and Sly in what seems like some odd years ago, yet in playing this sequel, I found myself thinking, "You know, I seem to remember there were some sort of monsters in the original game." I can honestly admit that I began dreading their potential appearance, and I am happy they did not return after all, because I think they may have drastically affected the fluency of exploration in this game.
Now, my initial reaction to the updated art direction was, "Whoa! What happened here?" I suppose that was a neutral thought to start, but as the visuals unfolded while I progressed, I fell in love with the parallax. I can only say that you have nearly fulfilled a dream I have long sought after, and in fact thought I would witness only once I attempted it myself. "Nearly" only in that the parallax succeeded in filling a bit of the visual void left by the inanimate environment. I would imagine the air in those mountains is stagnant, but for signs I discovered that suggested otherwise. Incidentally, the ambience expressed the environment well--I especially appreciated the hootings of owls, which are my favorite kind of aerial predator, and the gentle music complemented the calm mood. Yet, subtle sounds with accompanying visuals could have been a subtle way to hint at the location of an Ahmni while aiding in the variety of progressing the mountain, such as a babbling brook for the water Ahmni, a cracking fire or bubbling magma for the fire Ahmni, etc.

The journal was an excellent motivator, since it expanded the depth of the setting while sharing a story. It seemed to join every element in the game together and connect me to it, too. After years of searching, I have finally experienced something I can describe as enchanting. I only wish I had more room to type.

Oh, and thank you.


People find this review helpful!
Kajenx responds:

This was a fun read. :3 Your language is so full of whimsical turn-of-phrase. I felt like I was reading a speech meant for a Dramatis personæ divulging his most efficacious terms of endearment. Thank you for enchanting me with your enchantment. ;)


TailsTurrosakiTailsTurrosaki

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Alas...

It took me hours, but I finished the game. I beat all the shrines, got all the mushrooms and obtained every journal page. This was a lot of fun to play.

The animation is beautiful, the coding is nearly perfect (except for the little lag with the saving and the lag when you get fire), the 3-D fits and it's not forced or anything, the backgrounds are amazing and set you in the mood, and the story is sweet and fantastical.

It's somewhat long, cute, and a great sequel that wasn't necessary, but definitely fitting, and those're one of the best kinds of sequels. This was an upgrade of it all, not a downgrade.

Gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. I expect more.


People find this review helpful!

gamerkittygamerkitty

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

amazing

I loved the last one too. I was very excited to see you made another. It is soothing and fun to play i finnished, found everything and loved the story line. i love the added creatures. Very well done. But i have to say i liked the grafics on the fox from the last game a lot more, he was more natural.



blackcentaurblackcentaur

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

awesome

i have no clue how to beat this game. i found like 7 journal pieces and i got 2 pixies and i got 4 elements but idk how to place them on the towers. i just ran around for a while. never did finish the first game. awesome game though


Kajenx responds:

I have some walkthrough maps on my blog in case you come back. :)


WaterflameWaterflame

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2011

:D !

Wow, amazing! i love it, youre getting better really fast : D this is fantastic, im speachless. next step now is console games man :D and i see you can do 3d aswell now, thats great!! loved the first, but this is perfect. i dont really have any constructive criticim. how are you doing these days anyways? im sorry im not on msn, i dont really use it anymore. but pm me or something and ill send you my skype. keep up the great work man :D


People find this review helpful!
Kajenx responds:

Psh, skype! Everyone always wants to talk with their voices for some reason! :P

I'm glad you like it tho, hehe. I remember you saying you wished the last one was more colorful, so I was betting you'd like my rococo styled graphical upgrade. :3