Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2011 | 5:47 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 28, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place December 28, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Firefox 5 Points Flame away...
Ohnemous 10 Points Open the runes.
Studious 10 Points Find 5 jounal pages.
Disillusioned 25 Points Find 50 mushrooms.
Happy Thoughts 25 Points Learn to fly!
Dazed and Confused 50 Points Find all the mushrooms.
The End 50 Points Complete the game.

Author Comments

It feels good to be finally submitting this. I hope you all have fun! Merry Xmas. :3

***

The game should save automatically, but opening the map will do a manual write to the HD. This might cause a moment of lag on some computers. So, DON'T PANIC! lol

If you want to make sure your game saves, open the map before you quit. It should be fine even if you don't, but a tester had an issue so I threw a flush statement in as a failsafe. :3

Reviews


TheBlueFoxTheBlueFox

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Yay! Sequel!

I wasn't expecting a sequel to William and Sly but it's still awesome to see. :D



VolairVolair

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Good but...

So I kinda liked it, but I wasn't blown away like everyone else. Could be I'm growing out of video games, as several have lost their luster. That and I've played a LOT, so "there's nothing new under the sun" so to speak.

Since you've gotten a LOT of comments pointing out the good, I'll just give some (hopefully) constructive criticism (or, really, just my thoughts while playing). Being a long time video gamer, I hope they are helpful and not discouraging. Of course, I'm probably one of few who felt this way, so my thoughts probably don't hold much weight.

Graphics:
The graphics were good, not my style, but definitely good.

Story:
So I saw William sun bathing threw me off from the start... just didn't really fit the feel of the game. In the first one he was much more helpful and it was neat to see the interaction between him and Sly. In this one you really only need to talk to him twice, once to start, once to finish. He's basically chillin' and doesn't really care about what's going on. He'd like journal back, sure, but doesn't seem to care that much. I don't really care that I'm searching for the journal other than to read it. ie For me I felt a lack of real desire to search for the journal. But if you wanted the focus to be on self motivated exploration, then that's what it was.

Power-Ups:
With the power-ups, I felt like I had 70% of everything before I got them, and they were only helpful to get that last 30% which just felt like more searching, and (to me) were not that fun. I find I enjoy the progressive addition of power-ups (ie double jump, then flying), rather than "BAM you can practically fly!" The game was not long enough to warrant progressive power ups, but that's my preference.

Exploration:
I was a bit disappointed with the exploration. I really liked the many invisible pathways in the first, verses the several hidden rooms of items in this one. Seemed to flow much faster and make finding paths enjoyable when you got to pass threw a part of the terrain. I was also thinking the map looked big, but with lots of "white" space (ie black ground and empty sky). I was hoping there would be a whole underground section of the map or something.

Mushrooms... Other than collection them for newgrounds points (which is also just silly), I didn't really feel like there was any reason to collect them, other than they were just sort of there. Again, adds to the exploration thing, but I didn't have any real desire to collect them, other than force of habbit. About as useful as 1up mushrooms in Mario 64, lol.

Music:
No complaints. Love music and how it adds to a game. and The creation of this music fits perfectly to your game.

The Summation:
This game is neat to be able to explore explore a little region, the goals are simple but enjoyable. The graphics and music and animation are very good and create a serine atmosphere. As a wanna-be game designer, this is an impressive piece of art and work. The fact that you did all the graphics, animations, story, coding and music is a feat in itself. Some things are certainly lacking for my tastes, but you can't please everyone, and you did a wonderful job appealing to the majority of newgrounds, which is also a feat in itself! Hope this was helpful, but if it not, ignore it and continue doing what you're doing!


People find this review helpful!
Kajenx responds:

Haha, pretty much everything you laid out gameplay-wise was a problem from the first one that carried over simply because I didn't want to change the gameplay style. It's basically a sandbox easter egg hunt of a game, and there really isn't a lot of action. The mushrooms will change the ending slightly, but that's their only real purpose aside from supporting the story a bit.

Honestly, I would have liked to make a more traditional platformer with enemies, but I think I'm going to start a new series for that. It's like the saying goes, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, and the first one was very popular. This was just adding to the formula a bit.


matheuzz1674NGmatheuzz1674NG

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Beautiful

I played the first one long,long time ago.Was the best gaming experience here,and now a sequel!You got all the 10!


People find this review helpful!

Kaskodil2Kaskodil2

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

The only one!

The only game I have given 10 Stars yet.
This game works fine without any violence. Even better than the first one, which wasn't quite as good as this one on my mind. The graphics are really nice, it's addicting (I searched for over 1 hour to have every mushroom and journal) und simply one of the best flash games I have ever played.
So simple but still nearly perfect.


People find this review helpful!

packers848848packers848848

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Excellent game!

The only problem is searching for those last few items, I had to run around the entire map to look for one last key. Then it turns out the chest for that key was on the exact opposite side of the map from it so I had to spend the next few minutes getting to the chest then getting back to William to complete the game. Sure with the sight you can complete the game with collecting everything as I did. But maybe if there is a third game made, could there possibly be a dash option? it would certainly speed things up a bit. Other than that awesome game and I really enjoyed it :D


People find this review helpful!
Kajenx responds:

Did you ever figure out the runestones? They will teleport you!