Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 21, 2011 | 1:59 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature December 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Directed by/background art: Greg Bartlett (ZEEDOX)
Character Animator: Josiah Brooks (JAZZA)

"Chasing Comets in my Garage" song by REASONER

I started a year and a half ago on Comet when Reasoner was looking for a music video to be created for a song from his album. Being a huge fan of his work, I was excited to help out. It ended up more ambitious than I imagined and eventualy I teamed up with Jazza. I'm hugely thankful to him for making this project possible at the quality I was aiming for.

Merry Christmas!

Reviews


II2noneII2none

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 29, 2011

Animation and music in (almost) perfect harmony

Concept:Author express his christmas spirit through this eye candy of an animation.

Aesthetic: One of the strongest point of this flash the environments were nothing short of beautiful, excellent uses of shading, color depth, Tints, and well drawn objects made them look organic. The music sounds like it was a scrapped level theme for a HALO game. perfectly matching the intensity of its melodies simultaneously with the visual beautiful imagery and action taking place on screen.

I was only bothered by how weird the kid look. I have to agree with some other criticisms that his facial expressions didn't feel unnatural.

Story: Pretty much a fantasied interpretation on how awesome his new toy will be.Taking it seriously and addressing the" plotholes" as if a dream sequence is suppose to make complete sense would make me feel like a jackass.

Animation:

While overall it was well done, the kids lack of expression bothers me. Includin whatever facial expression he conveys just looks unnatural and creepy. He hardly appears healthy as his walking posture makes him seem as though he's sickly. The eyes are buggy and to me kind of sticks out to far from his face. In the beginning he kinda looked like a zombie that was reanimated while on a sugar high.

Outside of our awkward looking protagonist there was another issue I caught almost hidden underneath the flashes beauty. The wheels on the bicycles weren't drawn in for some scenes, but with all the effort put into this flash I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that mistake just went unnoticed.

OVERALL: An good animation that succeeds in delivering christmas joy. While the protagonist feels unnatural the excellent choreography of visual imagery, animation, and music would leave many young children ecstatic with Christmas Eve goosebumps.


People find this review helpful!

lenkobiscuitlenkobiscuit

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 22, 2011

visually its pretty much perfect

first off, wow, those backgrounds were fucking beautiful, especially the christmas lights that came to life; it's not often you get flash animations that have so much detail put into the lighting aspect

i've got to nitpick a few things though. i don't think the flash should have turned out to be the kid's fantasy/dream. something that's annoyed me recently about a lot of cartoons is that the cartoonish and fantastic aspects of them turn out to be a hallucination, a dream, or a drug trip. it's not only an easy 'cop out' ending, but it sort of takes away from the fact that it's a cartoon in the first place. personally i think the story would have been stronger if you based it around the city with the boy encountering the neon lights, rather than taking it to the outer space setting. a few things seemed shoe-horned in as well, like the alien for example - i think he was just there so the cartoon could have a tangible antagonist.

aside from that, everything else was great (especially the shots/framing), the sequences fit well with the music etc etc etc, i just wish more of the cartoon was like the first minute or so instead of a space adventure


People find this review helpful!

fentlynnfentlynn

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 22, 2011

alright

Begining: Auuggghhh this better not be one of those fucking "emotional" flash movies, if it is im giving it a tops 7...

Middle:okay, Why does the kid walk like a deathclaw from fallout? What kind of... seemingly.... 10 year old boy goes and rides his bike out in the street? I'm guessing he's dreaming but rlly? and where's freddy Khuger?XD, Alrite wtf? an alien.....with a cape? give him some damn clothes!

End: Okay, is it just me? or does the astronauts arms look flimsy for some reason? Those asteroids look like they're made of metal, i think i even see some glare on them! Music, music , music, tsk tsk, it sounds pretty fresh at begining, but gets boring, at least has something that keeps a beat with whats happening in the flash, arts decent at least, i giv you 8, pretty ok light decal too.



LloYdFaZeLloYdFaZe

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2011

Good animation!

Good animation, but i didnt like the whole concept. Sorry.



ZucadragonZucadragon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 28, 2011

Pretty entertaining.

The music was really great, though with the animation, I felt a bit bugged that some animation (like those stars flurrying or shooting or whatever about) was really really smooth and I loved it, but the animation of the boy, though spot on at times also seemed a bit choppy.
The part where he flies away with the ship and it turns downward is a good example of this. All in all, a good flash though :)


People find this review helpful!