Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 21, 2011 | 1:59 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature December 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Directed by/background art: Greg Bartlett (ZEEDOX)
Character Animator: Josiah Brooks (JAZZA)

"Chasing Comets in my Garage" song by REASONER

I started a year and a half ago on Comet when Reasoner was looking for a music video to be created for a song from his album. Being a huge fan of his work, I was excited to help out. It ended up more ambitious than I imagined and eventualy I teamed up with Jazza. I'm hugely thankful to him for making this project possible at the quality I was aiming for.

Merry Christmas!

Reviews


sciguy007sciguy007

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2012

Not bad

Animation was good, it's not my favorite style, but it was smooth and consistent. The actual action was good, I had no problem watching it all the way through without losing interest, though I think it could have fit with the flow of the music a little better. Especially when you are doing a music video. Most of the time it was okay, but sometimes the action picked up, but the music just stayed low.
All in all, very good, and I suppose all kids see Christmas like this, a big magical thing. I know I did.



VidGameDudeVidGameDude

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2011

...

the vastness of creative human thought, a wonder beyond all, which drives creation and furthers the experience of our artistic existential understanding. The rights and wrongs of art are pure perspective, but as we perceive, we collaborate those point of views as a whole rather than separate to a degree of collective dreaming.

whether or not we realize it, we all think art, we all make art, we all are art.

the will of the artist is symbolized through this piece as well as others.
this is what art is, to JUST CREATE.

but as an artist, i like to critique as well, the thing i found a bit out of place was the antagonist of space, how did he get off earth and on the moon so quickly? and why would he need the bike if he already had the station? i know it added on to the silent plot but felt a little anticlimactic that it turned out h had transportation all along, or the fact he just wanted to lure him for some odd reason.

fantastic overall.



DirolTerminatorDirolTerminator

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2011

Have few misses.

The short is great.
The backgrounds is brilliant. But there was something in character animation - that just don't go 100% well with such detailed-drawn background.
In static the characters looks impressive and good, but there was something in their motions.
That doesn't look like "sneaky-moving", it's too choppy, then that child walks like a cripple. And the alien is just jerky-slow-walking, like the crippled child. You really should work on walking animation, man. Maybe it's because you timed the sneak-step wrong, it should be slow weight transition to the leg, and then fast step, and you've shown the slow step - and fast weight transition.
Is that child suffered scoliosis? It looks so - his back twisted like he don't have any of the spine at all.
Now for the astronaut - his shoulders are unproportional to his body - they're too small.
And the final, what's gives the strongest weird feeling - it's perspective faults, the characters just don't overlap well with the background - you've should put more of work there.


People find this review helpful!

CongoJackCongoJack

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2011

wow

I like that newground is such a big site that it can advertise on blimps



jjrock7Hjjrock7H

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2011

O_O

wow awesome it was a great vid make more