Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 24, 2011 | 1:33 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 25, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place November 30, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Contrast 5 Points Fiddle with the settings
Exhaust LW 5 Points Use all of main Character's attacks
Juggle Clown 5 Points Get a 10 hit Combo
This is too easy 5 Points Complete Normal Mode
exhaust VL 10 Points Use all Vandier's attacks
Juggle Blade 10 Points Get a 20 hit Combo
Pit of Doom 10 Points Force 5 enemies to fall to death
Slaughter 10 Points Kill all eneimies
Special Expert 10 Points Keep Full Speical for 30 seconds
This is more like it 10 Points Complete Hard Mode
Destiny 25 Points Die to the hands of Vandheer Lorde
Orb Hunter 25 Points Collect 100 orbs
Pit of Death 25 Points Force 10 enemies to fall to death
Special Master 25 Points Keep Full Speical for 60 seconds
Juggle King 50 Points Get a 50 hit Combo
Rebel Scum 50 Points Die to the hands of the Lone Warrior
Speed Demon 50 Points Complete Culmination in 8 minutes
God of this world 100 Points Collect all Awards
Juggle God 100 Points Get a 60 hit Combo
Undefeated 100 Points Complete Culmination without dying

Author Comments

11/27/2011 - Thank you Tom Fulp for the front page!!!
I suggest that players should vs the Final Boss on hard mode (this is the REAL boss battle).

Provoked by his King into a fit of rage; the fallen Hero of the Earth, now at his lowest point. Driven by the desire to culminate, he embarks on his last journey to fulfill his destiny as he perceives it. You (the player) must guide him to his destiny.

Storm your way through 15 levels and lay waste to countless different enemies. Complete with multiple difficulties and packed with 20 achievements, Culmination is a wildly chaotic action / platform game focused on delivering a unique and grand experience.

Players with little time can get a full taste of Culmination thanks to the unique 'automatic leveling system'.

Players looking for deep experiences will find Culmination to have a well though combat system, rich with complex mechanics.

Reviews


theaterhobotheaterhobo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 4, 2011

Just two things

This game was great just like your other ones.

But one, it would be nice to make it a little more obvious that you're playing AS Vandeer Lorde(?) in the boss battle. My first round I ran straight off the edge because I thought I was supposed to be chasing him.

2) Vandeer Lode is very easy to spam with using just the "A" move alone. His "S" seems like a cheat.

Aside from this, as always with the previous titles I really loved the art and the music. It all inspires me. And however cheap the moves seem, the new combat system is pretty great.


People find this review helpful!

anthonyctanthonyct

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 4, 2011

Front Page

Totally deserved! ;) Such a neat game, the mechanics are better than you'd expect from most any game. Really impressed Dan, awesome job.



PhobotechPhobotech

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 3, 2011

Fantastic!

I was blown away by the art. The shadowy style of everything translated beautifully through this flash game. With each swipe of the sword drawing patterns through our foes and enemies turned the combat mechanics into art as our hero wades through the stream of demons. With a balance of anime themes and dark shading, nothing was overblown visually.

Though the dialogue was anime cheese, such is it's destiny.

The clouds between pillars of stones gave us the illusion of height. The shadows of the caves disrupted by beams of light blended with the atmosphere. The gears and machinery throughout even gave it a dash of steampunk. I absolutely love this game's style.

I even love our character's fighting style...and I kept finding myself waiting for the enemy to get up, like a patient samurai badass would. While the double swipe "S" specials worked well when surrounded. it excelled when used in patterns as your chaining combos off of our Firebat friends. The mighty "D" swipe proved to dispatch those Zerg Lurkers efficiently in succession...in fact, in hard mode, there's a moment where we have to kill two Zerg Lurkers who are right next to each other, constantly streaming a volley of underground spines.

Landing in between the two closest spines, one could jump up and do a downward "D" swipe over and over again until dead...My health was low after fighting the variable army moments before it, so I felt this cheap loophole was justified (But to YOU, the Author, I'm informing you of this in case you decide to make this harder in sequels)

Really, though, our hero is amazing. Combining the powerful "D" or the complex "S" specials in the middle of a combo wreaks impressive havoc on any number of enemies we'll encounter. But by far the most stimulating gameplay was the boss himself, Vandheer Lorde.

It took me off guard when I realized in easy mode we were controlling the boss instead of the samurai rebel...but this is actually, pardon my french, FUCKING. BRILLIANT.

Why? Not only does this give us an empowering and satisfying finale to the difficulty we're playing on (because we know for a fact the Rebel Samurai is no pushover), but it's literally a guide of knowing exactly what Vandheer is capable of...well, at least a rough IDEA of what he's capable of; I had no clue that his flurry of teleports that ended with a pose was an attack and not just evasive maneuvers...I only found out in hard mode that the pose he strikes at the very end from teleporting all over the place sends our guy SOARING through the sky. What a clever bastard.

But in all actuality, it's also brilliant because the whole game looks and sounds awesome, the gameplay is fun and stylistic, and after seeing first hand the ending that happens when the bad guy wins, it IMMEDIATELY makes us want to play hard mode in search for an alternate ending.

This is where I would have deducted a point in the score of my review, if only this game just wasn't so damn pleasing: there doesn't seem to be an alternate ending for beating it on hard mode. I don't know is this is a glitch or what, but after the eighth or ninth time fighting Vandheer, I finally beat him. I had a SLIVER of health, but I managed to get him all the way down, and received the exact same ending as it was an easy. So there's nothing we do can prevent the bad guy from winning? Granted, our hero goes out honorably with a good death, but...BUT....

...I cannot express how much I want a continuation of this.

Even if you take a page from other NG greats in the game-making community, there needs to be a huge version of this for Xbox Arcade or Playstation Network. People would buy the HELL out of this...especially if there were:
-More enemies than just our basic grunt, firebat, and Zerg thing
-More bosses
-More of journey
-More capabilities as time progressed.

The art, the environment, style, sound, the gameplay, the CHALLENGE...IT'S SO Refreshing. Definitely one of the Top 50 Best Flash Games I've played on NG in a long time. Though I beat it in one sitting, it was a wild, wild ride. Thank you. Fived and Faved!


People find this review helpful!

EscherzEscherz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 3, 2011

Great Battling System!

The story lacked, a lot, and I feel like every game got better in the story as it progressed, and the battle system, didn't necessarily get worse, but was insurmountable to the story.
This game, however, was the exact opposite. It's battle system sky rocketed on the charts, considering how, average, it was before. Whereas the story just seemed sort of typical. You were definitely correct in saying this was a game for those who enjoy the fight, as apposed to the reason for the fight.
The art was great, as always, but due to the lack of story line there isn;t much artwork, rather than background and gameplay.

Battle System 10/10
Surprised me, it was great, you get a ten. :)

Story 7/10
The story felt like it was just there to fill in the gap between slashing down enemies.

Art 8/10
Great, but not like the others.

Overall 8.3/10 (+1)
Due to my love for your line of 'Armed with Wings' flash games, you get an extra point, which would make that 9.3/10, rounding to 9/10. ;D


People find this review helpful!

dantepopdantepop

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 3, 2011

O.O

This what i call a beautiful creation .
U have a future in video game prodution.