Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 23, 2011 | 6:14 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 24, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place November 30, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

It's Over 9000!!!! 5 Points Deal at least 9000 damage in a single attack.
Planet Marcury 5 Points Free the planet Marcury from the Euphony gods.
Planet Sars 5 Points Free the planet Sars from the Euphony gods
Rated E for Everything 5 Points Visit our sponsor by clicking on one of the in-game links.
OVERCHARGED!!! 10 Points Reach a max overcharge combo.
Planet Jupitupe 10 Points Free the planet Jupitupe from the Euphony gods.
Planet Narpdarp 10 Points Free the planet Narpdarp from the Euphony gods.
Planet Satamalat 10 Points Free the planet Satamalat from the Euphony gods.
Disco Fever! 25 Points Unlock the Audyssey Jukebox
Maximum Power 25 Points Reach the maximum level.
Planet Penos 25 Points Free the planet Penos from the Euphony gods.
Planet Plutoo 25 Points Free the planet Plutoo from the Euphony gods.
Save your Home Planet 25 Points Free your home planet, Qweezleqwozzle, from the Euphony gods.
The Malky Way 25 Points Free the Malky Way from the Euphony gods.
Yellow Brick Road 25 Points Achieve 12 gold runs (beating a stage with no lives lost).
Protecting Qweezleqwozzle from the Scum of the Universe 50 Points Beat every stage in the game (including credits).
Crown of the Euphony Gods 100 Points Get a gold run on every single stage in the game (including credits).
My First Quantum Sidekick Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Secret Synthesizer Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

A call to all our fans! Our latest game has been announced!

Our newest game is called Rogue Legacy, a procedurally-generated Castlevania with an in-depth heritage system. super proud of it, but right now we need your help to get it on Steam.

If enjoyed the games made in the past, it would mean the world to us if you could visit the page below, and give us a vote on Greenlight.

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=136969358

-------------------------
--

Your galaxy has been invaded by melodic celestial bodies, and you've been tasked to save it. Bullet Audyssey is a rhythm-based shoot 'em up where you must "Survive the Beat." Absorb enemy bullets and fire it back at them, slow down time, upgrade your ship and level up.

We wanted to try something new using music as a template for the game mechanics. Many thanks to the incredible musicians on NG, where we got more than 85% of our music.

We hope you guys enjoy it!

Quick Controls Explanation:
- WASD, arrow keys, or numpad to move.
- Z, comma (for WASD) or SPACEBAR to shoot.
- X, period (for WASD) or SHIFT to slow time down.

Many apologies for the long loading time (it's a music game after all). Make sure to try out the tutorial while you wait!

Reviews


entropiCCyclesentropiCCycles

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 23, 2011

Definitely a tough game

This was a good game to play, though I think that the difficulty ratings for a few of these levels are a bit too low (particularly for levels 6 and 7, because I haven't been able to pass those as of yet). Heck, even 5 was difficult for me before I managed to work out a good pattern for the parts with both the slower small and faster large shots (the rhythm of the music did help there, though). And this doesn't seem to be an issue resulting from not using the slow-down mechanic very wisely, considering that you aren't given much of a window to shoot otherwise. Even considering that the hit-boxes for each bullet is smaller than their sprites (I think), these levels seem a bit harder than 1.5 or 2 stars when you first unlock them (unless the maximum difficulty is 2 stars).
And, yes, I realize that bullet hell games are supposed to be hard. I'm not complaining about that. It's just that the difficulty rankings seem a bit off.
Otherwise, this is a very nice game idea, combining music and bullet hell games, an idea I hope to see more of in the future. I will definitely keep trying to pass levels 6 and 7 (and beyond), and will hopefully continue to enjoy this game years later.
Well Done!



NoobMirNoobMir

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 24, 2012

I like it
Remembers me to Bullet Heaven, the one made by Matt Roznak



TWBTWB

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 23, 2011

the musical component

is great here!
it is very much part of the gameplay!
smooth imagery too
i'm just playing both ships with wasd and mouse
:)



PraisedAuraPraisedAura

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 2, 2011

Well done! However...

This is a great game by all means. The soundtrack choices by the maker is great, the pace is quick, and the difficulty is fair for those new to Bullet Hells and to those fairly experienced as well. I must say though, the soundtrack is slightly limited in my opinion, and that there should be a limitation on the use of the Slow-Down feature. It seems slightly broken...One can easily overuse it in the later levels to virtually keep low FPS and easily keep perfect scores. I really think it shouldn't be able to charge while using it. Otherwise, this game is just incredibly well done. I applaud you for keeping me occupied for quite a few hours.


People find this review helpful!

GelsamelXVGelsamelXV

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 6, 2011

Good game but...

This is a good game but there a few serious problems that let the game down.

The first problem:
Too much False Difficulty... that isn't to say this game is difficult (it's not) but that what difficulty it does have comes from poor game design and not challenging levels.

The vast majority of the difficulty in this game is:
Not having a clear sense of your ship's hitbox. I saw a single version of the ship with a white dot in the middle but it seemed clear that that wasn't the true hitbox. Without an obvious true hitbox you're flying in the dark and it makes the game a lot more difficult, but not in a good way... in a frustrating and unfun way.

The other half of the difficulty in this game is:
Not having a clear sense of the bullet hitboxes, ESPECIALLY the laser ones. The hardest map on this game was the one where lasers were spammed at you. The rest of them were extremely easy.

The second problem:
It's too easy. For anyone who ever plays Shmups this game is a joke IN SPITE of the false difficulty from the hitbox issues. I beat this game without using time slow at all.

Why the game is easy:

1) Your ship has multiple HP.
The ship shouldn't have multiple HP, the fact that it did allowed me to beat the game without ever using time slow because mistakes didn't matter. If I did use time warp the game would not have been challenging at all. However, due to the false difficulty from the hitbox issues HP is pretty much required for non-shmup players else they'd kill themselves in frustration. The solution is simple, fix the hitbox issues THEN remove HP.

2) Time slow lasts too long.
Time slow isn't a bad 'save your ass' mechanic for shmups, but in this the time slow is just way too long, upgraded or not.

3) Your ship gets upgraded permenantly.
There is essentially no detriment to dying, especially because you can retry stages (more on that later). So upgrades just make the game easier and easier. The upgrade choices are also completely meaningless, since there is ultimately no sacrifice in what you get (you can't choose to prefer attacking over defense, you just end up getting everything). Not only that but it mucks up the difficulty progression (more on that later too).

4) Retrying Levels with any sort of 'save your ass' (time slow), lives, or hit point mechanic makes any shmup easy. You have all three.
It's not just you, SO many people who make Shmup games on Newgrounds miss that the difficulty from shmups is their ability to wage a war of attrition against your resources. By splitting up the stages and letting you retry them over and over you remove any true difficulty created by having to get through all X stages with Y lives/bombs/etc. There are no such concerns in this game.

5) Giving me even more upgrades for the last boss... an encounter of which is only as difficult as the most difficult boss it turns into, all of which were bosses I've already defeated... Did I mention the false difficulty created by the boss randomly switching between forms and having a hitbox on its body (you can never know which it'll turn into and thus it could literally spawn on top of you) yet?

The Third Problem:
The difficulty progression is completely mucked up, partially because of the hitbox issues (laser spam stage is false difficult, rest are easy) and partially because of the upgrades (the harder levels don't get hard enough quick enough. Upgrades make the later levels easier than the starting levels).

The Fourth problem:
Not enough variety. You have two bullet types, round bullets of various sizes and lasers of various sizes. The final boss was terribly designed and just lazy on your part. The music, while good, was ultimately just repeated stage after stage. The choices presented in game were meaningless, make them meaningful or scrap the choices all together. Randomly adding stuff a game doesn't make it better, it needs a reason.

That being said... The game is ultimately pretty fun (when you're not being frustrated by false difficulty). Good music, good graphics, groovy concept. Except for the above problems: Good game.