Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


GrimriderGrimrider

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

Truly Surreal

I really like what you did here. The best type of mind-f**k games are the ones that present a story that you can just barely understand the outline of, while still keeping the player in the dark, keeping them guessing, maintaining the atmosphere of confusion and mystery.

I was completely absorbed by the ambience here... the sense of despair, of decay. I really felt it while playing. Well done.

The only reason I mark off a point is because the controls were a little "slippery", and during some of the more difficult platforming sections, I was constantly jumping, re-jumping, and trying to settle the character down to avoid him sliding off the edge. If those controls could be tightened up, this would be a perfect game.


People find this review helpful!

TimothyWTimothyW

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2013

What The Fuck?!



bnamdarbnamdar

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 5, 2011

What is this about ?

Well i am puzzled by the story of game but i felt like playing the messiah or something ( since there are many cross figures and god-like characters ) Yet you have succesfully paralyzed my mind :D Could anyone tell me about the main story line ? I dont get about killing girl and crying, killing god/woman at end, The point where monks and women with knives die ( i think this point might me a start of a new era from a religious to civic one ) what is the heart about ? Do Jesus pay the price of the errors of god ?Or is all about something else ?



RedSyndicateRedSyndicate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Excellent Game

I read these other reviews, and a lot of them make sense, but I do not see how much of it detracts from the game's value. I personally did not see this as an "art game" until it was pointed out as such, even though it does have a lot of Lovecraft-esque poetry and creepy themes to it. The controls I never did see ingame, although they were not hard to find out. Arrow keys are the first thing you go to once WASD fails, right?

The story line reminded me a lot of Greek mythology, with the rape of Persephone. Not exactly the same story, but both involving gods having to descend upon hell to rescue a woman. This game seems to rely heavily on implications, rather than simply coming out and telling the player exactly what is happening, so an exact story cannot quite be derived from the game without paying supreme attention to the poetry scrawled upon the walls at various points, most of which is cryptic until linked up with later verses.

All in all, it had superb and easy to master controls and gameplay, and a fairly fitting seasonal horror theme right on time for Halloween. Cryptic and poetic enough to be considered artistic, yet not so abstract that it cannot be pinned down and understood. All in all, I greatly enjoyed playing this. Well done.


People find this review helpful!

ApatheriaApatheria

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

Excellent abstract game.

This is by far the most abstract gaming experience I've ever had. From the esoteric plot to the bizarre atmospherics, it didn't feel like any other game I've played: NG or otherwise. Ambient background sound was fantastic, especially the sudden shifts from one eerie background track to another. The floating text was an especially nice touch, especially with the morbid poetry. "I shall wear your pain like the finest shawl and dance before you in it" gave me the chills something fierce.

The game is somewhat mired by frustrating gameplay. I feel it might've been better as an adventure game; or, what if only the bosses had been actual fights? It would give the player more time to be absorbed into the game's atmosphere without the frustrating gameplay. But gameplay is a relatively minor nitpick since clearly that was not was this game aimed for.

A bizarre game for the ages. Excellent work on creating a palpably atmospheric, creepy game.


People find this review helpful!