Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


pierrecuriepierrecurie

Rated 1 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

possible attempt at art, but... no

It had a nice atmosphere, but is quite lacking in gameplay.

Movement was obvious, but was it ever explained that the down button activates a shield? Was it ever mentioned that the shield can reflect projectiles to kill the thrower? Was it mentioned that the shield doesn't protect against melee?

Can you make a more annoying spawning sound? ***, man.

As for story... the description makes a vague attempt at a 3 sentence synopsis, but the game doesn't hint at this, other than an intro that resembles Evangelion. The random statements in game also do not obviously relate.

On the level where you can (must?) squish that spirit/girl, I jumped over the tree thing at the end of the level. Since there was a cliff there, I thought it was an easter egg/alternate end. Well, I jumped off... and nothing happened. No level select means I'm completely screwed.



RadCarrotRadCarrot

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

Not as good as it wants to be.

It's definitely atmospheric; I love the old-style feel to it, very reminiscent to some late 80s/early 90s horror games. The graphics fit in fine, too.

My only issue is with the gameplay. Unfortunately, as this is a flash game, gameplay is everything. You can't get away with not warning us about the sudden appearance of enemies, especially if they look exactly like the sprites we've been wandering past before; I died twice before even realising what had actually hit me that first time. After that, it became a simple jump and avoid puzzle/platformer. It really could have had more, but it seemed to involved in trying to unsettle and scare, rather than actually focus on being a good game. If you make another platformer, you also need to make the main character a lot more responsive, otherwise it's just hellishly frustrating - play a couple of old-school Mario games and compare them to the movement of your character here.

Still, all the bits are there for a good game, and you certainly seem to know how to create a creepy atmosphere.


People find this review helpful!

skyhot004skyhot004

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

bored

it look like it fit in third person and zoom in instrest cuz u can see thing that u gonna walk but if this game in first person it will be really scary? :P (maybe)



EammyEammy

Rated 1 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

This game is bad

I will clearly list why:

The level design is not challenging, meaning it is boring. Most of the time is spent walking across dull terrain. Is that fun? No.

There is no attack. You only have a shield that can be used to deflect bullets. Most of the time is spent avoiding enemies. And the enemies are sparse and extremely stupid anyway. That is not challenging. Is this fun? It isn't.

I can respawn an infinite number of times. I can just "trial and error" my way through the game because I don't care if I die. This means there is no challenge.

The graphics are all jagged looking and low res. It does not look nice. The graphics is ugly.

The sound effects and music are terrible. It is all just noise and it is very low quality.

In all aspects this game is very low quality. This is why it is bad.



ApatheriaApatheria

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

Excellent abstract game.

This is by far the most abstract gaming experience I've ever had. From the esoteric plot to the bizarre atmospherics, it didn't feel like any other game I've played: NG or otherwise. Ambient background sound was fantastic, especially the sudden shifts from one eerie background track to another. The floating text was an especially nice touch, especially with the morbid poetry. "I shall wear your pain like the finest shawl and dance before you in it" gave me the chills something fierce.

The game is somewhat mired by frustrating gameplay. I feel it might've been better as an adventure game; or, what if only the bosses had been actual fights? It would give the player more time to be absorbed into the game's atmosphere without the frustrating gameplay. But gameplay is a relatively minor nitpick since clearly that was not was this game aimed for.

A bizarre game for the ages. Excellent work on creating a palpably atmospheric, creepy game.


People find this review helpful!