Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

Freaky game!

This is pretty much the perfect Halloween game to play because it's so scary! It's kind of like "Eraserhead" in that it's scary how it makes no sense at all. The only thing I found annoying was the noise you made when you respawned. It was cool how your dead bodies were kept around! It's also cool how you can not only block attacks, but also deflect them to kill the enemy. I wish I had some idea what this thing was supposed to be.

Judging from the cutscene, I wasn't even sure if it was a game. The author's comments will clear it up for me as much as anything, I guess. I really love the nice colors and graphics used. It's hard to tell how to advance, because I really don't where I'm going! Congradulations on making the most surrealist Halloween game I've ever played!



discojohndiscojohn

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

FUCK YEAH!

You rule, I thank you for your hard work, and would love to keep in close contact with you! <3

Never give up on your dreams, for you have a great purpose in life, and I believe that you change many lives with your power.

You are a divine spirit, and do heavenly things.

Never let others stand in the way of your dreams.

Give yourself a well deserved round of applause, you have done a wonderful job.

I love you, please be strong on your journey! <3

You fuckin' rule, yo!!!

Zoller

>:}



SuckassloserSuckassloser

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

As an art game - great

But art and gameplay seem always seem to be to some extent mutually exclusive. Not to say it was awful - overall I enjoyed playing - but I think the jumping could've been tweaked a little so the transition from being airborne to walking was a bit smoother, and other such tiny probs could've brought the gameplay up a few levels.
The aesthetic of the game itself is what did it for me - and I admittingly did find it haunting - but not understanding wtf was going on probably helped! The dark palette was effective (I've never seen such a dark pixel game) and disjointed ambient 'music' work to some effect.
I actually often principly dislike art games; which often overlook gameplay completely; but the designethic worked well enough to support the good-but-not-great gameplay.



TheCosmicFool1337TheCosmicFool1337

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

art is art

well to start off, I'm going to say I played the game fully, not half way, or pick it up then drop it, no I played it fully. I am also going to tell you that I am a fan of art games, and I know its Halloween, so of course the theme will be haunted or scary of some sort.

now then onto the review, to be honest this game has atmosphere, but that's about it, It has a much of a disturbing and creepy atmosphere you would if you were to watch an an experimental film, or reading very scary literature such as things called "creepy pastas," however art wise, there isn't much to it, I understand most of this is fantasy or symbolism, but i can't see it, nor can i get it, its like telling someone to draw a "scrakyloid ekynios"(made that up by the way) you're only going to interpret it by what you can see or get, so what I got from this is that some alien is here to save a goddess, from a god that went wrong. but it doesn't make much more else sense than that, form an art perspective its like painting a really bad Picasso, with a meaning of a story you made up. in short If you have something unfamiliar with us, make sure you express that clearly.

Graphics wise, it wasn't so bad, I love pixel games, and pixel art, some of the background could use some more work though, as well as some of the props, so no real complaints there.

NOW THEN, the gameplay is very bad, now its one thing to make a game that has artistic qualities, and make it so that way there is a story behind it, but the thing is, when there's no comprehendable story, the gameplay is severely noticeable. the physics engine was okay, but jumping is very sticky, and narrow, I found my self trying to jump in a narrow path onto a fan thing (red halo thing that boots you up) and often finding that I missed it, and had to go again, walking is okay, but very slow, I found jumping to be a more faster way to get around, normally this would be a problem, however since you wanted to incorprate enemies and such, it makes for horrible controls.

the level design seems roughly uninspired, as do puzzles and enemy placement, it would seem that with the type of enemies in the game you could at least have accomdated for them as well, such as a jump shoot, or a shield jump.

Sound wise, again, is terrible, and yet at the same time is alright for this type of atmoshpere, with out it, it wouldn't have made the same atmoshpere that the game was supposed to go for. for this type I would say that it was okay and meh at its best, it would have been nice to include some creepy and melancholic piano pieces or such sort. even some expiremental violins would be still keeping the atmosphere.

Overall, its OKAY, its certainly not the best game where there has been a very creepy and disturbing atmosphere, but this one was handled where you need it to. it just needs small and minor improvements, done to mostly game mechanics and story writing, other than that it did give me a very creepy and disturbed atmosphere, however only to the point where it got annoying.

5/10


People find this review helpful!

actionotakuactionotaku

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

7.5 really

It had some flaws, but overall i thought it was pretty nice. I felt the character went to slow and was lagging. Overall I thought a lot of the visuals were nice but some individual sprites looked weird (like the main character, he looked liked a weird fucked up marshmellow man). Thought the level designs were pretty good. The story was vague but interesting. Thought some of the backgrounds were nice, and honestly the front page picture of the game is what attracted me to it and i think tis a really amazing picture. Not bad. Dont fret about the ppl giving 1 and 0s, hell at least you actually developed you flash skills. hope to see whatever u do next!
p.s.>what is the ending song? i like it a lot, in fact im still listening to it in the game right now!