Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


TACLushTACLush

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

Brilliant!

Awesome creepy feel to it, and the thing that got me was at the start where you fall down that gap and suddenly something screames out at you, that literally scared the beJEEZUS outta me. (Plus, it was pitch black other than the light of my screen, and it was like 2am, no other sounds). Very nice. 10/10 5/5.



chaosmaskerchaosmasker

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

i like the style

problem is there is another game just like it only better and that's all our friends are dead which is a faster paced game with harder to kill enemies (which there are a lot more of) and great artwork Gyossait has a great abandoned dark feel to it and it keeps you interested and i think the game was executed well and the simplicity of it works but down to the writing on the wall, the background, friendly characters, and even the lava it's just to much like all our friends are dead.



KikoshouKikoshou

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

Sound and fury, signifying nothing.

Extremely average platformer as far as gameplay is concerned. Get key, hit switch, move left.

Sadly this is also the reason the tone and tension of the game also fail. In a game where you can see everything beyond you, and where enemies kill themselves there is no reason to be afraid. There was no reason as a player to be careful or cautious as I felt as empowered a character as Mario.

As for the "artistic" validity of this game, let me honest with you. It was as beautiful a game as your graphics would let you be. The "deity" you descend from at the beginning and the face that looks over you when you first descend looked great. Music did a good job trying really hard to get the mood right, and worked more often then it didn't.

That being said, for all the words that were splattered on the screen, the game said nothing to me. The images and words felt like the tired checkboxes of goth art one by one. Black and red colour palette: check. Gnarled trees: check. Grave like imagery and eyes in places where eyes shouldn't be: check.

Even at the end I got no reason why I was there or why I did what I did. What was the thing that tried to see beyond my mask? Why was I wearing a mask? Why were some people attacking me while others didn't? Why is the final creature a naked woman with a laser cannon on her arm in a dark fantasy setting?

If this did have a message, all I got was, "Love is dark and painful and hurts you and losing your love makes you dark and twisted and speak in empty half sentences that say nothing but sound meaningful because they hint at really broad concepts like loss and hate".


People find this review helpful!

biteaterbiteater

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

People shouldn't hate so much on art games

I found this game to be a well spent hour or so of my time. The atmosphere and tension builds extremely well. The writing that is intermittent throughout the game is actually well done: i believe it very well aids to the experience without shattering any fourth walls. All in all, job well done. Controls could be better, and some areas are unnecessarily punishing to the player, but I think that this can be overlooked. Sound design is fantastic. Its very fitting for the visuals...minimalist but effective. The game doesn't slap you in the face with atmosphere, it invites you into it. I was particularly taken aback during the portion about 3/4 of the way through in which the player is launched into the sky and the large triangle amidst a red background becomes visible as the character emerges from the darkness. Well done, and quite an epic set piece. Clearly, other reviewers haven't learned from games like S.T.A.L.K.E.R. or Penumbra. This is certainly the most absorbed I've gotten in any 8-bit side scroller.



crow342crow342

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

Haha

Great game to waste precious time LOL