Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


SarisoftheOmegaSarisoftheOmega

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

it was ok

it was ok but it was long and you only get two forms of defense. sheild or gun. there was a boss in the middle but i didnt really see much of a point to it. i liked the concept and the art though. but im still not sure what the message was...


People find this review helpful!

Dekar-ServerbotDekar-Serverbot

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Masterpiece!

I love games like this, i've played esrthbound, world of goo, manhunt 2, portal and so on and i just love how deep mindfucking are they, this is not a exception. Unlike Silent Hill this game is not filled with freud's nightmares but actually really thrilling stuff (no penis headed boys or sexy girls trying to rape me)



RedSyndicateRedSyndicate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Excellent Game

I read these other reviews, and a lot of them make sense, but I do not see how much of it detracts from the game's value. I personally did not see this as an "art game" until it was pointed out as such, even though it does have a lot of Lovecraft-esque poetry and creepy themes to it. The controls I never did see ingame, although they were not hard to find out. Arrow keys are the first thing you go to once WASD fails, right?

The story line reminded me a lot of Greek mythology, with the rape of Persephone. Not exactly the same story, but both involving gods having to descend upon hell to rescue a woman. This game seems to rely heavily on implications, rather than simply coming out and telling the player exactly what is happening, so an exact story cannot quite be derived from the game without paying supreme attention to the poetry scrawled upon the walls at various points, most of which is cryptic until linked up with later verses.

All in all, it had superb and easy to master controls and gameplay, and a fairly fitting seasonal horror theme right on time for Halloween. Cryptic and poetic enough to be considered artistic, yet not so abstract that it cannot be pinned down and understood. All in all, I greatly enjoyed playing this. Well done.


People find this review helpful!

FishScratchFeverFishScratchFever

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Hm. Well...

I think you really ought to have made this an animation instead. Art as a game, in my opinion, should gain some bit meaning by being a game. Perhaps I'm just a dullard, but I don't get how a few basic platforming exercises convey anything about the story you presented.
Perhaps because of that mismatch in format I didn't get any sense of emotion at all, though I think I was supposed to. No sense grief, longing, urgency, entropy, regret, decay, apathy, sorrow, love, or hatred. I get the cues, they just didn't convey the feeling.
Aesthetically, you did well. The music matched the scenery nicely, and the visuals were quite good for pixel graphics.

Overall I think you should try again, and ether make the interactivity of the game mean more, or just make it strictly an animation.



DazedFallingDazedFalling

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Great game

Great game with minimalist graphics, creepy sounds, don't forget to turn your sound DOWN when you're finished with it though, and for people complaining about the controls, just be observant enough to notice them in the background :)