Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 30, 2011 | 11:23 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Level 1 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 1
Level 10 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 10
Level 2 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 2
Level 3 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 3
Level 4 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 4
Level 5 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 5
Level 6 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 6
Level 7 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 7
Level 8 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 8
Level 9 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 9
Level 11 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 11
Level 12 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 12
Level 13 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 13
Level 14 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 14
Level 15 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 15
Congratulations! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Score! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Quick Like Ninja! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Melee Man is a collaboration between myself and David vs Goliath. We built this game in under a week! The game is rendered at 160x144 (Gameboy Color resolution) and features addictively brutal gameplay elements and 2 beastly boss rooms.

Melee Man features the retro stylings of Daniel Davis. Daniel is making waves in the USA chiptune scene with his blend of timeless melodies and mathematical rhythms... using only an original GameBoy as his instrument!

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys to Move
W, Up Arrow, C or J to Jump
S, Down Arrow, Z or K to Shoot
R to Retry
M to Mute

UPDATES

10/31/2011 - I moved some levels around and fixed a few major complaints that people had. Really great feedback, guys! Keep it coming. :)

10/31/2011 (2) - Fixed a bug wherein the boss on level 15 had more health than intended. He should now die after the 8th hit. Thanks as always for your continued support and feedback. :)

11/13/2011 - Fixed a bug where levels would not load for certain users. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, everyone! Let me know if any of you still have problems.

Reviews


ArkchipelleArkchipelle

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 9, 2011

Same problem.

Go to click lvl 1 and a different music starts playing, thats as far as I made it.

Is this just a really hard game or did the game fail?



CrazyJTx7xCrazyJTx7x

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 9, 2011

I would like to play

Even with three different browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Explorer), I could not even select a level
:(



12ghost3412ghost34

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 8, 2011

Won't let me start

I get to the level select screen and all it does is start playing a different song when I click the first level.



DaemonDDDaemonDD

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 8, 2011

Alright...

I did a full and throughout playthrough of the whole thing, and the experience wasn't as satisfying as I had hoped for. What I found great about the game was it's retro-style graphically and gameplay-wise.
The issue I have here is with the layout of certain levels. It seems to me that you depict a good challenge as something that you will have to overcome even if it's not apparent that a certain obstacle will be in the way or not. There were countless of times, when I get leaded by some gems into a bottomless pit, or some spikes, and not being able to see that coming is rather disappointing, since you're basically being baited into the whole thing. There were a lot of moments that required ONE certain strategy in order for you to succeed, and that strategy would usually require you to be on this one position and then head off in a certain pattern. Here, I'm talking about the level with the canonballs that you have to climb upwards in order to get a key. I wouldn't mind it as much, if you didn't also include spike balls, which really didn't make it a tougher challenge for me, as every single canonball could damage me anyway. It only forced me to wait until the right moment, and that was kind of tedious.
The other issue I have is the boss. He is humorous and funny, but the problem with him is that when you fight him in his later stages, it can become frustrating to dodge him, as his teleportation is random and isn't dependent on anything but the screen's position. This is a huge problem, because he can always teleport right in front of you when you're jumping to another platform, and you will then plummet down into a bottomless pit, and you will have to start over again. Don't even get me started on the final challenge boss. It wasn't exactly a good idea to put two of him into the same room, especially as you had a good chance of falling into a pit if you got hit by even one of them. There are challenges which are fun, difficult, and reliable, but you programmed these to be random, sometimes unavoidable, and seriously way too unreliable. I spent around an hour to get past them, and I only managed to beat them both and survive at the same time by luck, even though I managed to beat both serveral times, just to get hit by one of their canonball-barrages and then fall into a pit.

I think it's good you made it challenging, but it's honestly not good if the player is required to do an excessive amount of retries just to get past something that could well be lot's of fun to pass. It can be fixed by either fixing the terrain (not that you should do it with this game, just for future reference) and giving the player a chance of not constantly falling into holes. Or you could make the boss' teleportation pattern more predictable, something like not letting it overlap certain objects or items (and especially not the player!).


People find this review helpful!

NecroionutwizNecroionutwiz

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 8, 2011

great game :)

you put alot of work into it and the people have spoken it's a hit xD