Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 30, 2011 | 11:23 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Level 1 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 1
Level 10 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 10
Level 2 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 2
Level 3 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 3
Level 4 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 4
Level 5 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 5
Level 6 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 6
Level 7 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 7
Level 8 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 8
Level 9 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 9
Level 11 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 11
Level 12 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 12
Level 13 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 13
Level 14 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 14
Level 15 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 15
Congratulations! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Score! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Quick Like Ninja! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Melee Man is a collaboration between myself and David vs Goliath. We built this game in under a week! The game is rendered at 160x144 (Gameboy Color resolution) and features addictively brutal gameplay elements and 2 beastly boss rooms.

Melee Man features the retro stylings of Daniel Davis. Daniel is making waves in the USA chiptune scene with his blend of timeless melodies and mathematical rhythms... using only an original GameBoy as his instrument!

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys to Move
W, Up Arrow, C or J to Jump
S, Down Arrow, Z or K to Shoot
R to Retry
M to Mute

UPDATES

10/31/2011 - I moved some levels around and fixed a few major complaints that people had. Really great feedback, guys! Keep it coming. :)

10/31/2011 (2) - Fixed a bug wherein the boss on level 15 had more health than intended. He should now die after the 8th hit. Thanks as always for your continued support and feedback. :)

11/13/2011 - Fixed a bug where levels would not load for certain users. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, everyone! Let me know if any of you still have problems.

Reviews


slimekingslimeking

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 8, 2011

Could be better.

Too much decoration on some levels. Sometimes It's difficult to tell the diference between background and game.

You can get stuck in level 13 if you shot the worms instead of jumping them (I had to refresh browser).

I stopped playing at second boss, level 15: if touched you're most likely to die, and I don't really want to jump on bullets to get that hearts on top.



Blasphemer13Blasphemer13

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2011

"Epic game dood"

I can't get past round 3, but I love the animation and I'm getting down to the soundtrack like "Fuck yeah man!" XD



hachico123hachico123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 14, 2011

good game:]

fuck yeah!



The-Great-OneThe-Great-One

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 14, 2011

Starts off Fun - Gets tiring Fast

Let's start with the positives and work our way down. The artwork on your character and the enemies are cute and fun, they each have fluent movement. The sound effects were good, but it would have been nice to hear a sound for when the enemies died upon shooting at them. The music was awesome for the first level and for the next levels after it, I liked this we go through this world, we meet a hilarious Newgrounds related boss and now we go somewhere new with new music? Well I was wrong on both accounts. There was no other music besides that first song and although a damn good one to hear this one song for the majority of the game just makes it drag on and on and on. Also as far as level design goes it's fun and interesting for the most part, treasure hunter in some forest areas with temples cool, but when that's all you got then it just gets boring, not to mention some levels just start with a blind jump in which I died twice for this. The controls are nice, but the character is a bit slippery at times, but not much. The gameplay also gets boring over time, for a game called Melee Man I was kind of expected a bit more, not watered down Mega Man. All in all I'm not really knocking this game, it is fun, but I think it needs a little bit more pizzazz. If you two intend on a sequel then you could add some power-ups, like a double jump, and more fun locations to go to like perhaps caves, lakes, an ice level, shoot how about climbing up a volcano.

|| Good Points ||
*Superb Artwork
*Superb Animation
*Great Music
*Great Sound
*Superb Controls
*Good Gameplay

|| Bad Points ||
*Music - Needs More Variety
*Gameplay - Level Design Needs More Variety


People find this review helpful!

JustkeithJustkeith

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 14, 2011

Good game

good job on game however you may want to dum down the randomness on the last boss even megaman had set patterns that weren't as annoying as getting raped due to the boss never coming down. other then that nice work =)


People find this review helpful!