Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 30, 2011 | 11:23 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Level 1 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 1
Level 10 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 10
Level 2 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 2
Level 3 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 3
Level 4 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 4
Level 5 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 5
Level 6 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 6
Level 7 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 7
Level 8 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 8
Level 9 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 9
Level 11 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 11
Level 12 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 12
Level 13 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 13
Level 14 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 14
Level 15 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 15
Congratulations! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Score! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Quick Like Ninja! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Melee Man is a collaboration between myself and David vs Goliath. We built this game in under a week! The game is rendered at 160x144 (Gameboy Color resolution) and features addictively brutal gameplay elements and 2 beastly boss rooms.

Melee Man features the retro stylings of Daniel Davis. Daniel is making waves in the USA chiptune scene with his blend of timeless melodies and mathematical rhythms... using only an original GameBoy as his instrument!

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys to Move
W, Up Arrow, C or J to Jump
S, Down Arrow, Z or K to Shoot
R to Retry
M to Mute

UPDATES

10/31/2011 - I moved some levels around and fixed a few major complaints that people had. Really great feedback, guys! Keep it coming. :)

10/31/2011 (2) - Fixed a bug wherein the boss on level 15 had more health than intended. He should now die after the 8th hit. Thanks as always for your continued support and feedback. :)

11/13/2011 - Fixed a bug where levels would not load for certain users. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, everyone! Let me know if any of you still have problems.

Reviews


SarisoftheOmegaSarisoftheOmega

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

More irritateing does not equal more fun.

it was an interesting game, short no room for upgrading. first boss was irritating. it would appear right on top of you if you weren't moving. and healing in the fight was a bit rough if you weren't used to bouncing off of cannon balls -__- other wise it was ok i managed to beat the boss on my third try but that's just because Im good at retro bounce off the head of the bad guys kinda games.



anthony256anthony256

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

lol

Not bad, I love retro games, but there are some problems. In one of the last levels (sorry but I don't remember wich one), I got blocked: I am in front of the door, but there's no key, probably because I didn't kill every enemy. But I can't die, because you can walk on the pit that is at the bottom of the level, and there is no enemy to kill me! Strange part, because I found a sign with nothing written on it in the lower left corner of the stage. Is there a suicide button or something like that?


People find this review helpful!
TheVillageBlacksmith responds:

Thanks! I didn't notice the "point of no return" that had ended up in there (probably because as a developer I knew I had to grab the key first). I ended up moving the key to a more obvious location. I also added a list of controls to the game description - the button you were looking for was 'R'. Thanks for playing! :D


OghardOghard

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Needs some work

Not bad, I love retro games, but there are some problems. In one of the last levels (sorry but I don't remember wich one), I got blocked: I am in front of the door, but there's no key, probably because I didn't kill every enemy. But I can't die, because you can walk on the pit that is at the bottom of the level, and there is no enemy to kill me! Strange part, because I found a sign with nothing written on it in the lower left corner of the stage. Is there a suicide button or something like that?



henrybricehenrybrice

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Needs some work...

The lack of differentiation between fore- and background was terrible. More often than not it was a matter of guess work, causing me to redo levels multiple times for no real reason, because you have to try out every element and see if you can jump through/on it.

Other than that, the game gets ridiculously hard at the later levels. Even the first boss was ridiculously difficult, and I couldn't manage to pass lvl 13.

I have nothing against difficult games, but games that are full with ridiculously difficult randomness tend to be more frustrating than challenging...



CanjulCanjul

Rated 2 / 5 stars October 31, 2011

Bad, even by "retro" standards.

Didn't really appeal to me. The graphics were ugly, the music was too basic and grating and the controls were pretty sticky. I understand that recreating an old Gameboy Colour was the idea and you certainly accomplished that.

But the Gameboy Colour sucked. It sucked hard. It was an awful console. Perfectly serviceable in its day, but did not age well. No way in Hell.

Combine that with the pretty soulless character, setting and gameplay and you get...a generic Gameboy era platformer built in under a week with no real features to help it stand out from the crowd of other retro pixel games. This wouldn't even have flown in 1998, on the Gameboy Colour, because there were better games even then. Lord knows there are better games now.


TheVillageBlacksmith responds:

I'm sorry you feel that way. I do remember reading reports of children being brutally assaulted by Gameboy Colors right around the time they were most popular. I can only assume that this happened to you and I feel that you are very strong, brave and tolerant to be able to try out a game honoring them. I admire your courage.