Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 30, 2011 | 11:23 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Level 1 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 1
Level 10 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 10
Level 2 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 2
Level 3 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 3
Level 4 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 4
Level 5 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 5
Level 6 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 6
Level 7 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 7
Level 8 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 8
Level 9 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 9
Level 11 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 11
Level 12 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 12
Level 13 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 13
Level 14 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 14
Level 15 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 15
Congratulations! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Score! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Quick Like Ninja! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Melee Man is a collaboration between myself and David vs Goliath. We built this game in under a week! The game is rendered at 160x144 (Gameboy Color resolution) and features addictively brutal gameplay elements and 2 beastly boss rooms.

Melee Man features the retro stylings of Daniel Davis. Daniel is making waves in the USA chiptune scene with his blend of timeless melodies and mathematical rhythms... using only an original GameBoy as his instrument!

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys to Move
W, Up Arrow, C or J to Jump
S, Down Arrow, Z or K to Shoot
R to Retry
M to Mute

UPDATES

10/31/2011 - I moved some levels around and fixed a few major complaints that people had. Really great feedback, guys! Keep it coming. :)

10/31/2011 (2) - Fixed a bug wherein the boss on level 15 had more health than intended. He should now die after the 8th hit. Thanks as always for your continued support and feedback. :)

11/13/2011 - Fixed a bug where levels would not load for certain users. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, everyone! Let me know if any of you still have problems.

Reviews


Tomfire777Tomfire777

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 16, 2012

Great Games Gold Cool XD!!!!



DJGameFreakTheIguanaDJGameFreakTheIguana

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 25, 2012

Man this is great. It's got old school platforming Run'n Gun all-around action gameplay with nice chip music to go with it.

x)


People find this review helpful!

ExorzExorz

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 11, 2012

Warning: This review may be a spoiler to many of the reviews/fans.

I think i know what the ideal of this game really is. That you had put many Characters and Memes known from NewGrounds itself like the Angry Faic or the Badger, while representing the same. But i also unintentionally had this feeling that this game has this NES/SNES or GBA Type of Game charm, unlike most Pixel games we see.

The graphics, as well as the animation, are both astounding and marvelous. The music also adds up to that nostalgic feeling as well too. I must admit this is one of the best games i`ve EVER played in my life, although there is one tiny flaw to it. The difficulty of this game has no moderations. Its either too easy or too hard at times, like for example Stage 12. Almost impossible to get through.

But other than that, i love this game, and thank you sir, thank you for bringing back such wonderful memories. This game feels like a Crossover between Bomberman, Mario and Megaman. (And kirby because of the style of atmosphere too).

Keep up the good work, this fully deserves all the praises it can get.
Shadowwalker15.


People find this review helpful!

BAD-177BAD-177

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 8, 2012

Great game

But I passed all the 15 stages and the bonus levels too less C5 (i can't kill those faces, it's hard) and i didn't get any medals :C
I don't know if it is a bug or something



proudjrzianproudjrzian

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2011

pretty good

i liked the old style gameplay.


People find this review helpful!