Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 30, 2011 | 11:23 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Level 1 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 1
Level 10 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 10
Level 2 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 2
Level 3 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 3
Level 4 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 4
Level 5 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 5
Level 6 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 6
Level 7 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 7
Level 8 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 8
Level 9 Complete! 5 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 9
Level 11 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 11
Level 12 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 12
Level 13 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 13
Level 14 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 14
Level 15 Complete! 10 Points Reach the door at the end of Level 15
Congratulations! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Score! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Quick Like Ninja! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Melee Man is a collaboration between myself and David vs Goliath. We built this game in under a week! The game is rendered at 160x144 (Gameboy Color resolution) and features addictively brutal gameplay elements and 2 beastly boss rooms.

Melee Man features the retro stylings of Daniel Davis. Daniel is making waves in the USA chiptune scene with his blend of timeless melodies and mathematical rhythms... using only an original GameBoy as his instrument!

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys to Move
W, Up Arrow, C or J to Jump
S, Down Arrow, Z or K to Shoot
R to Retry
M to Mute

UPDATES

10/31/2011 - I moved some levels around and fixed a few major complaints that people had. Really great feedback, guys! Keep it coming. :)

10/31/2011 (2) - Fixed a bug wherein the boss on level 15 had more health than intended. He should now die after the 8th hit. Thanks as always for your continued support and feedback. :)

11/13/2011 - Fixed a bug where levels would not load for certain users. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, everyone! Let me know if any of you still have problems.

Reviews


yoshimaster32195yoshimaster32195

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

Glitch

When I click on the first level to start, different music plays but the game just remains on the level select screen and the clouds stop moving in the background. I'll give an actual review once I can actually play the game.


People find this review helpful!

DamonandSkyDamonandSky

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

Fun and well balanced difficulty

A huge difference between retro games and new games is how the general playstyle goes and of course what level of thinking you need. New games are very linear and to the point, where you have to obtain this for this or do this for that, but in retro games it isn't just "kill this" or "get that".

The objective in classics is to gain as many points as possible. In retro games you have to manipulate the physics of the game in order to obtain certain points, such as using enemy heads to get you somewhere or just general manipulation of the character. These games aren't really objective based, they are more collection based and they are a good way to show off to your friends.

Example:
"Bitch, I just killed like 20 people in a row on Call of Duty."
"Pfft, whatever; I got maxed out 99x lives on Super Mario and I don't even remember my score. And I killed enormous hordes of goombas, collecting thousands of coins, and stabilizing mushroom kingdom's economy...and guess what? I'm a plumber! I don't need your pussy noob tube or your silly landmines."

Overall the gameplay was very fun and you did introduce a great and wonderful amount of coin opportunities that one may miss. And you also had the classic "You got stuck, haha!" scenario. Great game, and I like the Badgers reference. My only issue is that when you land on enemy heads you have to be pressing the up button, otherwise you fall right through them.

5/5, 10/10.

~Damon


People find this review helpful!

SakarjaSakarja

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

this really brings back memories. good show mate!

its honestly true ins ome cases that now considered ' OLD SCHOOL' games are better than some games out today. and it's funny when i see kids look at games we grown up with and yell out " new school beats old school!' and so.. the moral of the story is you gotta bitchslap those kids n put em in their place.. great game mate!



MrNinjaKittenMrNinjaKitten

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

Awesome game!

I had a lot of fun with this game. I didn't think it was too short or too difficult. I especially liked the fact how the bonus levels had you think outside the box to get all the way to the end and made you question whether or not a spike pit lay in wait at the bottom of that jump. Level 15 was also difficult, but that's just because I suck and have a tendency to second guess my jumps and turn right into a death pit. There was even an instance where I killed the boss and went to get the key and fell to my death. Talk about a bad day. Amazing game and deserving of a 10. Great Job and Keep up the amazing work!


People find this review helpful!

KlemundKlemund

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

I loved it

The only flaw I could find with this game is that it was too short, and the only reason I thought that was because I was having so much fun playing it. Good game play, I like the graphics(maybe because I was and still am fond of the good old 8-bit games), and I LOVE the music. This game makes me want to pull out the old nintendo and crack out on some megaman.


People find this review helpful!