Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2011 | 7:50 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

From Homestuck, on my webcomic, mspaintadventures.com.

Obviously makes more sense if you are caught up on the whole story, but hope you enjoy anyway!

edit: Thanks to those who've watched it and left comments. The small file size is just the loader, the rest of the movie is about 50 MB, hosted elsewhere on NG. Tom is graciously helping me host this file for my site, and since it's already on here, I thought it would be cool to drop it in the portal.

If you're watching this and already read Homestuck, thanks for following. If you're new to it, hope you like it and will consider checking out the story. There are many animations of this sort, making much more sense in context.

Reviews


furiousangelXDfuriousangelXD

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 29, 2011

Amazed

You completly amazed me, it´s amazing.



TysonQ7TysonQ7

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2012

Obligatory "Best Thing Ever!", Mr. Hussie.


People find this review helpful!

TrafalgarTrafalgar

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2011

Alright,

I watched this video having never heard of Homestuck or any of the artists involved in it's production. I would liken the experience to getting my head stuffed in a bag full of pretty lights in a drug induced haze, before being beaten half to death with a croquet mallet. I had not a fucking clue what was going on, and it kind of made my head hurt. But regardless, I liked it.

So I went to check out Homestuck.

Fast forward about four days of spending literally every free minute reading the aforementioned "webcomic". I've just now watched the video for the second time. Now, I know what's going on.
I can still appreciate the technicalities of the work: the consistent (and appropriate) animation and art styles; the music itself and it's seamless integration into the flash as a whole; character and world designs; etc, etc. But now I can also appreciate the underlying story behind the thing. The bag has been replaced with what I now understand to be a fenestrated panel through which I can see another point in space/time; the mallet has been removed completely. This raises the end product above my initial, positive impressions to a level far higher. Now that it has meaning and purpose, I view it as art.

No, seriously. It is that aspect that makes this possibly one of the best flash animations I've ever seen. Technically, it plays slightly like a slideshow, yes. But anything else would detract from the style of "Homestuck" as a whole; fluid and/or extended animation would ruin this work. I find the balance to be perfect, at a contrast to some of the other commenters.
Also, without the music, it would be nothing. Give the composer of that shit a pat on the back.

If this were a review for "Homestuck" itself, I'd continue here. I'd really like to, but alas, this is not the platform to do so. So before I get any more carried away, I'll just recommend - to anybody who is even vaguely interested by this animation - that you go start reading the accompanying story right now. From the very beginning. Give it a chance. You probably won't regret it.

To the author of the flash and "Homestuck" itself, I say I think you're a bloody genius and I can't wait for 11/11/11. I hope you ship merch to the UK.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

ChiqbnKriketChiqbnKriket

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 27, 2011

Best thing I've seen on NG in a loooong while

I've been here for... well fkn ever. The music was awesome, the video was sweet, and thaaank you for putting in pause buttons. Definitely, deserves 10/10


People find this review helpful!

DanYaoiVampireDanYaoiVampire

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2013

I LOVE IT!!! Estoy absolutamente enamorada de su creación, de todo Homestuck >w< Make her pay es muy cool, y Descend es estremecedor... pero Cascade... OMG u//u es grandioso. Five stars!! x3 no dejo de ver el video entero, escucharlo a todo volumen~


People find this review helpful!