Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 25, 2011 | 7:50 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

From Homestuck, on my webcomic, mspaintadventures.com.

Obviously makes more sense if you are caught up on the whole story, but hope you enjoy anyway!

edit: Thanks to those who've watched it and left comments. The small file size is just the loader, the rest of the movie is about 50 MB, hosted elsewhere on NG. Tom is graciously helping me host this file for my site, and since it's already on here, I thought it would be cool to drop it in the portal.

If you're watching this and already read Homestuck, thanks for following. If you're new to it, hope you like it and will consider checking out the story. There are many animations of this sort, making much more sense in context.

Reviews


NickypickleNickypickle

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

[A] Review.

I don't want to literally bore you to death, you people of the art, music, commissioners, producers, editors, writers and creators... so here are my personal grading reviews.

Flash Overall: 4/10.
Flash Movement: 2/10.
Flash Overall Color and Shading: 8/10
Flash Track Colors: 8/10
Flash Secondary Colors: 3/10
Digital Art: 10/10
Flash Art: 7/10
Flash Music: 9/10
Flash Music Composite: 6/10
Flash Music Transition: 23/100
Overall Music: 7/10
Overall Track Speed: 4/10
Overall Quality/DV Module N Graphics: 33/50
Omniscient Rounded Shading: 3/10
Layer Shifting: 8/10
Composition Setting Module: 66/100
DVI Video Directory: 45/100
Sound Module: 0/10
Sound AVI:0/10
Sound Overall: 0/10
Sound Effect(e.g., bass, stray noises, etc.): 0/10
3rd Person Features(e.g., Title Screen) : 1/10
Loading Flash Module: 2/10
Storyline: 3/10
Copyrights/Protection Scams: 0/10
Advertisements: 0/10
Ending and Beginning: 3/10

Now for my written review.

This... this is both the great combination of both disturbing and interesting idealogical expressions. I loved this so much. I loved it in enormous amounts of respect in any way possible. Everything was just.... Un-perfect. Yes. Un-perfect. This is one of the most ethical, creative and unique idea's I have ever seen in my life; regardless there were humongous amounts of fatal errors that damaged this idea, crumpled it up, and threw it in the shit pile. Literally, I'm not saying this is bad, or anything like that. But... were the programmers or editors on crack that day? Do any of you, anyone who worked to create this (obviously not created with a solo-operative editor) know how to use soft keyframes in motion? This could have ever been the most fantastic edition of Newgrounds showcase franchise and half of what it was meant to be was screwed up by others and simple-minded videographers. Depending on what program you or anyone used to assemble such pieces of art should be cautious in logical flash movement operations. Don't think it ends there- The title screen... after I saw it I literally said in my mind: "What the fuck.". The loading screen does not prior to anybody, considering it takes as long as a 50 year-old man to shit in a bathroom filled with bundles of newspaper from the 1960's. After the whole movie, I was so shocked, but with mixed feelings. Was this good, or bad? Creative, or selflessly slapped into a video compromise? There was no credits at ALL, which was very disappointing. I waited about 5 minutes for it to come, then I realized that there was none, and there was no ending scene. Just a window of sight broken into the depths of hell, embossed in the creation of the sun and moon, time and space, fire and torture. The music was slightly okay, although the transition could use a bit of work, seeing that there is about 4 seconds in between the scenes where there is no sound at all. Which brings me to another situation: sound. THERE IS NO SOUND! WHO IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD SET UP SOMETHING LIKE THIS AND ADD ABSOLUTELY NO SOUND? I may be very childish to use caps at a time like this, but this is just inconceivable madness. No weaponry sounds, no planetary explosions, no Onomatopoeia, no anything. Maybe thats just how this flash is, but thats your loss of anything, by far of what I care at all. The art of mediocre, really. The pixelation was downgrading, but it was a nice touch. Graphics, even at high, can't become awesome as they are today.

So I am telling you right now, just now... that all of you have unique momentary mental sights. But these elements are essential in order to succeed at a much higher rate in fast flash. Artwork doesn't grow on trees, I tell you that. This was a very nice try, and a very anime-like scene; I like that. But you all must add more and use more fortification. Use more physics. And you all will become great as I call myself a great review performance writer. Thank you, and good night.

(P.S. On the loading screen, (which took inevitably long) it said: 'Upgrading Aluminum towels'. LOL.)

4/10, 3/5

~Nickypickle



ChimeraschewtoyChimeraschewtoy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2011

One of two things...

Either a profoundly deep story of love hate and revenge, OR some one smoked a bad joint, possibly both.



TrafalgarTrafalgar

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2011

Alright,

I watched this video having never heard of Homestuck or any of the artists involved in it's production. I would liken the experience to getting my head stuffed in a bag full of pretty lights in a drug induced haze, before being beaten half to death with a croquet mallet. I had not a fucking clue what was going on, and it kind of made my head hurt. But regardless, I liked it.

So I went to check out Homestuck.

Fast forward about four days of spending literally every free minute reading the aforementioned "webcomic". I've just now watched the video for the second time. Now, I know what's going on.
I can still appreciate the technicalities of the work: the consistent (and appropriate) animation and art styles; the music itself and it's seamless integration into the flash as a whole; character and world designs; etc, etc. But now I can also appreciate the underlying story behind the thing. The bag has been replaced with what I now understand to be a fenestrated panel through which I can see another point in space/time; the mallet has been removed completely. This raises the end product above my initial, positive impressions to a level far higher. Now that it has meaning and purpose, I view it as art.

No, seriously. It is that aspect that makes this possibly one of the best flash animations I've ever seen. Technically, it plays slightly like a slideshow, yes. But anything else would detract from the style of "Homestuck" as a whole; fluid and/or extended animation would ruin this work. I find the balance to be perfect, at a contrast to some of the other commenters.
Also, without the music, it would be nothing. Give the composer of that shit a pat on the back.

If this were a review for "Homestuck" itself, I'd continue here. I'd really like to, but alas, this is not the platform to do so. So before I get any more carried away, I'll just recommend - to anybody who is even vaguely interested by this animation - that you go start reading the accompanying story right now. From the very beginning. Give it a chance. You probably won't regret it.

To the author of the flash and "Homestuck" itself, I say I think you're a bloody genius and I can't wait for 11/11/11. I hope you ship merch to the UK.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

Nester64Nester64

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 2, 2011

Just finished a three-day archive crawl

I saw your problem sleuth a while ago, but I started in the middle and didn't really catch on.

Now, Im up to date with your homestuck, and you have sucked three days out of my life. all of the days. there's shit to get done, and i'm here puzzling through temporal shenanigans.

Lousy stupid Goddam masterpiece.

waiting for 11/11/11! oh, and your hero hoodies!


People find this review helpful!

wastecontainerwastecontainer

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 1, 2011

It's amazing but

I'm a MSPA reader from a long ass time ago, and this flash, well, it's amazing, but not perfect. Besides the shitty and inconsistent anime drawings that are all over the video, all that tweening that could easily belong to a low budget Canadian cartoon bothered me. Especially during the nearly 3 minutes of seeing Jade moving planets and that jazz.

But hey, you can ignore that, because the rest of the video is pretty fucking cool. Seeing more action related to the kids who are the real stars of this show, and Mr. Hussie really knows how to surprise you doing the unimaginable.

You'll never know what happens next on Homestuck!