Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 20, 2011 | 3:30 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 21, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place October 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Buy the shirt! http://sharkrobot.com/asd fmovie
Buy the song on iTunes http://bit.ly/TrAiNs or Amazon http://amzn.to/TRainS

Do you like trains?

LYRICS!!

I LIKE TRAINS

Hey! Have you heard of the I Like Trains kid?
He's pretty cool, but I think there's something wrong with him
I don't know if he's cursed, or if it's something with his brain
But the only thing he ever says is:

I LIKE TRAINS

From birth the I Like Trains kid never spoke a word
Not even to his parents, not a single sounds was heard
But on the first day of school the teacher asked his name
All he did was smile as he said:

I LIKE TRAINS

They put him on some Ritalin to see if that would help
The doctor found the perfect dose and asked him how he felt
He stared at the doctor with that same creepy smile
And the I Like Trains kid said:

"I feel great!"

He got a fancy job and he straightened out his life
He met a nice girl who he asked to be his wife
As they stood at the altar, and prepared to say their vows
He put a ring on her finger, and he said:

I LIKE TRAINS

Got bad grades? I like trains!
Awkward date? I like trains!
Don't like trains? ...

I LIKE TRAINS (double chorus)

Reviews


prinilen10prinilen10

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 14, 2011

I like trains too!

haha nice song.....and the animation is awesome!!! liked it.....



butsbutsbutsbutsbutsbutsbutsbutsbutsbuts

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 23, 2011

i like pancakes

in a way I hope you make a lot of money from this, in another I don't



Kernle32DLLKernle32DLL

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

Ritalin?!

Honestly, the song deserves a 10/10 rating, it's funny, creepy, and plain silly :P

And why do I only give it a 8/10 then? Because I feel seriously offended by the careless usage of ritalin in the flash. Really!

I like trains!



lisha108lisha108

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 3, 2013

everyone do the flop!
<3



Neophyte-RoninNeophyte-Ronin

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2011

They Wrote a Song about THIS Guy?

This requires an epilepsy warning, big time.

After seeing so many virulent "Robot Chicken" ripoffs on Newgrounds, including the ASDFmovies, it's nice to know that at least one memorable character spawned from it.

This is a Music Video, a rather nonsensical tale about a kid who's only phrase summons a train that obliterates whatever is annoying him. The music is by Todd Bryanton, an electronic ska rock number you can almost hear on Top 40 Radio. The video is a standard "story-of-his-life" epic with black and white characters of such revolting simplicity and plainness as to question the authors' artistic capabilities.

One of the main problems that this sort of video has is its reliance on people who know the origins of the joke. I had only seen the ASS=DUFF MOVIE THREE (or was it four?) where a guy goes "Die Potato" and the Potato's like "NO!" and then this kid shows up and says, "I Like Trains." Yeah, and then the train shows up. It's random, absurd, and doesn't stand on its own (it's good after several other pointless skits, since they build up over time). I don't get the appeal, unless it's just a recurring gag that a few people might notice--out of those who actually go out of their way to watch another edition of ASS-DUFF. In other words, it has very limited appeal.

The second problem with this gig is the sudden inclusion of rainbows. Is this a Nyan Cat revival or a music video with actual class? Neither, apparently. The rainbows' colors don't bother to twirl or rotate smoothly; the color panels themselves blink into each color in a consistent pattern. What this does is mess with the eyes of people with neurological disorders. The lack of a seizure warning in the Author Comments is the quickest, easiest method of preventing a public outcry over health and safety, although other submissions that wish to use a similar rainbow effect ought to just create a circle with slices of color, and then motion tween the thing to rotate. Not all instances of rainbows were damning of course, and the introduction of color adds a whimsical contrast to the standard, if abrasive black-and-white affair of most ASS-DUFF cartoons.

What the video does get right is the catchy song by Todd Bryanton and the superb smoothness of the train animations by Josh Palmer. It's infectious and silly pop with an appropriate video to match. It's also a compact file size, less than 3 MB, almost unheard of for most music videos these days, and the sound quality is slick to match. These three did a superb job at creating a tribute to a ridiculous gag and making something memorable. However, for the music to stand on its own without video accompaniment, sound cues detailing what HAPPENS whenever he says, "I Like Trains" (fast-moving freight trains slamming into people, of course) is almost required for outsiders to get the joke. Finally, put some distance between the end of the music video and the beginning of the brief advertisement; it's almost as if they bleed together as one, and that makes the concept of the music video--a promotional film describing the song and its content as something of a sales pitch--rather redundant.

Good job overall, but there are a few kinks that keep this from being a perfect production.