Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 19, 2011 | 10:07 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 20, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Default Of The Dead 5 Points Discover 5 neutral reactions.
Expiration Date Reached 5 Points Terminate 5 specimens.
That's No Gimmick 5 Points Use 1 appropriate item.
I Make Things Happen 10 Points Do a total of 50 actions.
Animal Cruelty 25 Points Kill 10 animals with your research.
Bad Behavior 25 Points Discover 5 aggressive reactions.
Bloated Equals Happy 25 Points Feed 20 pounds of food to your specimen.
Getting To Know You 25 Points Fully research 1 specimen.
I Know What You Like 25 Points Use 1 preferred item.
Know How To Use It 25 Points Fully research 10 items.
Taking It Easy 25 Points Discover 5 passive reactions.
We Must Amputate! 25 Points Cut 1 limb from your specimen.
Wigglin' Time! 25 Points Cut 4 limbs from your specimen.
A True Scientist 50 Points Research all the techniques at least once.
J-J-J-Jaw Breaker! 50 Points Find all the ways to rip the specimen's jaw off.
Labor Intensive 50 Points Do a total of 1000 actions.
Laid Back 50 Points Discover 40 passive reactions.
Master Chef 50 Points Try all the food items.
Star Pupil 50 Points Discover 5 advanced reactions.
Temper Tantrum 50 Points Discover 40 aggressive reactions.
This And That 50 Points Try all the objects.
Weapons Expert 50 Points Try all the weapons.
Bub Would Be Proud 100 Points Discover 30 advanced reactions.
Dr. Frankenstein 100 Points Reach 100% on your total completion statistic.
Methodical Deconstruction 100 Points Find all the ways to kill or incapacitate the specimen.

Author Comments

(Remove the space from the links)
iOS version: https://itunes.apple.com/
us/app/lab-dead-for-iphon e-ipod/id473614597?mt=8
Android version: https://play.google.com/s tore/apps/details?id=com.
EvilDogProductions.LabOfT heDead&hl=en

Survive the zombie apocalypse as Allen C. Tyler, a scientist trying to figure out what makes these undead creatures tick. Experiment with them, brutalize them, feed them, give them objects to play with and discover over 250 unique reactions as you explore the full spectrum of the zombie brain.

Stuck in this underground facility, you will gradually uncover the truth about the zombie outbreak as you progress in your research, discover new reactions, upgrade your research techniques, find new items to experiment with, complete achievements and find tapes and notes from the Alpha team, the previous scientific team who occupied this base.

You will have your hands full with:
- 12 zombie types to experiment with...
- Over 60 weapons, food and objects to play with...
- Over 250 reactions to discover...
- Over 40 achievements to complete...
- 1000pts worth of medals...
- And more...

Reviews


gsogso

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

Very original

This is a pretty interesting new take on the whole zombie theme. Most games just give you a shotgun and let you go wild(not that I don't like that), whereas this has a lot more depth to it. The story gradualy unravels as you go. The interactivity is also great, especially the way you make zombies look almost cute at times..... in a rotten disgusting way..... like nyan cat covered in shit, Ok, bad example. Anyway it's a great game and I really like it. I also love the fact that you keep constantly updating it.


People find this review helpful!

BigmekBigmek

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

Good work

Good game indeed.
I played it for 2h and i haven't wasted them but I have one complain about it. Animation could be smoohter and shorter a little bit.


People find this review helpful!

timblue410timblue410

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

absolutely good!!

the game was good, graphics were good, everything about it is good, no need to change anything!! do more!!


People find this review helpful!

JeanLyonJeanLyon

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

Great game though difficult

Loving this new concept by Sickdeadfiend and his pals, with his art. Next good game could be a collaboration in Rebuild 3, with some empire-building elements.

BTW: How in the heck can I fully damage an specimen? I'm at 99,8!



PrimalmoonPrimalmoon

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 22, 2011

Long, Engaging, and Empty

It took me ten hours over two sessions to play through this and get 100% completion. My first session was on an earlier version and so I had to deal with slow brain alterations. After 6 hours of playing (though not very efficiently) and seeing the annoying brain combinations required to get all of the reactions for my two newest items (I think it was the cat?) I gave up in disgust and ended my session, knowing I would spend another half hour just getting those combinations done.

I did have all of the research done by this point, so I was only being held back by getting through the rest of the story (admittedly, I often intentionally chose not to research the alpha team's stuff so that I could work on get more reactions with my current set of items rather than being distracted by any new items after the next story progression).

Two days later I came back to all of these updates (some significantly faster brain alterations, yay!). Seeing some of the fixes, I'm glad I didn't go for finishing this on my first session, since I suppose I would have been blocked by the boxing glove + jaw issue.

With the faster alterations, getting specific reactions became a chore rather than a massive undertaking, but still an annoying time sink. For most items, if you were already mood, you would need to lower your mood just to get the full spectrum of base reactions for the item, and then have to raise it back up just to get the advanced reaction... And perhaps even more annoying if hunger also needed to be manipulated back and forth. I did notice that fortunately low humanity was not a requirement often, so most of the time I just kept my humanity floating around 90-100 and I was fine.

I found the story engaging even though it was rather predictable (especially with the obviously non-chronological ordering for the notes). Hell, it was enough to get me to come back and sink another four hours into this game. But the end fell VERY FLAT. I could understand some sort of obsessively researching on and on as he slowly goes insane (or more insane), but just an "I'm done, this was dumb, I'll walk out of here eventually" was dull. Even after 100% completion there isn't anything like a cutscene of the character leaving or a true indication that the game is over besides seeing the achievement.

I did notice one bug (or I guess "feature") in that the advanced reactions that supposedly depended on the specific specimen doing things didn't care at all that my zombie was a fresh recruit from the cage. As long as the required actions had been performed by any zombie at any point in time, the advanced action could be done. I would suggest not fixing this, because doing so would only slow the game down significantly (once I discovered this bug, I abused it heavily and yet still took 10 hours to finish... ugh).

The damage achievement was a bit ambiguous on what you need to do for it. It takes 70 clicks on a single zombie to achieve (every type of bullet hole on every body part except fatal shots). May your soul rest in peace if you happen to accidentally kill the zombie for some reason, or confuse the damage achievement with the maiming achievement.


Evil-Dog responds:

Haha yeah that's a "bug" I would not fix haha
And thanks for the big review