Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2011 | 5:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Necropolis 5 Points Find and reclaim the big graveyard
Zed Slayer 5 Points Kill 100 zombies
The Bitter End 10 Points Lose the game
Victory at Last 10 Points Win the game on any difficulty
Completionist 25 Points Find all five endings (cumulative)
Mountain of Bodies 50 Points Kill 100,000 zombies (cumulative)
Impossible! 100 Points Win the game on Impossible difficulty

Author Comments

After much blood, sweat and tears, you can play this game on an iPad 2 now, with exclusive bonus content to boot. $2.99 in the iTunes App Store.

The sequel to my first game Rebuild! There are new buildings, plotlines, characters, customizable survivors with skills and equipment, new & improved art and hidden endings to find.

I took a crapload of suggestions from Newgrounds and other sites to improve on every little part of the original game. It was a lot of work, but I feel like this game is the Rebuild that was meant to be. I hope you agree!

Reviews


Setho1992Setho1992

Rated 5 / 5 stars 13 days ago

BEFORE I SAY ANYTHING ELSE, PLZ NOTE THIS BUG!!!

If you click "config" (or the egar and music note while playing) the whole screen will go black. This is probably happening because the game is trying to go full screen (no idea why, i just noticed it that way).

To fix this (and I recommend you do, or you can't manually save your game):

Click config, click around the middle of the screen until you click "fullscreen" to make your entire monitor go black (don't worry, it's temporary (and you can try alt+tab to get out if you have to)), and finally click around again so that you click "fullscreen" again, and boom, no more problems as long as you don't leave the page, and u can use the config menu, plus save your game at any time rather than depend on just the auto save slot.

I already sent a PM in hopes that the author will know about the issue, but the above works to reverse the issue. As a quick side note, the medals seem to be working to, so no need to worry about those :)

NOW FOR THE ACTUAL REVIEW!!!

I don't think I have to say it, but I will anyway: Rebuild 2 is pretty much the gold standard for strategy games where survival is the main theme. Multiple resources, various objectives, a constant threat, random events, it's got almost everything. I'd say the best part is that you can gear up survivors (only a little though) and can also train them to do ANY job! Having jack's of all trades is much better than the restricting single role survivors from the original Rebuild.

One of the big issues is that, because survivors can be so versatile, especially if you use schools properly without putting yourself at risk to make them powerful, the difficulty can be way less than in the original, to the point of this being a lot easier. The other thing is how crazy the craziest ending gets... which I'll get to lastish as a spoiler.

SOME PRO TIPS:

1. Go for farms first. If you can feed your people, they can focus on more important things like killing zombies or reclaiming city blocks.

2. The more people the merrier. In the original Rebuild, people embodied power, and that hasn't changed much in this here sequel, so recruit as many as you can feed and/or fit in your fort.

3. BE AGGRESSIVE! The less you do, the more room you give the zombies to overtake your fort, and when all else fails, **take risks**, even huge risks, *especially early in the game*. You can beat the original Rebuild on the second hardest difficulty by sending survivors on high risk jobs (25% rather than just 10%), and it stayed true for me while I was playing Rebuild 2 (on tough, but i bet you could win impossible that way with a bit of luck).

4. If you're having trouble being aggressive and staying safe at the same time, capture some police stations and malls / allmarts to fortify for permanent defense bonuses.

5. You may regret allowing the "chosen ones" cult to exist... See the spoiler for the details.

Most of the rest you can figure out just by playing through once or twice.

**AND FINALLY THE ENDINGS! (note: taking the whole city doesn't count as a win)

1. Constitution: Capture a certain number of blocks, and draft a constitution at the City Hall building after capturing it, simple as that.

2. Defeat Rival Gang: After you capture the subway tunnel, if you help someone who escapes the Last Judgement gang, the one that attacks you throughout the game (they rarely kill your people, if ever), you eventually get the option to go to war with them. Send a number of people to take them out, and you'll win not long after.

3. Invent a Cure: This one has a number of steps to it. It's science based like before, but you need to do the following:

First, you need to grab a lab. Once you do, a doctor guy with a long name will ask if he can have the lab for his own. If you want this ending, let him have the lab.

Second, the doctor will ask for one of your scientists to help him out. Again, if you want to make a cure, you'll have to let the volunteer help him out.

Finally, after a while, *which can possibly be made shorter if you research zombie anti-venom sooner rather than later (research Zombie Vitals, then Stealth to unlock the research option),* you'll get an event where the lab our crazy doctor was in has exploded. Send in some people, and you'll get his notes on the cure, and soon after get the chance to develop the cure and win the game.

4. Repair the helicopter: There's a helicopter you can find, and it has a story line too (these events are capably in a random order):

Once you capture the block where the helicopter was (and discover that it mysteriously blew up), you'll eventually get an event where your survivors want to question a survivor. I have a feeling you probably do need to let them question him, but I'm not quite sure. I guess it's your call and for you to find out if doing the other steps but not doing this one works out. Since allowing questioning kills the guy being questioned, it's probably worth trying letting him not be questioned.

At some other point, an event occurs where a survivor asks if someone should read "helicopter repairs for morons" rather than "a history of zombies." Click Yes for this one (tell them to read about helicopter repairs), and you'll be one step closer to fixing the helicopter.

There's a merchant that will offer a helicopter part, or a FAKE cure for zombieism. You'll notice this event from it's saying "we want the cure, right!?" at the end. Say "no" since the cure is fake, and that's another step to getting the helicopter victory.

There's also an event that asks if you want to use the helicopter's jet fuel to make a flame thrower. You should NOT want the flame thrower if you want the helicopter to work.

Finally, if you did all of the above, you'll be able to fix the helicopter and use it for victory.

Fifth ending below...

*******SPOILER ALERT!!! (and i partially apologize for typing in one paragraph)*******

okay, here's the 5th ending... your fort basically commits suicide from being blinded by a bad faith, and this can occur even after making the cure. i personally can't believe this is actually a "victory," but getting it does lead to a medal, so what the hell. i'll keep this to the point since this is by far my least favorite ending. seriously, why the hell doesn't at least a civil war break out at some point in the story line between the followers and non followers? anyway, the story line is: 1. someone comes up with a zombie book you can ban, but not banning grants +10 happiness. this first decision has no permanent effect. 2. another book gets written, and the writer will ask for their own church to start their religion, which you need to give if you want this "ending." 3. you can give them food so they throw parties to boost happiness a bit more. note sure if it's required, but if you have the extra food, why not? 4. the followers of the religion will want you to punish nonbelievers, which you can decide not to do. 5. this is the final, most required part: either you stamp out the cult you've allowed to get created for the sake of human survival, or you decide to let non-followers leave. 6. in the end, if you didn't end the cult, every single one of your survivors will commit suicide as they "celebrate" and refuse to work (which is starting a new job only, even though that alone can get tough) until you get down to about 3 survivors, and the cut scene rolls with the game ending right after. I consider this more of a failure kind of game over than anything else, so aside from maybe not banning the first book, I'd keep this cult of lies away from the well being of the rest of your survivors at all costs for every other play through. As a personal side note, don't willingly let nasty things kill you, its a pathetic and selfish way to go.

*******END OF SPOILER!!!*******

There's one other trick you can pull if you really want to win on impossible: NEW GAME PLUS!!!!!!!!

All you have to do is get either the helicopter or constitution ending, then you can use the helicopter/city hall respectively to send up to 5 survivors to rebuild in a new town at any difficulty. This means you can start a game on "pretty easy," train 5 people with all skills maxed out, and send them out to stomp on some undead morons on impossible! I have yet to actually try it out exactly, but by all means, feel free to experiment.

And with that, you should be able to get all of the medals. Enjoy rebuilding!


People find this review helpful!

specter1096867specter1096867

Rated 5 / 5 stars 2 weeks ago

ALMOST GOT OVERRUNED AT Day 356 with 5 blocks left


People find this review helpful!

hamzamasood99hamzamasood99

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars 2 weeks ago

Awesome game!!!



pedrovsupedrovsu

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

tried to play on impossible with a huge city rage quitted at round 93


People find this review helpful!

oOzeroOooOzeroOo

Rated 5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

Very enjoyable game! I always find myself coming back to this game when I need a quick dose of zombie goodness ^w^
For those who don't know, the creator of this game is also making a third FULL game with much more in-depth gameplay.


People find this review helpful!