Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2011 | 5:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Necropolis 5 Points Find and reclaim the big graveyard
Zed Slayer 5 Points Kill 100 zombies
The Bitter End 10 Points Lose the game
Victory at Last 10 Points Win the game on any difficulty
Completionist 25 Points Find all five endings (cumulative)
Mountain of Bodies 50 Points Kill 100,000 zombies (cumulative)
Impossible! 100 Points Win the game on Impossible difficulty

Author Comments

After much blood, sweat and tears, you can play this game on an iPad 2 now, with exclusive bonus content to boot. $2.99 in the iTunes App Store.

The sequel to my first game Rebuild! There are new buildings, plotlines, characters, customizable survivors with skills and equipment, new & improved art and hidden endings to find.

I took a crapload of suggestions from Newgrounds and other sites to improve on every little part of the original game. It was a lot of work, but I feel like this game is the Rebuild that was meant to be. I hope you agree!

Reviews


BastendorfBastendorf

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2014

I loved a lot of the improvements over the first, but the food system makes it too much harder than its predecessor. Food dictates how many people you can have at a time, as each person consumes 1 food per day, and each farm you control only gives 3 food per day. 4 food per day if you put a guy on crop tending, but that rather negates that +1 due to the crop tender consuming 1 food per day.
Food production is slow, which means building up survivors is slow, which means progress is slow. And slow progress slows the progress further when finding more farms seems to take ages.

More food means more survivors, more survivors means more soldiers and builders, more soldiers and builders means more captures and protection. At current, the game is slowly coming town to the wire, slowly building out in the hopes of getting more farms so I can feed more people, all the while sending the few soldiers I have to try, seemingly in vain, to keep zones from going red, while hoping I don't get a fatal assault or zombie hoard.

While the food system does smooth out the end-game juggernaut rampage I went on, at the end of the original, it makes the game painfully slow and grindy. I'm sure it picks up after I have more farms, but it looks like a slow spiral to a stressful overload of red zones and an inevitable complete failure as everything starts falling apart faster and faster.

Having a handful of soldiers at my disposal, right away, in the original game helped to keep red zones under a small amount of control, and helped reduce the impact of zombie hoards to a manageable (if worrisome) event. As long as I planned one move ahead, and watched those Hazardous zones, I felt like I had everything under control as long as nothing went wrong.

This is not the case, in Rebuild 2. I feel like I'm fighting an uphill battle. Not only do I have to worry about starvation and random uninvited guests meaning the difference between a sustainable food supply and "Oh my god, where's the next farm zone!?", but I also have to use my limited soldiers to battle down increasingly more uncontrolled zones while trying to capture buildings, which now takes 4 days with any builder under the level of 5, and 5 days for anyone under the builder level of 1. I'm aware that it's possible to get captures to take no time at all, but that takes a lot of time to get to, and by then, you'll be lucky to not be losing zones at the same rate you're obtaining them. I would love to use my scavengers to scavenge for food and supplies in the surrounding zones, but the problem with that is all my scavengers end up tending the crops. The only way around it is by either finding someone for the job, or wasting time trying to get to a school and train one. Finding one is far too hit-and-miss, and with each new guy, food resources slide ever closer to causing a catastrophic end, considering these people die from starvation in less than 24 hours. Training them up via grinding or schooling ends up being a waste of time and resources, in the end, because, no matter how good a scavenger they are, there always seems to be a 1 in X chance of them returning less alive than when I sent them out. And there's still happiness, of all things, to worry about.

The new level-up mechanic, and item equip mechanic end up being completely lackluster, since equipping a level 10 soldier with an RPG seems to do absolutely nothing for his odds of survival, and even sending 4 level 10 soldiers into a zone with a danger rating of 1% can still yield a death. What is this? Dungeons and Dragons? Who fails a 1% failure chance, with 3 equally skilled soldiers backing them up? Sending in more soldiers would effectively eliminate all danger, but that would mean having more soldiers at my disposal, which loops back to my "I would if I could if not for the food mechanic's glaring flaw" problem

It rapidly becomes much less of an "I'm going to see this through to the end!" situation and more of a "Why do I bother?" situation. To try speeding it up would mean risking starvation. Slow and steady would mean a tightrope walk while juggling food, defense, level grinding, and carefully planned zone attacks and captures, hopefully moving slow enough to not starve out, but fast enough to not be swamped by the relentless zone-buildups, hoards, and random gang invasions.

The original was good but too short, this sequel is akin to walking across a field of broken glass: Slow and nerve-wracking as hell. I feel far too pressured into planning each and every action, several moves in advance, like some kind of Zombie Chess. That's why I've grown to hate chess. I'm not the 'plan everything from start to finish' kind of guy.


People find this review helpful!

TingedTinged

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 28, 2014

It wont load for me, just has the background of the waiting screen



ilovewalrusesilovewalruses

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 28, 2014

Its music makes me wunna break down and cry....just...wow...listening to this litterally brought tears to my eyes. Fun game though. the music is just too much though man...



boody1000boody1000

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2014

It's awsome !!!



mackrelsmackrels

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2014

I love this game