Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2011 | 5:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Necropolis 5 Points Find and reclaim the big graveyard
Zed Slayer 5 Points Kill 100 zombies
The Bitter End 10 Points Lose the game
Victory at Last 10 Points Win the game on any difficulty
Completionist 25 Points Find all five endings (cumulative)
Mountain of Bodies 50 Points Kill 100,000 zombies (cumulative)
Impossible! 100 Points Win the game on Impossible difficulty

Author Comments

After much blood, sweat and tears, you can play this game on an iPad 2 now, with exclusive bonus content to boot. $2.99 in the iTunes App Store.

The sequel to my first game Rebuild! There are new buildings, plotlines, characters, customizable survivors with skills and equipment, new & improved art and hidden endings to find.

I took a crapload of suggestions from Newgrounds and other sites to improve on every little part of the original game. It was a lot of work, but I feel like this game is the Rebuild that was meant to be. I hope you agree!

Reviews


Connor52584Connor52584

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

GREAT GAME

5/5 10/10 brill game i love defence games


People find this review helpful!

BirdofterrorBirdofterror

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Very very nice.

Like:

-New leveling up mechanic was amazing, it added a whole new layer of strategy to an otherwise redundant endgame.
-Realistic dialogue and interactions.
-Total randomization. I loved the fact that I can start a game under the exact same specifications and still have everything be completely different.
-Immersible world. From beginning to end I can truly connect with the concept of a zombie apocalypse, and the characters involved.

Dislike:

-Expected outcomes. Now that I now consider myself a veteran to your 2 games, I can say that the things that prompt the multiple endings happening EVERY game EVERY time in the same way get very annoying when trying to play multiple rounds.
-Spastic difficulty. One game I can get a perfect starting position, 2 farms, 2 suburbs and a hospital within arm's reach, and the game will snowball from there. Other games I can spawn with 3 All-Marts and a science lab surrounding me, making getting ACTUAL resources impossible, thus killing the game before it starts.
-Random deaths. I don't really need to say anything do I? Even under the premise that I actually find and hold a hospital or 2, that doesn't help the 'zombie bites' that happen every 3 turns. I feel very pressured to research everything early lest I get screwed over by RNG.

Random pointless Gripes:

-The ending where you destroy the Judgment gang, don't get me wrong, they had it coming and then some. But... one of the main reasons was... mistreatment of... women...? I'm sorry, but in my opinion even slavery, genocide, and tyrannical dictatorship wouldn't bother me much during A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE! Mistreatment of anyone is bad, but zombies are worse. Much worse. If you replaced 'mistreatment of women' with 'crimes against humanity' that would be perfect. Otherwise, it seems like a non-issue. DURING A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE!
-Yo dawg, why are there so many FARMS in an industrialized 'city'?
-Worthless decisions. Do you want this rotor (Which does nothing) or do you want the CURE FOR ZOMBIEISM?! (Which is actually maple syrup.) WHY.
-I see your... unique... art style is back. That's... uhh... >.>

Recap:

It may seem like my negatives and gripes outweigh the positives I gave it, but trust me. I wouldn't of even known those negatives existed if the game itself wasn't addicting enough to play it over and over and find everything out about it. One of the best plays on NG's to date.


People find this review helpful!

lordtac1lordtac1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Epic

A wonderful improvement on the still awesome rebuild one. Almost every thing about it was better. However it wasn't perfect (scores first)

Gameplay - A true Turn-Based games that flows smoothly and keeps you interested 9/10

Graphics - A little weird but not horrible 7/10

Sounds - Not much else besides buttons clicking and zombie roars 5/10

Music - The single music track was great but it got old rather quickly. 5/10

Difficulty - I didn't play on the hardest difficulty but from what I did play which was "Challenging" wasn't a challenge at all, Horde attacks almost never seem to break through until near the end of the game (6/10)

Hud - Fast, Easy, Out of the way yet provides all the info you could ever need 10/10

Tutorial - Informative, wonderful, but I'm concerned that it dropped the difficulty either to far or didn't reset it after the tutorial was completed. 9/10?

beyond that here are some things that bugged me, (not actual game bugs)

1- Equipable items seem almost useless. they have such a small effect on stats that they are nearly pointless to give to anyone. I will admit however that "Some" items actually "do" have decent stats, however, most of them, I feel are garbage, those being the pistol, shotgun, binoculars, medical bag, and unfortunately even mooch the kitty who I thought was awesome until I realized she only gives you 2.0 through her spread out 0.5 all around boost.

2- The danger meter was a bit hard to read. On one had you have the danger meter on the hud, which for me seemed to always sit between 0 and 10 on challenging mode. However, if you start a "defense" mission in the police station, there is "another" Danger meter which is reminiscent of rebuild 1's defense danger scale. I would also like to add that the danger meter for the "mission" seems "much" more accurate then the one on the hud.

3- The town seemed smaller then the one I remember in rebuild one and not in a good way, I don't know if "Typical City" is "supposed" to be smaller then small city, but that's the impression I got, the game still lasted me a good 4 or 5 hours, but after the first 3 it went from "oh no i'm running outa food" to "now to capture another one... then another one... then another one"

4- The one time gustav showed up asking for one of my girls in exchange for 2 rocket launchers I had to turn him down, after that, he never made the offer again, and i don't know why. Not really a big deal, I'm just peeved that the one time I get within reaching distance of something awesome I have to give up my best builder (one of 2 at the time) to get it.

5- Equipables didn't really seem to have a point for people with 10 skill in any-one-thing. although the crow-bar did save my scavengers life, I can't help but think that event was specifically scripted to get rid of the crowbar and not to "kill off" a scavenger.

6- Speaking of killing off. Where's the death? I went through the entire game without a single person dieing (regardless of the fact that I got a hospital early on and maintained it) It seems like no mater what happened to my people they survived. I had 2 people literally get blown up by landmines and they survived (minus an eye + an ironic nickname) beyond that people were surviving zombie bights and infections all over the place. Again I'm not sure if the tutorial did this for my first play through or not but it made things... boring.

7- For some reason or another, after I started assaulting the gang, two very large chunks of my city got blown to bits. The message suggests that its the gang however it couldn't be them, because in a recent message before these explosions I have them pinned down in their own fort. Not to mention I had 15 well trained guards on duty, the entire city secured (even city hall and the large graveyard) and no previous warning of another gang or enemy other then the zombies or the gang I was fighting. To that end, I can only conclude that this is a minor bug probably after the drafting of the constitution or the cleansing of the entire city, that causes the gang to attack your town.


People find this review helpful!

MustangSteveGTMustangSteveGT

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Impressive and addictive once you get into it

This game delivers what it is supposed to. I really liked it, all the way down to the music you chose. I liked the who idea of it and it really draws you in once you really get started.
I wouldn't really say there are things wrong with it, more like areas of opportunity for improvement. I would improve the detail on the buildings a little and improve the graphics there, add yet more awesome zombie music tracks to set the tone and keep the music from getting repetitious, add more accomplishments to unlock and more character weapons/add ons to find. These are just ideas to make this great game even better.
I really liked it and liked the original ideas like the player being able to imput information into the game that affects whats displayed in the storyline.



monkeyman2006monkeyman2006

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Great game

I've been looking for a game like this to eat up my time. I've grown bored of everything I've been playing and this is really a great filler. On that note, I HATE CHURCHES! This game is a great example that once again, religion ruins everything. I lost half of my first cities population to that damn church. Tip to the new players, DO NOT let the church stay, it's so pointless.