Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2011 | 4:49 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place October 12, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

FAUX: CHAPTER 5

VOICE CREDITS

Jan - Caxx
Armand - Neo Skywalker
Lhasa - Karen Kahler

MUSIC

Kevin Macleod (incompetech.com)

Reviews


MacGugesMacGuges

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2011

Hostility inside and out

Rather than review the movie, I'd rather comment on this episode. What struck me as most interesting here was Jan's interior conversation with her "manifestation". Why would Jan be so antagonistic to somebody who is an aspect of herself? Could it be because the "manifestation" represents an invading presence in Jan's mind? Or does this hostile encounter reveal an antagonistic, self-destructive quality of her personality?



scout89scout89

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2011

Interesting...

I haven't watched the previous Faux chapters, but watched this simply because Caxx often takes part in good projects, and I'm glad to say this didn't disappoint.

First thing I'd like to say is the animation seems rather laid back, unique, and smooth. You're very skilled with shadowing effects. Second thing I'd like to add is the story seems very ambiguous and the supposed villains can be seen as either villains or protagonists, all of which is good; predictable storylines are often uninteresting. Third thing is the voice acting: as I said before, I watched this because Caxx took part in this. Overall, everyone did a good job, but I saw room for improvements. This is just me, but the VA for Armand seemed a bit too monotone, but overall not bad, and Caxx could've made a couple minor improvements in her roles as well. Karen Kahler did a fantastic job in her role as Lhasa.

Overall, I'll give this a 9 purely because I know you guys can improve on this, even if it's just a little bit. Videos like this are certainly better than certain other overrated (and I'm putting it mildly) videos that have disgraced the front page. You guys deserved the daily, and, in my opinion, should've gotten at least 2nd in the weekly. Keep at it fellas, I think I'll enjoy watching this series.


People find this review helpful!
marsoupskin responds:

Thanks for your thoughts. I appreciate your taking the time to share.


Morph94Morph94

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

Really fantastic production. I've really become a fan of Caxx's voice- she's a great actress. Lhasa's actress is fitting, too. I already know your artwork is impressive; you've shown that to me through the previous FAUX comics. The animation is well done, but I found some of the lip syncing to be a bit off.

The only complaint I have, and really the only thing that doesn't make this pop for me is Armand. The voice fits the character, but the lines all sound tinny. Almost as if he held a soup can up to his mouth and recorded with that.

It's impressive, I will give you that.


People find this review helpful!

BigdibBigdib

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2011

almost perfect

Really enjoyed this chapter. the voice overs and slick animation came as a nice surpise too. I say almost perfect because the was a bit of background noise on Armand's voice recording and as everything else was so well polished it stuck out like a sore thumb. But no doubt that would be sorted on the next episode. Also It could be a good idea to go back and redo the previous chapters in the same vein as this one, purely to tie all the chapters together. Great work. Looking forward to chapter 6


People find this review helpful!

EASTBEASTEASTBEAST

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2011

Congrats on adding voice actors

I was impressed how well animated you got with you character's details, hair moving and eyebrows, which I guess is the basic for good animation. Voices were added seemlessly to the series too, it almost feels like they were always there. The one thing missing here from your episode is the ability to make it stand out from something other than just a transitional flash. Maybe making people have no clue where you are going is something you want, but at the same time, the episodes need their own structure of rising, climax and falling action to be interesting. Right now, its kind of like the matrix broken up in 5 minute segments with a few months between their release. I think this would make a better movie than a straight up flash series. I would recommend that you just ask Tom for the ability to load it all, or atleast in larger parts as rediculous as it sounds. The MB would probably be over 100, but it would keep my attention, more so than right now. This is a great artwork, a tad on the cheesey side, in my opinion, but all great things are. My thesis would be to just add more linear dynamics to an episode, leave us with more questions, while answering some, not the same ones that we've had since the previous episodes. I enjoy your art direction, and am really pleased to see the series got voices.