Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2011 | 4:49 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place October 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

FAUX: CHAPTER 5

VOICE CREDITS

Jan - Caxx
Armand - Neo Skywalker
Lhasa - Karen Kahler

MUSIC

Kevin Macleod (incompetech.com)

Reviews


Nator595Nator595

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 11, 2011

Wow

Really good!



PliXerPliXer

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2011

Great as always!

Keep 'em coming!



Prometheus720Prometheus720

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2011

Excellent!

You can't imagine how I feel seeing an animation actually be about the animation and visuals. The art is just insane. I can't believe you're putting this up for free. Seriously, fuck us. Get to Hollywood. I'd be the first one to the theater, and the last one out. I will say, though, that there were a few problems. Armand's voice was full of white noise, and the voice acting wasn't up to par with the rest of the movie. It was good, but it Caxx did an amazing job, and made it sound like crap. I don't know if Neo Skywalker is going to read this or not, but if so, here's a bit of constructive criticism.
You usually spoke too fast, and your voice was a little monotonous. If you slow down what you're saying, it'll sound more like actual speech, rather than lines memorized from a page. Try to have a little fun and fix your problem at the same time by playing around with improvisation. Make it up as you go along, and learn to incorporate that into your acting. You don't even have to make it up right while you're acting. Come up with it yourself, and it will be your thought, and it will sound like you speaking. That's what you want. This should also help a little with getting that varied tone to your voice. When I listen to Lahsa speak, it sounded flowing and easy. She changed things up. Rather than speaking an entire conversation in one tone, try to mix it up. Listen to yourself when you speak, and translate that into your acting. I would recommend this last bit to whoever writes the script, as well. It was a little off-putting when Jan was acting like an ass during the entire conversation with... whatever that was. Have her be a little vindictive once or twice, then drop it.
I know I'm being very picky, but it's only because you're so good. I want to see you become the best you can be, because that leads to the most enjoyment for me, and anyone else who watches your work. And I have a request for other fans. Please, PLEASE do something to help. If you liked it, tell your friends by liking it on Facebook, like you were asked. Think about it. If you have 600-some friends, and half watch it, and half of them contribute or spread the word, how fast will this grow? You are the best advertisement available. Please use that gift.


People find this review helpful!
marsoupskin responds:

Appreciate the thought out constructive comments. I'll always be the first to admit that sometimes things work as intended and other times well, you know :) I always try to learn from my mistakes and incorporate that in the next episode. Let's just say I learnt a shitload (pardon my french) from making Chapter 5. That should only benefit the next one. And I second the Facebook thing. It's actually one of the best tools out there considering that people will often log into Facebook at least once a day. There is also a much higher level of engagement, and interaction than on a blog for example. Anyway that is all.

cheers,
Marcel


mrjrd92mrjrd92

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2011

It's good but..

I liked this, it was enjoyable, but I don't know why you went in the direction of animating it. For me, the real charm about Faux was from the way it was presented, like a motion comic book. I mean sure, now that it's animated a lot more options are available action wise, and that it will be less time consuming having to draw every single character over and over for each new facial or bodily expression, but still, I feel that was what made Faux for me.

Giving voices to your characters is a brilliant idea (although, I'm not entirely keen on the voice actor for Armand, he seems to be taking away more from the character with the way he talks rather than giving him more depth) but once again, I would've preferred it in it's original style. But that is just my opinion, I will still continue to watch the series that's for sure, just thought I'd add my two cents. Keep up the good work. I look forward to chapter six.



Xara505Xara505

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2011

Oh, the suspense!

I quite liked the silent comic style leading up to this, but the addition of sounds and then the dramatic cliffhanger... Gosh, the suspense! Masterfully well made and performed, too!