Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2011 | 1:53 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 6, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place October 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

oscar.baldwin@hotmail.co.
uk email me for animation work.

I urge you to buy Fredde Gredde's Album. There's a link to it at the end of the video. It's great. I highly recommend.

I'm hoping that this video will get me more work, so if there's anyone watching who wants some freelance animation doing, don't hesitate to contact me. Click the contact link at the end of the video to email me or message me here or on YouTube.

Just click all the links, they're all full of good stuff. Visit my YouTube or Newgrounds channel for more animatory goodness and Fredde Gredde's for more musical goodness, and don't forget to subscribe!

Thanks to the Newgrounds team for helping and supporting me too. You guys are a life saver.

I'm exhausted. This video has taken me 3 months to make. I've learned a hell of a lot making it.

I look forward to reading your comments, I will read them all.

Megaloves from Oscar B

P.S Yay front page! Thankyou Newgrounds people! :D

Again, my email is oscar.baldwin@hotmail.co.
uk I need a new project

Reviews


gargle-greggargle-greg

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2011

SMG2

You could've given SOME credit to the blatant ripping off of that backstory. I'm not going to explain what you ripped off, because anyone that's played it would have gotten in instantly. You should say what is based off of the comments so people don't assume you've ripped it off thinking nobody would notice. However, saying this song is a rip off is like saying if someone made a mario flash than they'd be ripping off mario, but this is more subtle because her backstory wasn't necissary to be read in smg2. Good animation, good song.


People find this review helpful!
GrannySmith responds:

I wrote the description and I didn't know Rosalina's story from Mario Galaxy which is why it isn't written in the description.


papapizzapapapizza

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 8, 2011

What the fork.

This girl had so much crack cocain.



Silver-VIISilver-VII

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2011

Stella parva

Nice animation skills, but it's not perfect. People giving you straight 10s are not being critical. Personally, I wasn't very emotionally touched by your work, which I guess was your goal when creating this. The style does not match with the feeling of the song. Too comical maybe, and your camera angles are generally simplistic, only showing general scenes instead of focusing into more relevant, catchy details. You have some good scenes though. I was impressed by the house unfolding! Undoubtfully that was the best cutscene of the animation. About the plot: It does not enter the mind as easily as it should. I think this is because the animation style is a bit sketchy and some things happen too quick. Maybe there is an excess of scenes which want to contibute to the overall candor of the work, but instead make it sloppier, harder to follow at times.
Overall this is a nice, colourful flash, that can touch the heart of a certain kind of audience. Although practice would make your drawing skills better (to a lesser extent, animation too needs perfectioning), the general impression is alright. Looking forward to seeing more of your stuff.

PS, the replay button is not working for me.


People find this review helpful!
GrannySmith responds:

Yeah, I have no idea why the replay button doesn't work, I'm trying to fix it now.

I actually agree with you to an extent.

I think i'm a pretty decent draftsman. I like to think I can draw anything if given enough time but then time is a luxury you dont get in animation. Not when your one man trying to make a cartoon with about 80 individual scenes. Plus i'm better on paper than a tablet. I think maybe I don't spend enough time on the inbetweens so stuff wobbles a bit between the keys.

I think my composition is not simplistic but interesting and dynamic. Did you not see the bit where her and the star avoid the asteroids. That uses a background with 6 point perspective which wobbles the whole time.

It's funny that you like the house transformation the best. It was probably the easiest bit to do.


WegraWegra

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2011

Well it's not bad...

But this is Blatantly Rosalinas Backstory from Mario Galaxy. Granted I like how you tried to make it your own and try to add your own soundtrack to it but the song did get a little repetitive. I gave it chance the animation was still good though but I think it could've been a little better.

Despite that though it was a good try.


People find this review helpful!

FantocanFantocan

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

Misleading name

I expected mario star song here but w/e its ok video for girls i guess


GrannySmith responds:

It's the kind of song you sing to a girl to impress her with your deep feelings and get her into bed