Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2011 | 12:20 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place September 30, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place October 5, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

100 Diamonds 5 Points Collect 100 diamonds.
300 Enemies 5 Points Kill 300 enemies.
5 Hearts 5 Points Collect 5 heart crystals.
5 Red Diamonds 5 Points Collect 5 red diamonds.
Chapter 1 5 Points Complete chapter 1.
Escape 500 5 Points Climb 500m in escape mode.
1000 Enemies 10 Points Kill 1000 enemies.
15 Red Diamonds 10 Points Collect 15 red diamonds.
17 Hearts 10 Points Collect all 17 heart crystals.
5000 Diamonds 10 Points Collect 5000 diamonds.
Chapter 7 10 Points Complete chapter 7.
Escape 1000 10 Points Climb 1000m in escape mode.
Just Keep Swimming 10 Points Swim 1000m in Tadpole Mode (under minigames)
25000 Diamonds 25 Points Collect 25000 diamonds.
35 Red Diamonds 25 Points Collect all 35 red diamonds.
Escape 1500 25 Points Climb 1500m in escape mode.
Normalbrine 25 Points Complete normal boss rush mode.
Tired Yet? 25 Points Run 2000m in Runner Mode (under minigames)
Escape 2000 50 Points Climb 2000m in escape mode.
Herobrine 100 Points Complete heroic boss mode.

Author Comments

Shoot, explore, upgrade, conquer enemies, defeat bosses, acquire achievements, collect gems, all in an attempt to save yourself and your gun from the clutches of the evil Professor.

You begin by finding yourself stuck at the bottom of a cave with no idea how you got there. Befriending the first thing you see, an intelligent gun, you begin your ascent to freedom.

Control your character with AD or Arrow Keys, jump with W/Space/Up, and use the mouse to aim and shoot (or switch control schemes in the options). As you acquire more guns, use QE or 1-4 or the mouse wheel to switch between them. Open the menu/upgrade screen with tab, escape, or P.

In the options menu you can mute the music and/or sound, change the text speed, and change the control scheme.

Reviews


BachanBachan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

FIX THE MOTHER*UCKING LAG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm at the end of my wits because of the lag. It needs to be fixed if you expect some replaying value.

The game itself excels in almost every aspect. The amount of diamonds you get for upgrades increases gradually and the monsters get tougher as you climb. The downside about the monsters is that they are always the same but only get more health and power.
The upgrades themselves are very helpful! I found the bazooka most appealing for the story and the spreadshot for the mini games.

It has a HUGE replay value because of the tons of upgrades and the mini games.



MetropiaLifeMetropiaLife

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

Diamond Hollow II

The one thing that pisses me off about this game, is that when I quit the game to play it for tomorrow, I can't go back to the chapters that I was on, I have to start from the very beginning, which is VERYYYYYYYYYY VERYYYYYYY annoying.

If you could fix that, everyone will have a hard-on for this game.


People find this review helpful!

ars68ars68

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

well done

in my opinion, this game, is what one should mean when there trying to go for a 'old style game' old style games should never have to do with the graphics quality... to do so is just as bad as today's games. it's been about how the game plays, how creative it is, making sure everything works as close to what it should as possible. THIS is a game that does that beutifully. When I started playing it, I couldn't put it down until I finished it, wondering what I would get next.
I also wish more people would adopt the 'pause when going out of border' idea... it saves a lot of headaches.

there are a -couple- minor things I did notice though that you could work on, but for the most part are minor enough they can easily be ignored:
1: after coming off of the pause from clicking outside the border, there always appears to be a second of lag as if it's trying to catch up. never more then a second and only when going off of the pause
2: sometimes if you paused (mainly going into menu) when it seemed to be transitioning from 1 song to another, one can notice both playing, at the same time... and defenitely not to the effect one would want.
3: as mentioned previously, sometimes a crystal, or enemy, would get stuck in a wall instead of falling. this would (at the time) lead me to think there was a secret area there... just to find out it was a glitch
4: and finally, speaking of lag, starting on chapter 3 or 4, it seemed like at certain points the game would start lagging for some reason. not to the point it was unplayable, but defenitely annoying when it did happen.

there then these 4 things, I didn't really see anything else wrong, which considering all you have in it, is pretty amazing. the music wasn't a headache to listen to, sound effects were noticeable but not overbearing. the controls were easy to pick up, the different gun types were varied enough and enough upgrades that there were interesting to use (although with the missle being the only one seeming to be required to switch to, for steel crates, it quickly came down to just using that) the storyline was decent, even if it was more about the gun then the person you were playing as.

overall, excellent, very well done.


People find this review helpful!

khemeherkhemeher

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2011

A must-play if you like platformers

I think most of us who were big into console games back in the old days NES & SNES can safely be called platforming junkies. For that reason, this type of game, whether cutting edge graphics or 8-bit animation, will always have a special place in our hearts.

I'm out of practice with my platforming, so I found the boss fights a bit taxing when the whole frigging screen filled up with multi-colored blobs & I had to somehow jump around all that with only the WASD keys to keep me company.

Other than that, it's a pretty decent game. The game has a stat system so you can upgrade your little dude as well as his weapons. You collect bazillions of stars to do this, as well as a few other key items. Very NES-esque game.



TwadTwad

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 4, 2011

Fun game

I liked the gameplay, it worked very well. The graphics did their job well too, stylised and clear.

Could have used a few extra music tracks. They were good but overused imho.

I found the early maps nice, but later on they felt repetitive and quite long, especially since we didnt get any new ennemy to fight, it was just more of the same (but stronger).

I expected something like a "pacifist" award for each map, like not killing anyone (or no more than 5 ennemies for advanced maps for example). Unless im mistaken i only saw it for the first map.

I just really disliked the ending wich was a huge letdown after all we did to get there.

The rocket laucher was my favorite weapon, despite the low ROF. THe massive damage, bullet absober and flak effect just made it really, really good. I barely used the other ones. I only used rebound as an "early" secret detector.

Your gameplay formula worked quite nicely, with the different items opening new access to a few secrets in earlier sections.. ( but they were kind of few and far between imho) because of that i feel that you could make a spin-off of that game, but within a metroid-vania map/progression/gameplay.


People find this review helpful!